Geology

PreviousNext

AA-01

The geology of the surrounding landscape.

AA-04

View from the Aar­nescht to the “Grünewald”.

The region of Nieder­an­ven is spe­cif­ic for an abrupt change of the under­ground geo­log­i­cal fea­ture. This pas­sage from the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er to the Keu­per lay­er can be seen eas­i­ly on the sur­face and is respon­si­ble for the spe­cial fea­tures of the site.

AA-03

The Aar­nescht in the mid­dle of the hilly land­scape.

 

 

The Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er (li2) forms a table­land cov­ered by a nat­ur­al grown beech grove. On the east side; the table­land is lim­it­ed by the tran­si­tion point of the Keu­per lay­er (km3), on whose ground is extend­ing a wide open hilly land­scape, cul­ti­vat­ed since ever.

The geology of the Aarnescht

AA-05

Geo­log­i­cal lay­ers:
li2: Lux­em­burg­er Sand­stone
ku: Low­er Keu­per
li1: Marls-Lay­ers
mo2: Cer­atites-Lay­ers
ko2: Rhaet­ian
mo1: Crinoidea-Lay­ers
km3: Upper Tri­as­sic
mm: Gyp­site
km2: Reed sand­stone
km1: Pseudo­mor­pho­senke­u­per

The geo­log­i­cal pro­file of the Aar­nescht shows that the under­ground is near­ly com­plete­ly com­posed by stony marl sed­i­ments, rocks were formed in the Meso­zoic time, when the dinosaurs were still there (approx­i­mate­ly 200 mil­lions of years ago). Dur­ing these years dif­fer­ent lay­ers were added to the marl sed­i­ment lay­er as for exam­ple the red rhet­ian marl (ko2(), the grey psilo­ceras planor­bis (li1) and the yel­low Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er (li2). On the north side of the Aar­nescht these lay­ers are still recov­er­ing and pro­tect­ing the marl sed­i­ments from the nat­ur­al ero­sion. As for the rest of the Aar­nescht, wind and rain did erode the thick lay­ers with the years and the com­pact marl sed­i­ments are exposed on the sur­face again.

Compact marl sediments

AA-06The com­pact marl sed­i­ments are com­posed by thick clay rocks and brake rapid­ly into sharp frag­ments. Then they can eas­i­ly been blown away by the wind and waters and laid down on oth­er places.

Dur­ing a hik­ing tour over the Aar­nescht you can find those bare open grounds, erod­ed over the time. You recog­nise them by their grey colour, typ­i­cal for com­pact marl sed­i­ments.

 

PreviousNext

Géologie

RetourSuite

AA-01

La géologie des environs

AA-04

Vue de l’Aarnescht vers le “Grünewald”.

La région de Nieder­an­ven se dis­tingue par un change­ment abrupt du sous-sol géologique. Ce change­ment de couch­es du Grès de Lux­em­bourg au Keu­per est repérable à l’oeil nu sur le ter­rain et il est respon­s­able de l’aspect car­ac­téris­tique du paysage.

AA-03

L’Aarnescht au milieu du paysage acci­denté.

 

 

Le Grès de Lux­em­bourg (li2) forme un haut plateau cou­vert d’une futaie naturelle dans ce lieu: la hêtraie. Vers l’est, le haut plateau est lim­ité par la tran­si­tion abrupte vers le Keu­per (km3), sur les couch­es duquel s’étend un paysage ouvert légère­ment ond­uleux et cul­tivé depuis tou­jours par les hommes.

La géologie de l’Aarnescht

AA-05

Couch­es géologiques
km1: Marnes à pseudo­mor­phoses de sel
km2: Grès à roseaux
km3: Marnes à marno­lites com­pactes
ko2: Rhé­tien
ku: Keu­per inférieur
li1: Couch­es à Psilo­ceras planorbe
li2: Grès de Lux­em­bourg
mm: Marnes gyp­sifères
mo1: Couch­es à Entro­ques
mo2: Couch­es à Cératites

Le pro­fil géologique nous mon­tre que le sous-sol de l’Aarnescht se com­pose presqu’entièrement de Marnes à marno­lites com­pactes. Il s’agit d’une roche qui s’est for­mée au méso­zoïque il y a à peu près 200 mil­lions d’années, donc pen­dant la péri­ode où évolu­aient les grands rep­tiles (p.ex. les saures). Au cours de ces mil­lions d’années, dif­férentes couch­es ont été déposées sur les marnes à marno­lites com­pactes. Ces couch­es sont: les marnes rouges du rhé­tien (ko2), les couch­es gris­es à Psilo­ceras planorbe (li1) ain­si que le Grès de Lux­em­bourg jaune (li2). Les couch­es recou­vrent encore les marnes à marno­lites com­pactes seule­ment dans la par­tie la plus au nord de l’Aarnescht et les pro­tè­gent ain­si de l’érosion. Dans le reste de l’Aarnescht, le vent et l’eau ont érodé ces couch­es épaiss­es au fil du temps. Les marnes à marno­lites com­pactes s’en retrou­vent de nou­veau exposées.

Marnes à marnolites compactes

AA-06Les marnes à marno­lites com­pactes sont des roches argileuses et épaiss­es, qui s’effritent rapi­de­ment en frag­ments à arêtes vives. Ceux-ci peu­vent alors être facile­ment emportés par le vent et l’eau et déposés à d’autres endroits.

Lors d’une prom­e­nade dans l’Aarnescht, on peut tomber sur des endroits dégagés par l’érosion. On y recon­naît la couleur grise car­ac­téris­tique des marnes à marno­lites com­pactes.

 

RetourSuite