Rising point of the White Ernz

PreviousNext

”Schetzelbur”

05_GW_WE (1)

The “Schet­zel­bur”, spring of the White Ernz The fount was caught in 1948 and equipped with a basin by the scouts group of Limperts­berg.

In the mid­dle of the Grünewald the White Ernz has its source, called “Schet­zel­bur” because the beat­i­fied her­mit Schet­ze­lo lived near the source in a cav­ern in the 12th cen­tu­ry. It was name­ly this source that sup­plied him with the vital drink­ing water.

Just as the Black Ernz, the White Ernz also has its source on the ter­ri­to­ry of the Nieder­an­ven Munic­i­pal­i­ty in the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er, the most impor­tant nation­al drink­ing water reser­voir. In the vil­lage of Eisen­born, the brook (called “Schet­zel­bach” here) leaves the com­mu­ni­ty ter­ri­to­ry already after a few meters and con­tin­ues its way in the north east­ern direc­tion.

05_GW_WE (3)

In Reis­dorf, a vil­lage sur­round­ed with woods and sit­u­at­ed in the val­ley of the riv­er Sauer, the White Ernz is flow­ing into last named.

Many small afflux­es make the brook swell and soon it flows as a par­al­lel riv­er to the Black Ernz. Just as its name­sake it runs through the Sand­stone lay­er all by dig­ging deep into the rocks and form­ing a beau­ti­ful and attrac­tive land­scape around, so charm­ing for locals and tourists.

Up to its estu­ary in the Sauer, the bor­der riv­er between Lux­em­bourg and Ger­many and the sec­ond largest nation­al riv­er, the White Ernz flows over 33 km. As its stream course is one of the strongest besides the Alzette and the Black Ernz, the White Ernz rep­re­sents one of the most impor­tant afflux­es of the Sauer.

The valley of mills

05_GW_WE (4)

Locat­ed in the White Enrz val­ley, the vil­lage of Laro­chette (Fiels) rep­re­sents with its impres­sive old cas­tle ruin a per­fect pop­u­lar tourist cen­tre.

The low­er part of the White Ernz, from Erms­dorf to Reis­dorf, is called “the val­ley of mills”. Con­struct­ed most­ly dur­ing the 19th cen­tu­ry, the the mills were sup­plied by the waters of the White Ernz in order to grind cere­als or extract oil. Some of these mills even pro­duced elec­tric­i­ty need­ed to enleight­en the sur­round­ing vil­lages.

The river name “Ernz”

05_GW_WE (2)

The beat­i­fied her­mit Schet­ze­lo, once liv­ing in the Grünewald, gave his name to the White Ernz, also called “Schet­zel­bur”.

The names of white and black Ernz, prove that our rivers’ names are of ancient ori­gins. The name “Ernz” as well as the French word “Arance”, comes from “Aran­tia”. It is the a pre-celtic name of a riv­er (“Ar” =riv­er).

PreviousNext

Source de l’Ernz Blanche

RetourSuite

”Schetzelbur”

05_GW_WE (1)

Le «Schet­zel­bur» la source de l’Ernz Blanche En 1948, la source fut cap­tée et équipée d’un bassin par un groupe de scouts du Limperts­berg.

Au milieu du Grünewald naît l’Ernz Blanche. La source dénom­mée «Schet­zel­bur» porte le nom de l’ermite Schet­ze­lo, le bien­heureux qui vécut au 12ème siè­cle dans une cav­erne proche de la source et qui apaisa sa soif en buvant l’eau de source claire.

Comme l’Ernz Noire, l’Ernz Blanche prend sa source sur le ter­ri­toire de la com­mune de Nieder­an­ven dans le Grès de Lux­em­bourg, le plus grand et le plus impor­tant réser­voir d’eau potable du Lux­em­bourg. Après quelques mètres seule­ment le ruis­se­let quitte la com­mune de Nieder­an­ven. Au sud de la local­ité d’Eisenborn le ruis­seau, appelé main­tenant «Schet­zel­baach», sort du Grünewald en direc­tion nord-est.

05_GW_WE (3)

A Reis­dorf, vil­lage entouré de forêts situé dans la val­lée de la Sûre, l’Ernz Blanche se jette dans la Sûre.

De nom­breux afflux for­ment main­tenant une riv­ière qui tra­verse l’est du pays presque par­al­lèle­ment à l’Ernz Noire, fleuve jumeau de l’Ernz Blanche. Comme son homonyme, l’Ernz Blanche a creusé au cours du temps son lit dans la roche du Grès de Lux­em­bourg et a ain­si créé une val­lée pit­toresque qui attire aus­si bien les autochtones que les touristes.

Jusqu’à son embouchure dans la Sûre, riv­ière frontal­ière entre le Lux­em­bourg et l’Allemagne et deux­ième plus grand fleuve du pays, l’Ernz Blanche par­court à peu près 33 km. Le cours d’eau compte avec l’Alzette et l’Ernz Noire par­mi les plus impor­tants afflu­ents de la Sûre.  

La vallée des moulins

05_GW_WE (4)

Située dans la val­lée de l’Ernz Blanche, la petite ville de Laro­chette (Fels) con­stitue avec son imposante ruine du château un cen­tre touris­tique pop­u­laire.

La par­tie inférieure de la val­lée de l’Ernz Blanche, d’Ermsdorf jusqu’à Reis­dorf, est appelée «la val­lée des moulins». Bâtis en majorité au 19ème siè­cle, les moulins ali­men­tés par les eaux de l’Ernz Blanche servirent à la mou­ture de céréales ou à l’extraction d’huile de plantes. Cer­tains moulins fournirent élec­tric­ité et éclairage aux vil­lages envi­ron­nants.

Le nom de fleuve «Ernz»

05_GW_WE (2)

Schet­ze­lo le bien­heureux, l’ermite qui habi­ta le Grünewald, prê­ta son nom à la source de l’Ernz Blanche, appelée «Schet­zel­bur».

L’Ernz Blanche et l’Ernz Noire prou­vent que les noms de nos cours d’eaux provi­en­nent d’un vocab­u­laire très ancien. Le nom «Ernz» ain­si que le nom français «Arance» découle d’ «Aran­tia». Il s’agit là d’un nom de fleuve précel­tique («Ar »=fleuve).

RetourSuite