The paths through the Grünewald

PreviousNext

The cycling trail Lux­em­bourg-​Echter­nach is main­ly situa­ted on the old “Char­ly” rail­way line.

Since ever the Grünewald for­est is crossed by a net­work of paths and roads. The very same path you are stand­ing on now has also a very rich his­toric back­ground. At the begin­ning it has been a roman road, then lat­er the rail­way line for the “Char­ly” train and today it has been trans­formed into a nation­al cycling trail. The ancient Roman road called “Kiem” in Lux­em­bour­gish, lead from Reims to Tri­er. It came from the actu­al Kirch­berg (near the high­way to Lux­em­bourg-Tri­er) and crossed the Grünewald up to Sen­ninger­berg (near the new water tank). On its way it is part­ly still very well pre­served. It con­tin­ued its line near the actu­al “rue des Romains” to Nieder­an­ven via Mens­dorf. Hostert had been con­nect­ed to this “main road” by a “sec­ondary road”. Anoth­er sec­ondary road con­nect­ed Oetrange and Altri­er (Schanz) and crossed the Sen­ninger­berg (called main road) near the new water tank site. From Sen­ninger­berg to Wald­hof this road had once been called “Heed­wee”. The “Kill­wee”, cross­ing the Grünewald from North to South is also dat­ed back to Roman times.

The Roman road called “Kiem”

After Ger­ma­nia had been  con­quered and inte­grat­ed in the Roman Empire, the Roman sol­diers began to con­struct roads with the help of slaves and the pop­u­la­tion. The impor­tant con­nec­tion Reims-Arlon-Tri­er had been con­struct­ed around the year 44 p.Chr. Many sim­i­lar roads were used for mil­i­tary pur­pos­es, allow­ing to the Roman army to trans­port more effi­cient­ly its legions and mil­i­tary equip­ment.

Pro­file of a Roman road.

For strate­gi­cal­ly impor­tant or city roads the Romans used stone pave­ment. Before the con­struc­tion the ter­rain had to get cleared on a width of 60 m on both sides of the line. All the trees or bush­es were stubbed in order to min­i­mize the pos­si­bil­i­ty of even­tu­al hold-ups. The road was slight­ly cam­bered so that the rain water could eas­i­ly be evac­u­at­ed into a lat­er­al trench. An aver­age roman road was always wide enough for 6 sol­diers to march one beside the oth­er. This same width also allowed 2 vehi­cles to pass at the same time with­out any prob­lem.

Along these Roman roads there had been set up a strong net­work of watch­tow­ers with always very clear views over the sur­round­ing region. The for­mer pres­ence of such tow­ers is proved in Arlon, on the “Tossen­berg” , on the “Marché aux Pois­sons” in Lux­em­bourg City, on Sen­ninger­berg and on the “Wid­de­berg”.

Charly”

The nar­row rail­way line, in ser­vice from 1904 until 1954 was also cross­ing the Grünewald. This line with a length of 45.8 km was used to trans­port per­sons and goods. The con­struc­tion and keep­ing of this line allowed the local pop­u­la­tion to find work and bread. After the aban­don­ment of the line, the rails had been tak­en away  and today the old track is main­ly used as part of the nation­al cycling trail going from Lux­em­bourg-City to Echter­nach.

Main road crossings in the Grünewald

With the con­struc­tion of the high­way Lux­em­bour-Tri­er in 1970, between Weimer­shof and Sen­niger­berg the South part of the Grünewald (4500 ha) had been sep­a­rat­ed from the rest of the wood­en area. The high­way cuts through the Grünewald from North to South.

 

PreviousNext

Les sentiers du Grünewald

RetourSuite

La piste cyclable Lux­em­bourg-​Echter­nach se trou­ve pour sa majeure par­tie sur l’ancienne voie fer­rée du «Char­ly».

Depuis la nuit des temps le Grünewald est tra­ver­sé par un réseau de routes et de chemins. Le chemin où vous vous trou­vez en ce moment a con­nu une his­toire mou­ve­men­tée. A l’origine c’était une route romaine, puis le tracé du «Char­ly» et aujourd’hui une piste cyclable nationale. L’ancienne route romaine, appelée «Kiem» en lux­em­bour­geois, menait de Reims à Trèves. Elle venait du Kirch­berg près de l’actuelle autoroute Lux­em­bourg-Trèves, par­courait le Grünewald jusqu’aux envi­rons du nou­veau réser­voir au Sen­ninger­berg. Sur ce par­cours elle est par­tielle­ment encore bien con­servée. Elle con­tin­u­ait son cours dans les par­ages de l’actuelle «rue des Romains» en direc­tion de Nieder­an­ven et puis vers Mens­dorf. Hostert était con­nec­té avec cette «route prin­ci­pale» par une «route sec­ondaire». Une autre route sec­ondaire reli­ait Oetrange et Altri­er (Schanz) et croi­sait Sen­ninger­berg (nom­mé grande route) dans les par­ages où se situe actuelle­ment le nou­veau château d’eau. De Sen­ninger­berg à Wald­hof ce chemin était jadis appelé «Heed­wee». Le «Kill­wee» qui par­court le Grünewald du Nord au Sud date égale­ment de l’époque romaine.

La route romaine «Kiem»

Avec la con­quête de la Ger­manie et suite à son inté­gra­tion dans l’Empire Romain, les sol­dats romains com­mençaient à con­stru­ire des routes avec l’aide d’esclaves et de la pop­u­la­tion. La con­nex­ion impor­tante Reims-Arlon-Trèves fut con­stru­ite vers l’an 44 apr. J.- C.. De grandes routes comme celle-ci avaient comme but prin­ci­pal de servir les intérêts mil­i­taires. Elles per­me­t­taient aux Romains de déplac­er rapi­de­ment leurs légions et leur matériel de guerre.

Pro­fil d’une route romaine

Dans les villes ou pour les routes stratégiques les con­struc­teurs romains util­i­saient des pavés. Avant le début des travaux on défrichait, sur 60m à gauche et à droite du tracé, tous les arbustes et forêts éventuelle­ment présents, et ce pour élim­in­er toutes les pos­si­bil­ités d’embuscades. La route était légère­ment bom­bée pour per­me­t­tre à l’eau de s’écouler sur les côtés dans un fos­sé. La largeur moyenne d’une route per­me­t­tait aux sol­dats de marcher en rang par six ce qui était dans leurs habi­tudes. Cette largeur per­me­t­tait aus­si à deux véhicules de se crois­er.

Le long de ces routes romaines s’étendait un réseau de tours de sur­veil­lance et d’avertissement avec une très bonne vue sur les alen­tours. Pour la grande route on a prou­vé l’existence de tels postes, p.ex. à Arlon, sur le Tossen­berg, sur la place du marché aux pois­sons, à Sen­ninger­berg et sur le Wid­de­berg.

« Charly»

Le chemin de fer à voie étroite Lux­em­bourg-Echter­nach en ser­vice de 1904 à 1957 tra­ver­sait aus­si le Grünewald. Cette ligne de 45,8 km ser­vait au trans­port de per­son­nes et des marchan­dis­es. Les travaux pour le «Char­ly» et son entre­tien étaient source de tra­vail et de revenu pour beau­coup de rési­dents de la com­mune. Après sa désaf­fec­tion les rails furent enlevés. Aujourd’hui la vieille voie fer­rovi­aire est util­isée en grande par­tie comme piste cyclable entre Lux­em­bourg et Echter­nach.

Axes routiers principaux du Grünewald

Avec la con­struc­tion de l’autoroute Lux­em­bourg-Trèves (en 1970) entre Weimer­shof et Sen­ninger­berg la par­tie Sud du Grünewald (env­i­ron 4500 ha) a été séparée du reste. L’autoroute du Nord coupe le Grünewald dans la direc­tion Nord-Sud.

RetourSuite