Semi-arid grassland

PreviousNext

The semi arid grass­lands are among the rich­est biotopes in species and form irre­place­able sites for rare and endan­gered fau­na and flo­ra species.

What is semi arid grassland?

Semi arid grass­land is com­posed by dif­fer­ent botan­i­cal species grow­ing on arid stony grounds, poor in nutri­ents and of shal­low soil depth. Their sit­u­a­tion on the hill tops and on the south and south west slopes of the site pre­dis­pos­es the semi arid grass­land to a spe­cial warm and dry cli­mate, typ­i­cal for this land poor in woods. This micro cli­mate allows biotopes for many dif­fer­ent species, typ­i­cal for the warm and dry regions of South and East Europe.

Creation by human management

The semi arid grass­land on the Aar­nescht did not emerge nat­u­ral­ly. By uproot­ing the woods and replac­ing them by pas­tures and mead­ows, the semi arid sur­faces could devel­op with their warm and light lov­ing plants.

The fact that the pas­tures were con­tin­u­ous­ly mown or served for graz­ing pre­vent­ed the site from encroach­ing and allowed to the “frail” botan­i­cal species to devel­op. Over the years you could find more and more dif­fer­ent species.

Accommodation strategies

The plants did adapt to the giv­en arid con­di­tions by dif­fer­ent ways: with a deep grow­ing root net­work and a thick leaf sys­tem, pro­tect­ing from evap­o­ra­tion.

Important diversity in fauna and flora species

Grande diversité de plantes et d’animaux

AA-32

Wasp spi­der
Agri­ope bruen­nichi

AA-33

Gen­tian
Gen­tiana

AA-34

Paint­ed Lady
Vanes­sa car­dui

AA-35

Bell­flower
Cam­pan­u­la

AA-36

Ophrys holosericea

AA-37

Cen­tau­ri­um ery­thraea

AA-38

Mead­ow sage
Salvia praten­sis

AA-39

Com­mon Car­line This­tle
Car­li­na vul­garis

AA-40

Mead­ow Saf­fron
Colchicum autom­nale

PreviousNext

Pelouse demi-sèche

RetourSuite

Les pelous­es demi-sèch­es comptent par­mi les biotopes les plus rich­es en diver­sité. Grâce à leur richesse en espèces ani­males et végé­tales, elles con­stituent des sur­faces irrem­plaçables pour la pro­tec­tion des espèces.

Qu’est-ce qu’une pelouse demi-sèche?

Une pelouse demi-sèche est con­sti­tuée de sociétés végé­tales rich­es en espèces herbacées sur des sols arides, pau­vres en sub­stances nutri­tives, plus ou moins faibles en pro­fondeur, respec­tive­ment pier­reux. Sa présence sur des collines ou des pentes exposées au sud-ouest et sud-est con­di­tionne égale­ment le car­ac­tère sec et chaud de ce type de pelouse pau­vre en plantes ligneuses. Le micro-cli­mat crée des biotopes pour beau­coup d’espèces de plantes, dont les zones de prop­a­ga­tion prin­ci­pales se trou­vent dans les régions chaudes et sèch­es de l’Europe du Sud et de l’Est.

Oeuvres de l’intervention humaine

Les pelous­es demi-sèch­es de l’Aarnescht n’ont pas évolué naturelle­ment. Avec leurs espèces pho­to et ther­mophiles, elles se sont instal­lées comme sociétés végé­tales de rem­place­ment en se sub­sti­tu­ant aux forêts défrichées et aux prairies ou pâturages sub­séquents.

L’utilisation comme pâturage et la coupe ont empêché la trans­for­ma­tion naturelle de ces pelous­es en maquis ce qui a lais­sé les plantes com­péti­tive­ment faibles se dévelop­per libre­ment. Au cours des années, on a ain­si pu observ­er l’immigration d’espèces végé­tales les plus divers­es.

Les stratégies d’adaptation

Les plantes se sont bien adap­tées de dif­férentes façons aux con­di­tions arides: sys­tème de racines qui va très en pro­fondeur, feuilles à la couche extérieure épaisse pour empêch­er l’évaporation.

Grande diversité de plantes et d’animaux

AA-32

Epeire fas­ciée
Agri­ope bruen­nichi

AA-33

Gen­tiane
Gen­tiana

AA-34

Vanesse des chardons
Vanes­sa car­dui

AA-35

Cam­pan­ule
Cam­pan­u­la

AA-36

Ophrys frelon
Ophrys holosericea

AA-37

Petite cen­tau­rée
Cen­tau­ri­um ery­thraea

AA-38

Sauge des prés
Salvia praten­sis

AA-39

Car­line vul­gaire
Car­li­na vul­garis

AA-40

Colchique d’automne
Colchicum autom­nale

RetourSuite