The Niederanven mill

  PreviousNext

Niederanven: a mill township

02_NA_NM (2)

The water cas­cade in the Sen­nin­gen brook above the mill, from where the trench led to the mill (blocked today).

Nieder­an­ven is one of the com­mu­ni­ties with the most of mills in Lux­em­bourg. In the begin­ning of the 19th cen­tu­ry, 12 mills were run simul­ta­ne­ous­ly (5 near the Hostert brook and 7 at the brook of Sen­nin­gen). Besides oil seed (ground and squeezed) also paper, cloth and leather was lum­bered and wood­en trunks ser­rat­ed.

Ban mills

The old­est mills (from the begin­nings of the 9th cen­tu­ry) had been the ban mills. The land lords had the right to run the mills and their sub­jects the duty to serve the mill mas­ter and give the prod­ucts to the land­lord. Every con­tempt against this ban law was pun­ished. The mill mas­ter at these times a free and respect­ed per­son, gath­ered the har­vest­ed prod­ucts to hand them over to the land­lord. For this rea­son he had nev­er been very pop­u­lar. In spite of the citizen’s grow­ing resis­tance, this sys­tem had been applied up to the time of the French rev­o­lu­tion, around 1795. After the inva­sion of the French troops, the ban mills had been pri­va­tized.

02_NA_NM (3)

The ban mill from Niederanven

02_NA_NM (1)

The old mill stones from the French Cham­pagne are the only tech­ni­cal left­overs from the old mill.

The first record of the Nieder­an­ven ban mill can be found on doc­u­ments from the 17th cen­tu­ry, but is sup­posed that the mill had been there long before. It had been pow­ered by the brook of Sen­nin­gen (Aal­bach). A small water cas­cade can still be found near the mill. The landown­ers of the site changed often but the most famous was prob­a­bly the phar­ma­cist Rademach­er from Lux­em­bourg City, the same that ran the ther­a­peu­tic bath in Nieder­an­ven. It is rather sure that there had been sev­er­al mill stones (2 made of stone from the French Cham­pagne and one big mill wheel of about 4.50 m diam­e­ter).

Renovation

02_NA_NM (4)

View from 1939 on the mill, short­ly before it stopped its ser­vice.

Around 1940, the mill ser­vice stopped its busi­ness and in 1955 a local farmer bought the site for the pas­tures around the mill. The build­ings degen­er­at­ed and in 1974 the mill had been sold for pri­vate pur­pos­es, which spared him from com­plete destruc­tion and the new own­er, an expert in restor­ing, trans­formed the old ruins into a beau­ti­ful coun­try house.

The St.Lucia Chapel

02_NA_NM (6)On the old land reg­is­ter maps from 1824 you can notice the pres­ence of a chapel, close to the mill on the way out to Müns­bach. It was ded­i­cat­ed to St. Lucia and was sup­posed to be the old­est sanc­tu­ary in Nieder­an­ven.

02_NA_NM (5)

When the new parish church had been con­struct­ed in 1851, the chapel slow­ly degen­er­at­ed and the only wit­ness from these times is the old chan­ti­cleer from the chapel’s tow­er.

The tan mills in Niederanven

As a man­ag­er of the St. Lucia Chapel you can find the name of a cer­tain “Fell­mach­er” (mean­ing fur mak­er), wit­ness­ing that there had also been tan mills in Nieder­an­ven. The pow­er of the water had been used to grind the barks, wood or leaf of the oak trees, rich in tan­nin.

PreviousNext

Le moulin de Niederanven

  RetourSuite

Niederanven : la commune des moulins

02_NA_NM (2)

La «chute d’eau» de la «Sen­ninger Bach» en amont du moulin. Le canal, aujourd’hui rem­blayé, par­tait du niveau supérieur.

Nieder­an­ven fait par­tie des com­munes du pays comp­tant le plus de moulins sur son ter­ri­toire. Sur une courte péri­ode au début du 19ème siè­cle, douze moulins sont en activ­ité en même temps, cinq le long du ruis­seau de Hostert et sept le long du ruis­seau de Sen­nin­gen. Ils ser­vent à moudre des céréales et des graines oléagineuses (elles y sont égale­ment pressées), à fouler des tis­sus et du cuir, à fab­ri­quer du papi­er et sci­er des troncs d’arbres.

Moulin banal de Niederanven

Le plus ancien type de moulin est le moulin banal. Ses orig­ines remon­tent au 9ème siè­cle, à l’époque féo­dale. Le seigneur détient le droit de l’exploiter et ses sujets sont oblig­és d’y moudre leur grain, moyen­nant une rede­vance, et d’y accom­plir une par­tie des corvées. Con­trevenir au droit banal con­stitue un délit. Le meu­nier, autre­fois libre et recon­nu, en devient locataire. Le meu­nier banal est peu appré­cié en rai­son de sa fonc­tion de col­lecteur de rede­vance. Ce sys­tème per­dur­era au Grand-Duché de Lux­em­bourg, mal­gré la résis­tance crois­sante de la pop­u­la­tion, jusqu’à l’arrivée des troupes révo­lu­tion­naires français­es en 1795. Les moulins banaux sont alors pri-vatisés.

02_NA_NM (3)

Le moulin banal de Niederanven

02_NA_NM (1)

Les vieilles meules provenant de la Cham­pagne sont les seuls ves­tiges des instal­la­tions tech­niques.

La pre­mière trace écrite remonte au 17ème siè­cle. Il est néan­moins prob­a­ble que le moulin de Nieder­an­ven soit bien plus ancien. Il était action­né par le ruis­seau de Sen­nin­gen (Aal­bach). Il existe même une «chute d’eau» à prox­im­ité du moulin. On ne dis­pose d’aucune trace fiable de l’aménagement intérieur. Il est prob­a­ble qu’il com­por­tait deux meules en pierre provenant de la Cham­pagne et d’une roue à aubes de plus ou moins 4,50 m de diamètre. Le moulin a changé plusieurs fois de propriétaire/locataire au fil des années et dont le plus con­nu est le phar­ma­cien Rademach­er de Lux­em­bourg.

Restauration

02_NA_NM (4)

Vue sur le moulin, 1939. L’exploitation ces­sa peu après.

Le moulin a cessé son activ­ité vers 1940. En 1955, un fer­mi­er voisin le rachète afin d’utiliser les ter­res adja­centes. En 1974, le moulin est reven­du, ce qui le sauve de la ruine. Le nou­veau pro­prié­taire, en expert, a réal­isé d’importants travaux de restau­ra­tion dans le moulin et l’a trans­for­mé en mai­son de cam­pagne.

La chapelle Sainte-Lucie

02_NA_NM (6)L’ancien plan cadas­tral de 1824 sig­nale une chapelle à prox­im­ité du moulin situé à la sor­tie du vil­lage vers Muns­bach. Elle était dédiée à sainte Lucie et passe pour le lieu de culte le plus ancien de Nieder­an­ven. Elle sera lais­sée à l’abandon après la con­struc­tion de la nou­velle église parois­siale en 1851. 02_NA_NM (5)

Il n’en sub­siste que le coq qui ornait sa tour

Moulins à tanner et tanneries à Niederanven.

La chapelle Sainte-Lucie aurait été entretenue par un cer­tain Fell­mach­er. Ce patronyme indique que Nieder­an­ven abri­tait égale­ment des tan­ner­ies. On util­i­sait la force hydraulique du moulin pour extraire le tanin des feuilles, de l’écorce et du bois du chêne..

RetourSuite