Old “Charly’s” railway station

PreviousNext

View on the entrance: Over the door you can see the gable win­dow with the baroque balustrade.

The name of the lit­tle sta­tion Charly’s Gare » comes from the famous nar­row rail­way train « Char­ly »,cir­cu­lat­ing between Echter­nach and Lux­em­bourg City from 1904 to 1954 and offer­ing a reg­u­lar con­nec­tion with Lux­em­bourg City. This line served as well for the car­riage of goods as of per­sons. Hostert, being the 5th of 16 sta­tions on the line Echter­nach-Lux­em­bourg, was sit­u­at­ed between the sta­tion of Sen­nin­gen and Junglin­ster.

Once the rails were run­ning between the sta­tion and the “Café de la Gare”.

The old sta­tion build­ing with its his­to­ri­an style of the ear­ly 20th cen­tu­ry (1904) had been well pre­served until today. Almost iden­ti­cal sta­tions had been con­struct­ed in Junglin­ster, Bech and Helm­stal. The entrance of the old build­ing is com­posed by two cubic wings put in T-form and cov­ered with rolling sad­dle­back roofs. One part of the con­struc­tion served as bag­gage check­room and the oth­er as wait­ing room.

The red brick build­ing is orna­ment­ed with yel­low cor­ner and frame sand­stones and dec­o­rat­ed with het­ero­ge­neous style ele­ments as for exam­ple a round neogoth­ic win­dow or a baroque win­dow balustrade on the gable.

On a slight­ly ele­vat­ed site on the oth­er side of the sta­tion is stand­ing the old “Café de la Gare”, which serves again as hos­tel today.

PreviousNext

L’ancienne station “Charly’s Gare”

RetourSuite

Vue sur l’entrée: Au-dessus de la porte se trou­ve une fenêtre de pignon avec une balustrade baroque.

Le nom de la petite gare de Hostert, “Charly’s Gare”, dérive du nom du légendaire “Char­ly”, le train à voie étroite qui cir­cu­lait entre 1904 et 1954 sur la ligne Lux­em­bourg-Echter­nach et qui assur­ait une liai­son régulière avec Lux­em­bourg-Ville. La ligne ser­vait aus­si bien au trans­port de per­son­nes qu’à celui de marchan­dis­es. Hostert, qui était la cinquième de seize sta­tions sur la ligne de Lux­em­bourg vers Echter­nach, se situ­ait entre la sta­tion de Sen­nin­gen et la gare de Junglin­ster.

Jadis, les rails pas­saient entre la gare et le “Café de la Gare”.

L’ancienne gare, un bâti­ment dans le style his­torisant (1904), a été bien con­servé jusqu’à nos jours. Des sta­tions presque iden­tiques avaient été con­stru­ites à Junglin­ster, Bech et Helm­stal. L’ancien bâti­ment de récep­tion se com­pose de deux cubes sous forme de T qui se touchent et qui por­tent un toit en bâtière cin­tré. Une par­tie du bâti­ment ser­vait de bureau et de con­signe, l’autre hébergeait une salle d’attente.

La con­struc­tion en briques rouges est ornée de pier­res de taille et décorée avec des élé­ments de style hétérogènes, comme p.ex. une fenêtre ronde néo­goth­ique ou une balustrade de fenêtre baroque se situ­ant au niveau du pignon.

Sur un ter­rain légère­ment élevé en face de la gare se trou­ve l’ancien “Café de la Gare”, qui abrite une auberge aujourd’hui.

RetourSuite