The plants

PreviousNext

AA-46Com­mon Car­line This­tle
Car­li­na vul­garis
AA-47Crest­ed cow-wheat
Melampyrum crista­tum
AA-48Fringed Gen­tian
Gen­tianel­la cil­i­a­ta

The pro­tect­ed site of the Aar­nescht has a wide range of dif­fer­ent rare botan­i­cal species. Until today about 171 defined rare species, of those 43 are endan­gered and pro­tect­ed species of the red list, could be detect­ed. Thanks to the per­fect con­di­tions of the site (dry­ness, pal­try soil, rich in lime), the semi arid grass­lands of the Aar­nescht are par­tic­u­lar­ly favourable to rare botan­i­cal species.

Orchids

AA-50

Bee orchid
Orphrys
holosericea
Lady orchid
Orchis
pur­purea
Pyra­mi­dal orchid
Anacamp­tis
pyra­mi­dalis
Man orchid
Aceras
anthro­popho­rum

AA-51

On the Aar­nescht a large num­ber of dif­fer­ent kinds of orchids can be found. 23 dif­fer­ent species could be indexed, which rep­re­sents 64 % of the nation­al orchid occur­rence.

Propagation strategies

AA-49In order to guar­an­tee the repro­duc­tion of their species, the orchids gen­er­ate a great num­ber of tiny lit­tle seeds in their cysts, which can eas­i­ly been car­ried away by the wind.

Orchids: survivalists among the botanicals

Thanks to a spe­cial sur­vival strat­e­gy, the orchids have adapt­ed them­selves to the dif­fi­cult con­di­tions of a pal­try ground. Togeth­er with the fun­gi, they form a kind of joint ven­ture, allow­ing using the present nutri­ents at their best.

The orchid seeds nor­mal­ly do not con­tain nutri­ents for their germ buds, pre­vent­ing seed­ing. The orchid is neu­tral­iz­ing this effect by digest­ing fun­gi fibre, enter­ing the cells of the orchid embryo. In this way the orchid can use the nutri­ents the fun­gi are absorb­ing from the veg­etable mate­r­i­al on the ground. It is only after the com­plete devel­op­ment of its leaf that the orchid is able to cre­ate its own nutri­ents by the pho­to­syn­the­sis. At this moment it is sup­ply­ing the fun­gi with nutri­ents too.

This form of joint ven­ture is called “sym­bio­sis”. Some kinds of orchids do not pro­duce chloro­phylls, which makes them depen­dent of the root fun­gi for all their life long. (for exam­ple the Bird’s nest orchid / Neot­tia nidus-avis).

PreviousNext

Les plantes

RetourSuite

AA-46Car­line vul­gaire
Car­li­na vul­garis
AA-47Mélampyre à crêtes
Melampyrum crista­tum
AA-48Gen­tiane sil­icée
Gen­tianel­la cil­i­a­ta

La zone de pro­tec­tion naturelle Aar­nescht a une grande diver­sité en plantes rares. A ce jour, on a pu réper­to­ri­er en tout 171 espèces de plantes, dont 43 men­acées d’extinction, pro­tégées et fig­u­rant, par con­séquent, sur la liste rouge. Grâce aux con­di­tions de leur site (sécher­esse, pau­vreté en nutri­ments et richesse en cal­caire), les pelous­es demi-sèch­es sont par­ti­c­ulière­ment accueil­lantes pour beau­coup de plantes rares.

Orchidées

Dans l’Aarnescht, il faut surtout soulign­er la grande richesse en orchidées. On a réper­torié 23 espèces d’orchidées dif­férentes, ce qui con­stitue 64% de toutes les espèces d’orchidées présentes au Lux­em­bourg.

AA-50

Orphrys frelon
Orphrys
holosericea
Orchis pour­pré
Orchis
pur­purea
Orchis pyra­mi­dale
Anacamp­tis
pyra­mi­dalis
Homme pen­du
Aceras
anthro­popho­rum

AA-51

Stratégie de reproduction

AA-49Pour assur­er la survie de leurs espèces, les orchidées for­ment un grand nom­bre de sémences minus­cules dans leurs cap­sules, sémences qui sont facile­ment emportées par le vent.

Les orchidées: les futées des conditions difficiles

C’est grâce à une stratégie de survie par­ti­c­ulière que les orchidées se sont adap­tées à des con­di­tions où les sub­stances nutri­tives se font plutôt rares. Ils for­ment avec les champignons des com­mu­nautés de vie qui leur per­me­t­tent de mieux utilis­er les rares nutri­ments dans le sol.

Les semences d’orchidées, en général, ne con­ti­en­nent pas de nutri­ments pour les ger­mes, ce qui empêche la ger­mi­na­tion. L’orchidée y remède en digérant des fils de champignons qui pénètrent dans les cel­lules des embryons d’orchidées. C’est ain­si que l’orchidée assim­i­le des nutri­ments que le champignon se pro­cure dans la décom­po­si­tion de la matière végé­tale dans le sol. Ce n’est qu’après le développe­ment com­plet de ses feuilles que l’orchidée est capa­ble de pro­duire ses nutri­ments à l’aide de la pho­to­syn­thèse. A ce stade elle four­nit les nutri­ments aux champignons.

Cette vie com­mu­nau­taire aux intérêts récipro­ques est appelée sym­biose. Quelques espèces d’orchidées ne pro­duisent pas de chloro­phylle ce qui les rend dépen­dantes des champignons des racines pen­dant toute leur vie (p.ex. le nid d’oiseau).

RetourSuite