Settlements in the Grünewald

PreviousNext

Stafelter”

Staf­fel­stein” was situa­ted on the impor­tant Roman road Nie­der­an­ven (Ande­thana) – Ech­ter­nach.

At a junc­tion, in the mid­dle of the Grünewald, there where the ter­ri­to­ries of the three adja­cent com­mu­ni­ties (Nieder­an­ven, Walfer­dan­ge and Stein­sel) come togeth­er, there you can find the “Staffel­stein”. Exact­ly at that place had always been stand­ing a huge stone, in form of a table, where once all juris­tic mat­ters had been dis­cussed.

This fact gave its name to this place (“Staffel­stein” mean­ing stack stone). That was the denom­i­na­tion of those sites where all kinds of goods had been trad­ed.

For a long time the “Café Sta­fel­ter” was a very popu­lar tou­ris­tic place.

This fact would jus­ti­fy per­fect­ly the posi­tion of this stone table at the bor­der of the impor­tant roman road (Dom­mel­dan­ge, Staffel­stein, Schet­zel­bour, Junglin­ster, Altri­er, Echter­nach). The old­est indi­ca­tion of a house or a farm on this site can be found in the old reports of the Admin­is­tra­tion of the Grand-Duke’s prop­er­ties, dat­ed 1889. The house had once been used as the forester’s dwelling, at the ser­vice of the Grand-Duke. Lat­er on it has been trans­formed into an inn.

The “Sta­fel­ter” before and after its resto­ra­tion in 2012

Waldhaff”

The name of “Berrjer”, old denom­i­na­tion of the Wald­hof, is near­ly for­got­ten today. “Berrjer” meant bar­ri­er. Here, until the 20th cen­tu­ry, a kind of cus­tom duty had to be paid (such cus­toms had to be paid every 5 km in those days).

The farm of the “Wald­haff” had been con­struct­ed in the year 1764. On the orig­i­nal Land reg­is­ter from 1824 it had been reg­is­trat­ed as the “Pesca­tores Farm” with its own­er Guil­laume Pesca­tores.

Nowa­days the “Wald­haff” shel­ters a part of the Water and For­est Admi­nis­tra­tion.

The “Café Wald­haff” past and pre­sent

Bëschhaus”

The old “Bëschhaus” (mean­ing for­est house), served for a long time as the dwelling for the for­est work­ers. After its ren­o­va­tion it became the scout’s home.

The “Bësch­haus” past and pre­sent

Brennerei”

The atten­tive wal­ker can dis­co­ver even today the ruins of a for­mer distil­lery at the place cal­led “Bren­ne­rei”.
(point A on the map)

 

 

PreviousNext

Habitats au Grünewald

RetourSuite

Stafelter”

Le “Staf­fel­stein” se trou­vait sur l’importante route romaine Nie­der­an­ven (Ande­thana) – Ech­ter­nach.

A un croise­ment, situé au milieu du Grünewald, là où con­ver­gent les lim­ites des trois com­munes de Nieder­an­ven, Walfer­dan­ge et Stein­sel, se trou­ve le «Staffel­stein». C’est à cet endroit que se trou­vait une pierre en forme de table où jadis les affaires judi­ci­aires ont été réglées. On sup­pose que cette pierre appelée «Staffel­stein» a don­né son nom à ce croise­ment.

Une autre manière d’interpréter son nom est celle de sup­pos­er que «Staffel» dérive de «Stapel» (cale) ce qui abouti­rait à la dénom­i­na­tion «Stapel­stein oder ‑platz» (pierre ou place à empil­er). C’est ain­si qu’on appelait les endroits où l’on fai­sait du com­merce de marchan­dis­es.

Long­temps le “Café Sta­fel­ter” était un lieu tou­ris­tique très popu­laire.

La dernière inter­pré­ta­tion jus­ti­fierait la sit­u­a­tion de «Staffel­stein» sur une route impor­tante datant d’avant les Romains (Dom­mel­dan­ge, Staffel­stein, Schet­zel­bur, Junglin­ster, Altri­er, Echter­nach). L’indication la plus anci­enne con­cer­nant l’existence d’une mai­son ou plus exacte­ment d’une ferme au Staffel­stein remonte d’une inscrip­tion de l’Administration des biens de la cour grand-ducale de Lux­em­bourg datée de 1889. La mai­son au Staffel­stein ser­vait jadis de domi­cile au foresti­er étant au ser­vice du Grand-Duc et fut ensuite trans­for­mée en café.

Le “Sta­fel­ter” avant et après sa restau­ra­tion en 2012

«Waldhaff»

Le nom «Berrjer», l’ancienne dénom­i­na­tion du Wald­hof, est de nos jours tombé dans l’oubli. «Berrjer» voulait dire au sens pro­pre «bar­rière». C’est ici qu’au 20ème siè­cle on perce­vait l’impôt viager exi­gi­ble tous les 5 km.

La ferme au «Wald­haff» a été con­stru­ite en 1764. Sur le cadas­tre orig­i­nal de 1824, elle a été enreg­istrée sous le nom de «Pesca­tores-Hof» et le nom man­u­scrit du pro­prié­taire était Guil­laume Pesca­tores.

De nos jours le Wald­haff abrite une par­tie de l’Administration des Eaux et Forêts.

Le “Café Wald­haff” hier et aujourd’hui

«Bëschhaus»

L’ancien «Bëschhaus» ser­vait pen­dant de longues années de rési­dence pour les ouvri­ers des Eaux et Forêts. Après sa réno­va­tion on l’utilisait comme chalet de scouts.

Le “Bësch­haus” hier et aujourd’hui

«Brennerei»

Le prome­neur atten­tif peut décou­vrir  encore aujourd’hui les rui­nes d’une anci­enne distil­le­rie à l’endroit “Bren­ne­rei”.
(point A sur la carte)

 

 

RetourSuite