Compensation forest

PreviousNext

New wood areas had been cre­at­ed at the edge of the air­port, in order to com­pen­sate the for­est loss suf­fered at the time of its con­struc­tion and enlarge­ment. The major part of this com­pen­sa­tion­al for­est is sit­u­at­ed between the air­port and the high­way on the Sen­ninger­berg side and on the oth­er side of the high­way. At the begin­ning of the eight­ies of the 20th cen­tu­ry a new for­est had been cre­at­ed, play­ing an impor­tant pro­tec­tion role against the light, noise and view from the high­way. In for­mer times this area had been used for agri­cul­ture.

Structure and maintenance

Before the con­struc­tion of the air­port, the plain south from Sen­ninger­berg had been used for agri­cul­ture.

As this com­pen­sa­tion­al for­est is not a com­mon for­est, where eco­log­i­cal and eco­nom­i­cal aspects are valid, its first role is to pro­tect against the noise and there­fore its struc­ture and main­te­nance has to be dif­fer­ent.

Selection of the species

For this kind of for­est a high diver­si­ty of the dif­fer­ent tree species is impor­tant. You can find fast grow­ing pio­neer species like the birch, the poplar, the black locust or maple and the typ­i­cal for this site beech and oak.

A lot of conifers (pine and spruce) and also been added, even if nor­mal­ly they do not make part of a nat­ur­al grown broadleaf for­est. They con­tin­ue pro­tect­ing against noise and view even in win­ter time when the oth­er tree species have lost their leaf.

Forestry management

The forestry man­age­ment aims here pre­dom­i­nate­ly the pro­tec­tion func­tions. If trees have to be cut down, this hap­pens only by small bits, in order to pre­serve per­ma­nent­ly the gen­er­al den­si­ty of the wood com­plete.

PreviousNext

Forêt de compensation

RetourSuite

De nou­velles forêts ont été plan­tées au bord de l’aéroport en guise de com­pen­sa­tion pour les pertes de forêts subies par sa con­struc­tion et son exten­sion. La plus grande sur­face de com­pen­sa­tion se trou­ve entre l’aéroport et l’autoroute d’un côté et Sen­ninger­berg de l’autre côté. Au début des années qua­tre-vingts du 20ième siè­cle une nou­velle forêt a été créée jouant un rôle impor­tant pour le Sen­ninger­berg  tout en ser­vant d’écran antibruit et antivue mais égale­ment antipous­sière. Jadis le site a été util­isé comme sur­face agri­cole.

Structure et entretien

Avant la con­struc­tion de l’aéroport le plateau au sud du Sen­ninger­berg était terre agri­cole.

Comme cette forêt de com­pen­sa­tion n’est pas une forêt nor­male où pré­va­lent des aspects écologiques et économiques, mais dont la fonc­tion pre­mière n’est de com­bat­tre les nui­sances sonores, elle est soumise à d’autres règles par rap­port à sa struc­ture et son entre­tien.

Choix des espèces

Ce qui car­ac­térise la forêt, c’est la diver­sité des espèces. On y trou­ve des espèces pio­nnières à crois­sance rapi­de comme le bouleau, le peu­pli­er, le robinier faux aca­cia ou l’érable et les espèces typ­iques pour ce site: le chêne et le hêtre.

On a égale­ment ajouté beau­coup de conifères (épicéas et pins) qui ne font nor­male­ment pas par­tie inté­grante des forêts de feuil­lus naturelles. Les conifères rem­plis­sent même en hiv­er, quand les arbres feuil­lus sont nus, leur fonc­tion d’écran antibruit et anti-vue.

Gestion forestière

La ges­tion forestière veille spé­ciale­ment à garan­tir les fonc­tions de pro­tec­tion.

Si des arbres doivent être renou­velés, on ne les abat qu’en petits groupes afin d’assurer que la total­ité de la forêt reste con­tin­uelle­ment sauve­g­ardée.

RetourSuite