Village square and mills

PreviousNext

The “rue Ande­thana” once

The old vil­lage of Ober­an­ven is one of these typ­i­cal « street vil­lages » with its « rue Ande­thana » as the main road, par­al­lel to the brook « Staflick » (or Hostert brook).

The vil­lage square of Ober­an­ven with the mill­stone set up in hon­or of our local his­to­ri­an Emile Erpeld­ing.

A street vil­lage is char­ac­ter­is­tic for the absence of a vil­lage cen­tre or vil­lage place. In 1997, at the occa­sion of demo­li­tion of the house at the inter­sec­tion of the “rue du coin” and the “rue Ande­thana”, a kind of cen­tral place in form of a lit­tle green space, a busstop, lit­tle paths with bench­es and a mon­u­ment in mem­o­ry of the local his­to­ri­an and nation­al chron­i­cler Emile Erpeld­ing had been set up.

In 1988 Emile Erpeld­ing received from the Rhineland author­i­ties the “Rhein­land­taler” awards for his sur­vey about the region­al and lin­guis­tic cul­ture. Emile Erpeld­ing was also famous in the out­er region for his work “The Lux­em­bourg mills”.

The mills in Oberanven

4 large adja­cent mills were run­ning in Ober­an­ven, sup­plied by the water of the Hostert brook (Staflick): the Wern­er mill (the ban mill of Ober­an­ven), the Kin­nen mill, the Zammesch mill and the saw mill.

Over the cen­turies they marked the gen­er­al aspect of the vil­lage and deter­mined its eco­nom­ic sit­u­a­tion. The mills had dif­fer­ent pur­pos­es: there was a cere­al mill, a paper mill and a saw mill.

The func­tions of the mills could be adapt­ed to the needs and the build­ings could be enlarged accord­ing to the eco­nom­ic sit­u­a­tion.

The Werner Mill

The Wern­er mill, also called “Wer­neschmillen” can be con­sid­ered as the ban mill of Ober­an­ven.

Its ori­gin goes back to the year 1605. Dur­ing that time the pro­duc­tion depend­ed on the land­lord, who ordered a miller to be at his ser­vice.

The old cere­al mill had been trans­formed into a paper mill from 1824 to 1842, before being changed again into a grind mill until the 20s and 30s of the 20th cen­tu­ry.

The Zammesch Mill

The Zammesch Mill was found­ed in 1797 as a flour mill and had its name from the Zim­mer fam­i­ly, liv­ing on the site until 1729. Up from 1811, the mill had been work­ing into a paper mill until the sec­ond half of the 19th cen­tu­ry. Lat­er on until the 30s of the 20th cen­tu­ry, the mill worked as a cere­al mill.

The old Kin­nen Mill

The old saw mill

The prop­er­ty of the old Feltz Fam­i­ly

PreviousNext

Place du village et moulins

RetourSuite

La rue prin­ci­pale “rue Ande­thana” d’autrefois

Le vieux vil­lage d’Oberanven est un vil­lage-rue typ­ique avec la “rue Ande­thana” comme rue prin­ci­pale, qui est par­al­lèle au ruis­seau “Staflick” (encore appelé ruis­seau de Hostert).

La place du vil­lage d’Oberanven avec le meule érigé en l’honneur de notre his­to­rien local Emile Erpeld­ing.

Un vil­lage-rue est car­ac­térisé par l’absence d’un cen­tre et d’une place du vil­lage. En 1997, à l’occasion de la démo­li­tion d’une mai­son sise à l’intersection de la “rue du Coin” et de la “rue Ande­thana”, on a amé­nagé un espace vert qui pou­vait dès lorsrem­plir la fonc­tion de place cen­trale. Y ont été mis en place un abribus, des chemins et des bancs ain­si qu’un mon­u­ment érigé à la mémoire de Emile Erpeld­ing qui fut un des his­to­riens locaux et chroniqueurs les plus impor­tants du Lux­em­bourg.

En 1988, Emile Erpeld­ing a reçu pour ses mérites dans les domaines de l’étude de la cul­ture régionale et de la lin­guis­tique le “Rhein­land­taler” des autorités régionales de Rhé­nanie. Emile Erpeld­ing fut con­nu au-delà des fron­tières pour son oeu­vre “Les moulins du Lux­em­bourg”.

Les moulins à Oberanven

A Ober­an­ven fonc­tion­naient qua­tre moulins, situés les uns proches des autres, qui étaient ali­men­tés par l’eau du ruis­seau de Hostert (Staflick): le moulin Wern­er (égale­ment moulin banal d’Oberanven), le moulin Kin­nen, le moulin Zammesch et le moulin à scie.

Au cours des siè­cles, ils mar­quaient l’aspect du vil­lage et déter­mi­naient la vie économique des vil­la­geois. Les étab­lisse­ments exerçaient les fonc­tions dif­férentes suiv­antes: moulin à céréales, moulin à papi­er ou moulin à bois.

Les fonc­tions des moulins pou­vaient être adap­tées et les bâti­ments pou­vaient être agran­dis selon la sit­u­a­tion con­jonc­turelle.

Moulin Werner

Le “moulin Wern­er”, égale­ment appelé “Wer­neschmillen”, est con­sid­éré comme ancien moulin banal d’Oberanven.

Son orig­ine remonte au moins jusqu’à l’année 1605. A l’époque, la pro­duc­tion dépendait d’un seigneur qui oblig­eait le meu­nier d’être à son ser­vice.

De 1824 à 1842, avant d’être retrans­for­mé en moulin à mou­ture, le moulin à céréales fut trans­for­mé en moulin à papi­er. Il rem­plis­sait la fonc­tion de mou­ture de céréales jusqu’aux débuts des années 30 du 20ième siè­cle.

Moulin Zammesch

Le moulin Zammesch, fondé en 1797 en tant que moulin à farine, a reçu son nom de la famille Zim­mer, qui habitait la pro­priété Zammesch jusqu’en 1729. En 1811, le moulin fut trans­for­mé en moulin à papi­er et fonc­tion­na en tant que tel jusqu’à la deux­ième moitié du 19ième siè­cle. Par après, le moulin servit jusqu’à la ces­sa­tion des activ­ités dans les années 30 du siè­cle dernier à la mou­ture de céréales.

L’ancien moulin Kin­nen

L’ancien moulin à scie

L’ancienne pro­priété de la famille Feltz

RetourSuite