At a junction, in the middle of the Grünewald, there where the territories of the three adjacent communities (Niederanven, Walferdange and Steinsel) come together, there you can find the “Staffelstein”. Exactly at that place had always been standing a huge stone, in form of a table, where once all juristic matters had been discussed.
This fact gave its name to this place (“Staffelstein” meaning stack stone). That was the denomination of those sites where all kinds of goods had been traded.
This fact would justify perfectly the position of this stone table at the border of the important roman road (Dommeldange, Staffelstein, Schetzelbour, Junglinster, Altrier, Echternach). The oldest indication of a house or a farm on this site can be found in the old reports of the Administration of the Grand-Duke’s properties, dated 1889. The house had once been used as the forester’s dwelling, at the service of the Grand-Duke. Later on it has been transformed into an inn.
|The “Stafelter” before and after its restoration in 2012|
The name of “Berrjer”, old denomination of the Waldhof, is nearly forgotten today. “Berrjer” meant barrier. Here, until the 20th century, a kind of custom duty had to be paid (such customs had to be paid every 5 km in those days).
The farm of the “Waldhaff” had been constructed in the year 1764. On the original Land register from 1824 it had been registrated as the “Pescatores Farm” with its owner Guillaume Pescatores.
Nowadays the “Waldhaff” shelters a part of the Water and Forest Administration.
|The “Café Waldhaff” past and present|
The old “Bëschhaus” (meaning forest house), served for a long time as the dwelling for the forest workers. After its renovation it became the scout’s home.
|The “Bëschhaus” past and present|
The attentive walker can discover even today the ruins of a former distillery at the place called “Brennerei”.
(point A on the map)