Fruit orchard habitat

PreviousNext

Origins and importance of orchards

AA-56

The orchards on the bot­tom of the Aar­nescht leave their stamp on the land­scape.

Fruit-grow­ing has a long tra­di­tion in Lux­em­bourg. The most fre­quent vari­ety of nowa­days had already been cul­ti­vat­ed dur­ing Roman time, who also intro­duced wine­grow­ing in our regions. The Romans most often plant­ed the fruit trees in their gar­den or not far from their hous­es. It is only in the 16th cen­tu­ry that orchards and wine yards begin to spread over open land and form a promi­nent ele­ment in the gen­er­al cul­tur­al land­scape. In the com­mu­ni­ty of Nieder­an­ven, fruit grow­ing has a long tra­di­tion. In the 19th cen­tu­ry, when the paper mills had to close, many of their work­ers could be reem­ployed in the fruit grow­ing sec­tor. On the Aar­nescht an impor­tant part of the buffer area (zone B) is con­sti­tut­ed by orchards.

Why the orchards should be preserved

AA-21

AA-52

The Lit­tle Owl lives in the old caves of the fruit trees.

The orchards are form­ing an impor­tant part of the region­al land­scape.

They inte­grate with har­mo­ny the sur­round­ing land­scape into the dwelling area, they improve the local cli­mate, pro­tect the slope grounds from ero­sion and the graz­ing cat­tle from wind and rain.

AA-53

The Eurasian Wry­neck is a typ­i­cal species of the orchard.

But they also form for many dif­fer­ent kinds of ani­mals a pro­tec­tive biotope.

AA-53a

The Edi­ble Dor­mouse lives in the grot­tos.

More than 2000 dif­fer­ent fau­na species (of those 90% insects) are liv­ing in the orchard, form­ing a very impor­tant biotope with its trees and ground.

The char­ac­ter­is­tic bird species of the orchard are the Lit­tle Owl and the Eurasian Wry­neck, belong­ing to the species of the wood­peck­ers. The Gar­den Dor­mouse, the Hazel Dor­mouse or but­ter­fly species like the Brown Hair­streak and the Leop­ard Moth.

AA-54 AA-55
In autumn the fruit is a major food source for most kinds of insects. The hedge­hog finds its food on the ground.

PreviousNext

Le biotope “verger”

RetourSuite

Origine et importance des vergers

AA-56

Les verg­ers au pied de l’Aarnescht lais­sent leur empreinte sur le paysage.

La cul­ture fruitière a une longue tra­di­tion dans notre région. C’est ain­si que les formes cul­tivées des espèces les plus util­isées encore aujourd’hui remon­tent au temps des Romains qui ont aus­si intro­duit la viti­cul­ture. Les Romains plan­taient leurs arbres fruitiers surtout dans des jardins ou à prox­im­ité de leurs vil­las. Ce n’est qu’au 16ième siè­cle que la viti­cul­ture s’étendait dans le paysage ouvert. C’est depuis ce temps-là que les verg­ers con­stituent des élé­ments mar­quants du paysage domes­tiqué. Dans la com­mune de Nieder­an­ven, la cul­ture fruitière a une longue tra­di­tion. C’est, en par­ti­c­uli­er, vers la fin du 19ième siè­cle que beau­coup de gens qui, devenus chômeurs après la fer­me­ture des fab­riques à papi­er, ont pu être employés à planter des arbres fruitiers dans le cadre de pro­grammes de créa­tion d’emplois. Dans l’Aarnescht, une grande par­tie de la zone tam­pon (zone B) est con­sti­tuée de verg­ers.

Le pourquoi de l’importance des vergers

AA-21

AA-52

La chou­ette chevêche habite les cav­ités des vieux arbres fruitiers.

Les verg­ers con­stituent un élé­ment impor­tant du paysage. Ils intè­grent har­monieuse­ment l’habitat au paysage, améliorent le cli­mat local et pro­tè­gent les ani­maux de pâturage des intem­péries.

Ils prévi­en­nent l’érosion des sols dans les pentes et aug­mentent la valeur récréa­tive du paysage cul­tivé.

AA-53

Le tor­col four­m­i­li­er, une espèce typ­ique des verg­ers.

Beau­coup d’animaux trou­vent un espace vital dans les verg­ers. Jusqu’à 2000 espèces ani­males, dont 90% d’insectes, vivent dans les verg­ers. Un arbre fruiti­er est biotope du pied jusqu’à la cime.

AA-53a

Le loir vit dans les cav­ités

Les verg­ers sont le biotope le plus impor­tant pour beau­coup d’espèces. L’espèce d’oiseaux car­ac­téris­tique du verg­er est la chou­ette chevêche et le tor­col four­m­i­li­er appar­en­té aux pics. Y vivent aus­si le lérot, le mus­cardin et les espèces de papil­lon la thé­cla du bouleau et le zeuzère.

AA-54 AA-55
En automne, les fruits con­stituent une source de nour­ri­t­ure appré­ciée par beau­coup d’espèces. L’hérisson trou­ve sa nour­ri­t­ure au sol.

RetourSuite