Origin of the name

PreviousNext

Analysis of a name

Enter­ing this pavil­ion, you artic­u­late undoubt­ed­ly the ques­tion which admon­ished you for a long time: ”What means exact­ly AARNESCHT?” They will answer you that this name of place is very much spe­cial, a bit or even strange, just as cli­mate, flo­ra and fau­na which you are going to meet there…

Our pur­pose, to us, will be to approach the prob­lem of the AARNESCHT by its ety­mo­log­i­cal data. We ask: Is there some­where, in some cor­ner of the coun­try, anoth­er AARNESCHT iden­ti­cal to ours? Or is ours unique?

More than one had thought of it; until the moment when some­body remind­ed: Near Lauter­bour, near the road of Echter­nach to Schei­d­gen a rocky and wood­ed crest ris­es. Its name: HARNECH. Strik­ing is the sim­i­lar­i­ty of both places, as for their topog­ra­phy as well as for their toponymy! Would there be con­san­guin­i­ty?

AA-16

The place “Harnech” is sit­u­at­ed near Lauter­bour not far from Echter­nach

Cer­tain­ly not. Har­nisch, Ger­man form of HARNECH, is a notion of geol­o­gy, and indi­cates some rock-form­ing. Now the AARNESCHT does not have any (more?) rocks!

And if we found in an old doc­u­ment a for­mer orthog­ra­phy for our place, an orthog­ra­phy from long ago? Would this move us for­ward? In the date of 1633, we read: ”an der ARENEST”. We under­line the first ” E ” inter­ca­lat­ed between R and N. His role seems tri­fling, but his impor­tance will show itself pri­mor­dial.

Indeed: The pho­net­ic groups rsp. “RN” and “REN”, as well as rsp.” RM “and ” REM” can dif­fer­en­ti­ate lit­er­ary lan­guage and dialect. Ex: von ferne — fu fären; gerne — gären; hin­dern — hën­neren; arm — arem; Wurm-Wurem

It will be allowed to con­clude: The scrip­teur of 1633, in its orthog­ra­phy, repro­duced the name as he had heard it. Lat­er, and accord­ing to usage at the car­tog­ra­phers, the prim­i­tive writ­ten form with a “lit­er­ary” writ­ten form was replaced. It is in this writ­ten form AARNESCHT that today we say and write the name.

As for the mean­ing of AARNESCHT, we looked for her and we found her in the aquat­ic con­cept of ERNZ, leav­ing from ARANZIA. Received in this way: ERNZEN (white Ernz) ERNSTER (black Ernz), besides these vil­lages of the heights as ERENZBIERG and ERNZBIERG (Ernz white), and final­ly the AARNESCHT their name. The ini­tial let­ter, in the quot­ed names, “A”, “AE” or “E”, hard­ly seems to mat­ter.

AA-17

In Eppel­dorf, we find near the White Ernz sev­er­al moun­tains which bear the name of this riv­er

To give to a local­i­ty the name of the water­course, on the bank — or at least near­by — of which it is locat­ed, is quite nor­mal. Exam­ples: Syren, Ouren, Attert, Ernzen. Also nor­mal will be to remind of the water­course in the name of the local­i­ty. (see Saar­brück­en, Viel­salm, Salm­rohr, Kan­der­steg, Cam­bridge.)

How­ev­er it seems not very log­i­cal to apply the same tech­nique to local­i­ties and sites very dis­tant from the water­course “Ernz”. What is well the case of ERNZEN (ECHTERNACH), ERENZ (WINTERSDORF), ”han­ner AREND” (Rosport), ARENS-BERG (EIFEL), in Hostert, where the site of the cur­rent foot­ball pitch would have prob­a­bly car­ried the name “ERENZ” (accord­ing to the infor­ma­tion of mis­ter Jängy Bin­ten­er, announced by mis­ter André Hild­gen), and still of “AARNESCHT”, in our opin­ion. The call­ing, topog­ra­phy sees them as cli­max­es of a hilly crest most often wood­ed. What is not worth for Ernzen (east of Echter­nach.)

AA-18

In Rosport and in Win­ters­dorf, who is near the Sure, places — said “Arend” and “Erenz” indi­cate crests of moun­tains-islets.

It is there­fore in oro­gra­phie, and not in hydrowrit­ten form that it would be nec­es­sary to search the sense of AARNESCHT. It is true that the last gave a con­tri­bu­tion of size: All waters of AARNESCHT head for the Syre, while no joins the very close Ernz.

A final word regard­ing the suf­fix­es “-scht,-cht,-st.” They abound in our lan­guage, and their three forms are region­al.

We will keep: The cur­rent way of say­ing and of writ­ing AARNESCHT intro­duces two oppo­site ten­den­cies: On one hand, she strives towards the lit­er­ary lan­guage by leav­ing “E — par­a­site”. On the oth­er one, she bor­rows her suf­fix from the dialect. This ambi­gu­i­ty is per­haps the rea­son of a stealthy impres­sion of strange­ness.

To end: Unable to inter­pret the name of AARNESCHT with the last rigour, we will try to define him con­cise­ly:” It indi­cates, slight­ly dis­tort­ed by con­ces­sions made in lan­guages and dialec­tal and lit­er­ary, the crest of a moun­tain-islet”.

THE AARNESCHT is the pro­to­type of a small num­ber of moun­tains-islands dis­trib­uted in the coun­try. Lend­ing to the sun the side turned in the South, they allow, in a cli­mate, South­ern almost, to the curi­ous walk­er, to dis­cov­er and to appre­ci­ate a flo­ra and a fau­na from oth­er places — and to become an informed friend of the nature.

E. Stein­met­zer

PreviousNext

Origine du nom

RetourSuite

Analyse d’un nom

Entrant dans ce pavil­lon, vous artic­ulez sans doute la ques­tion qui vous tançait depuis longtemps: ”Que sig­ni­fie au juste AARNESCHT?” On vous répon­dra que ce nom de lieu est fort spé­cial, voire un peu étrange, tout comme le cli­mat, la flo­re et la faune que vous allez y ren­con­tr­er…

Notre pro­pos, à nous, sera d’aborder le prob­lème de l’AARNESCHT par ses don­nées éty­mologiques. Nous deman­dons: Y a-t-il quelque part, dans quelque coin du pays, une autre AARNESCHT iden­tique à la nôtre? Ou bien la nôtre est-elle unique?

Plus d’un l’avaient pen­sé; jusqu’au moment où quelqu’un rap­pela: Près de Lauter­bour, de la route d’Echternach à Schei­d­gen s’élève une crête rocheuse et boisée. Son nom: HARNECH. Frap­pante est la simil­i­tude des deux endroits, quant à leur topogra­phie aus­si bien qu’à leur toponymie! Y aurait-il par­en­té?

Certes non. Har­nisch, forme alle­mande de HARNECH, est une notion de géolo­gie, et désigne une cer­taine for­ma­tion rocheuse. Or, l’AARNESCHT n’a pas (plus?) de rochers!

AA-16

Le lieu-dit “Harnech” se situe près de Lauter­bour dans les envi­rons d’Echternach

Et si nous trou­vions, dans un vieux doc­u­ment, pour notre lieu, une orthographe de jadis? Cela ne nous avancerait-il pas? A la date de 1633, nous lisons: ”an der ARENEST”. Nous soulignons le pre­mier ”E” inter­calé entre R et N. Son rôle sem­ble min­ime, mais son impor­tance se révèlera pri­mor­diale.

En effet: Les groupes phoné­tiques rsp. ”RN” et ”REN”, ain­si que rsp. ”RM” et ”REM” peu­vent dif­férenci­er langue lit­téraire et dialecte. Ex: von ferne — vu fären; gerne — gären; hin­dern — hën­neren; arm — arem; Wurm- Wurem

Il sera per­mis de con­clure: Le scrip­teur de 1633, dans son orthographe, repro­dui­sait le nom comme il l’avait enten­du. Par la suite, et selon l’usage chez les car­tographes, on rem­plaça la gra­phie prim­i­tive par une gra­phie ”lit­téraire”. C’est dans cette gra­phie AARNESCHT qu’aujourd’hui on dit et écrit le nom.

Quant à la sig­ni­fi­ca­tion de AARNESCHT, on la cher­chait et on la trou­vait dans le con­cept aqua­tique de ERNZ, par­tant de ARANZIA. Ont reçu de cette façon: ERNZEN (Ernz blanche) ERNSTER (Ernz noire), out­re ces vil­lages des hau­teurs comme ERENZBIERG et ERNZBIERG (Ernz blanche), et enfin l’AARNESCHT leur nom. Que la let­tre ini­tiale, dans les noms cités, soit ”A”, ”AE” ou ”E”, ne sem­ble guère importer.

AA-17

A Eppel­dorf, on trou­ve à prox­im­ité de l’Ernz blanche plusieurs mon­tagnes qui por­tent le nom de cette riv­ière

Don­ner à une local­ité le nom du cours d’eau, sur la rive — ou du moins à prox­im­ité — duquel elle est située, est bien naturel. Exem­ples: Syren, Ouren, Attert, Ernzen. Tout aus­si naturel sera de rap­pel­er le cours d’eau dans le nom de la local­ité. (voir Saar­brück­en, Viel­salm, Salm­rohr, Kan­der­steg, Cam­bridge.)

Pour­tant il paraît peu logique d’appliquer ce même procédé à des local­ités et des sites très éloignés du cours d’eau ”Ernz”. Ce qui est bien le cas de ERNZEN (Echter­nach), ERENZ (Win­ters­dorf), ”han­ner AREND” (Rosport), ARENS-BERG (Eifel), à Hostert, où le site de l‘actuel ter­rain de foot­ball aurait prob­a­ble­ment porté le nom ”ERENZ” (d’après les ren­seigne­ments de Mon­sieur Jängy Bin­ten­er, com­mu­niqués par Mon­sieur André Hild­gen), et encore de ”AARNESCHT”, à notre avis. Les prénom­més, la topogra­phie les voit comme points cul­mi­nants d’une crête mon­tag­neuse le plus sou­vent boisée. Ce qui ne vaut pas pour Ernzen (à l’est d’Echternach).

AA-18

A Rosport et à Win­ters­dorf, qui se situent près de la Sûre, les lieux-dits ”Arend” et ”Erenz” désig­nent des crêtes des mon­tagnes-îlots.

C’est donc dans l’orographie, et non pas dans l’hydrographie qu’il faudrait chercher le sens de AARNESCHT. Il est vrai que la dernière a fourni un apport de taille: Toutes les eaux de l’AARNESCHT se diri­gent vers la Syre, tan­dis qu’aucune ne rejoint l’Ernz toute proche.

Reste à dire un mot à pro­pos des suf­fix­es “-scht, -cht, -st.” Ils abon­dent dans notre langue, et leurs trois formes sont régionales.

Nous retien­drons: La façon actuelle de dire et d’écrire AARNESCHT présente deux ten­dances con­traires: D’une part, elle tend vers la langue lit­téraire en aban­don­nant le “E -par­a­site”. De l’autre, elle emprunte au dialecte son suf­fixe. Cette ambiguïté est peut-être la cause d’une impres­sion furtive d’étrangeté.

Pour ter­min­er: Ne pou­vant inter­préter le nom de l’AARNESCHT avec la dernière rigueur, nous ten­terons de le définir avec con­ci­sion:

Il désigne, légère­ment défor­mé par des con­ces­sions faites aux langues et dialec­tale et lit­téraire, la crête d’une mon­tagne-îlot”.

L’AARNESCHT est le pro­to­type d’un petit nom­bre de mon­tagnes-îlots répar­ties dans le pays. Prê­tant au soleil leur flanc tourné au Sud, elles per­me­t­tent, dans un cli­mat, mérid­ion­al presque, au promeneur curieux, de décou­vrir et d’apprécier une flo­re et une faune venues d’ailleurs — et de devenir un ami de la nature aver­ti.

E. Stein­met­zer

RetourSuite