Geology and Springs

PreviousNext

Luxembourg Sandstone Layer

11_GW_GQ (1)

Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er

The Grünewald with its approx­i­mate­ly 4500 ha, is sit­u­at­ed on the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er, an impos­ing rock of about 42 m thick, that had been formed 190 to 170 mil­lions of years ago after the sed­i­men­ta­tion of the sea.

11_GW_GQ (5)

Geo­log­i­cal pro­file

The sand­stone is a porous and cracked rock, absorb­ing rain runoffs fil­ter­ing through the for­est soil to the low­er ground lay­ers. The Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er has become the most impor­tant nation­al reser­voir of drink­ing water, deliv­er­ing about 90% of the drink­ing water of the phreat­ic ground­wa­ter in Lux­em­bourg.

The rain runoffs are fil­ter­ing through the per­me­able Sand­stone lay­er down to the imper­vi­ous Psilo­ceras lay­er, run­ning off side­ways at the inter­sec­tion point with the sur­face ground, called then Lay­er source.

The protection role Grünewald for the drinking water

11_GW_GQ (2)The Grünewald as well as all oth­er forests, grow­ing on the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er have a spe­cial impor­tance: they play a major pro­tec­tive role of the drink­ing water.

The rain runoffs are fil­tered through the dif­fer­ent lay­ers of the for­est soil and the ele­ments like dust or chem­i­cal pol­lu­tion, which have been fil­tered out by this process are in a long term stocked in the ground. By this way the for­est soil con­tributes large­ly to the clean­ing process of the dai­ly drink­ing water.

The springs of the Glaasburgronn

11_GW_GQ (4)

Nume­rous sour­ces emerge from the earth in the cut and very tight val­ley of the Glaas­bur­g­ronn

At Glaas­bur­gronn, a v-shaped val­ley sit­u­at­ed on the edge of the Grünewald, many lit­tle springs have its source in the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er. Flow­ing togeth­er they form a brook, flow­ing off west­wards in the Alzette riv­er in Dom­mel­dan­ge.

The water of the Glaas­bur­gronn is of an excel­lent qual­i­ty, proofed by the pres­ence of all those ani­mal species that are only able to live in clean waters (for exam­ple Stone flies lar­vae and pla­nari­ans).

11_GW_GQ (8)

Stone fly lar­va

11_GW_GQ (6)

Ema­na­tion of a source out of the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er at the Glaas­bur­gronn

11_GW_GQ (7)

Pla­nari­an

PreviousNext

Géologie et sources

RetourSuite

Le Grès de Luxembourg

11_GW_GQ (1)

Grès de Lux­em­bourg

Le Grünewald avec env­i­ron 4500 ha, se situe sur le Grès de Lux­em­bourg, une roche imposante d’une épais­seur de 42 m qui s’est for­mée il y a 190 à 170 mil­lions d’années suite à la sédi­men­ta­tion marine.

11_GW_GQ (5)

Pro­fil géologique

Le Grès de Lux­em­bourg est une roche poreuse et crevassée qui absorbe l’eau de pluie infil­trée dans le sol de la forêt et qui ain­si a été fil­trée pour ensuite s’infiltrer dans le sous-sol. Le Grès de Lux­em­bourg est le réser­voir d’eau potable le plus impor­tant du Lux­em­bourg. Il four­nit à peu près 90% de l’eau potable issue de la nappe phréa­tique du Lux­em­bourg.

L’eau de pluie péné­trant le sous-sol s’infiltre à tra­vers le Grès de Lux­em­bourg qui est per­méable, jusqu’à la couche à Psilo­ceras planorbe qui, elle, est imper­méable, pour ensuite s’écouler latérale­ment. C’est au point d’intersection avec la sur­face du ter­rain que s’opère la résur­gence.

La fonction protectrice de l’eau potable du Grünewald

11_GW_GQ (2)Le Grünewald ain­si que toutes les forêts se situ­ant sur le Grès de Lux­em­bourg, ont une impor­tance par­ti­c­ulière: elles accom­plis­sent une fonc­tion pro­tec­trice de l’eau potable.

La pluie est fil­trée lors de son infil­tra­tion à tra­vers les dif­férentes couch­es du sol foresti­er. Les élé­ments (p.ex. pous­sière, pol­lu­tions chim­iques) qui ont été fil­trés et lavés lors de ce proces­sus, sont incor­porés à long terme dans le sol. De cette façon le sol foresti­er apporte une con­tri­bu­tion impor­tante au net­toy­age de l’eau que nous util­isons quo­ti­di­en­nement comme eau potable.

Les sources au Glaasburgronn

11_GW_GQ (4)

De nom­breuses sources émer­gent de la terre dans la val­lée entail­lée et très ser­rée du Glaas­bur­gronn

Au Glaas­bur­gronn, une val­lée entail­lée située au bord du Grünewald, nais­sent de mul­ti­ples sources sor­tant du Grès de Lux­em­bourg. En se réu­nis­sant, elles for­ment un ruis­seau qui coule de l’ouest en direc­tion de Dom­mel­dan­ge où il se déverse dans l’Alzette.

L’eau au Glaas­bur­gronn est d’une excel­lente qual­ité, se démon­tre par les espèces ani­males aqua­tiques qu’on y a décou­vertes, et qu’on ne trou­ve que dans les eaux pro­pres (p.ex. larves de per­les et planaires).

11_GW_GQ (8)

Larve de per­le

11_GW_GQ (6)

Appari­tion d’une source dans le Grès de Lux­em­bourg au Glaas­bur­gronn

11_GW_GQ (7)

Planaire

RetourSuite