The rising point of the « Black Ernz »

PreviousNext

The Luxembourg Sandstone layer, the most important ground water reserve in Luxembourg

Near the bor­der of the Grünewald, at the West­side of Ern­ster, the Black Ernz is ris­ing. After then it is cross­ing on a dis­tance of 20 km the north-east of Lux­em­burg, before flow­ing into the riv­er Sauer near the Grund­hof, a place locat­ed in the north-west of the town of Echter­nach. On its way it is cross­ing the famous land­scape of the Müller­tal, one of most beau­ti­ful region in Lux­em­bourg.

e_02_se01

Geo­log­i­cal sec­tion

Begin­ning of the ris­ing

The springs of the Black Ernz are ris­ing out from the Lux­em­bourg sand­stone plateau, which is most often cov­ered with loose sand and woods, so that it is very spongy and rains can quick­ly enter the ground.

e_02_se02

The exten­sion of the Lux­em­bourg sand­stone lay­er

The rain­wa­ter is first enter­ing the wood’s humus soil, which is play­ing a very pro­tec­tive role here by guar­an­tee­ing the water’s fil­tra­tion. Then the waters are cross­ing the spongy sand­stone, with a thick­ness up to near­ly 42 m.
This Lux­em­bourg sand­stone is a per­fect water car­ri­er all because of its numer­ous cracks and poros­i­ty.

At the meet­ing point of this sand­stone lay­er and the psilo­ceras planor­bis lay­er (stony and non per­me­able lay­er) the water can no longer con­tin­ue its way down and pre­cise­ly on this point the springs are ris­ing out.

The annu­al rain rate in Lux­em­bourg is about 2 bil­lion cubic metres from which 55% are evap­o­rat­ing, 41% flow­ing on the sur­face and only 4% can enter the soil to sup­ply the ground water.

e_02_se06

The Black Enrz as an ele­ment of the hydrog­ra­phy

Most of these 4% are enter­ing the sand­stone lay­er, spread­ing over 493 square km but from which only 300 square km are spongy enough to let the waters enter. The oth­er 193 square km are cov­ered by stony and chalky lay­ers and can not play the fil­ter­ing role.
The Lux­em­bourg sand­stone is sup­ply­ing Lux­em­bourg with up to 90% of drink­ing water emerg­ing from ground waters (in Lux­em­bourg 2 thirds of all the drink­ing water is com­ing from ground waters and one third from sur­face waters).
The for­est ground, rich in humus is fil­ter­ing the rain waters.

PreviousNext

La source de l’Ernz Noire

RetourSuite

Le grès de Luxembourg: La nappe aquifère la plus importante du Luxembourg

A quelques pas d’i­ci, con­flu­ent les deux ruis­seaux qui for­ment l’Ernz Noire. La riv­ière tra­verse le Nord-Est du Lux­em­bourg sur une longueur totale de 20 km avant de se jeter dans la Sûre près du vil­lage de Grund­hof, au nord-ouest d’Echter­nach.  L’Ernz Noire tra­verse le Müllerthal, un des plus beaux paysages lux­em­bour­geois.

e_02_se01

For­ma­tion des sources

Les ruis­seaux for­mant l’Ernz Noire pren­nent leurs sources dans le grès de Lux­em­bourg. En général, la sur­face érodée du plateau du grès de Lux­em­bourg per­met une bonne infil­tra­tion de l’eau de pluie. En out­re, le grès est recou­vert de forêts, ce qui dimin­ue l’é­va­po­ra­tion des pré­cip­i­ta­tions.

L’eau de pluie tra­verse d’abord la couche d’hu­mus du sol foresti­er, qui joue ain­si un rôle pro­tecteur pri­mor­dial. Le sol fil­tre l’eau de pluie et assure ain­si son net­toy­age. Ensuite, l’eau tra­verse les couch­es per­méables du grès de Lux­em­bourg qui a une épais­seur de 42 m dans la région du cours supérieur de l’Ernz Noire.

De par son réseau fis­sur­al pronon­cé et sa richesse en pores, le grès de Lux­em­bourg est un bon con­duc­teur d’eau. Il absorbe ain­si un impor­tant vol­ume d’eau de pluie qu’il trans­fère dans le sous-sol.

e_02_se02

Cette infil­tra­tion de l’eau de pluie est arrêtée par la sur­face de con­tact entre le grès de Lux­em­bourg et les couch­es marneuses et imper­méables à psilo­ceras planor­bis. A l’en­droit où cette sur­face de con­tact affleure, l’eau émerge comme source.

Au Lux­em­bourg, il tombe en moyenne 2 mil­liards de m³ d’eau de pluie par an. Env­i­ron 55% de ce vol­ume d’eau s’é­va­porent dans l’at­mo­sphère, 41% s’é­coulent directe­ment sous forme d’eau super­fi­cielle et seule­ment 4% des pré­cip­i­ta­tions s’in­fil­trent assez pro­fondé­ment dans le sol pour pou­voir ali­menter la nappe d’eau souter­raine (nappe phréa­tique).

e_02_se06La plus grande par­tie de ce vol­ume d’eau est absorbée par le grès de Lux­em­bourg. Celui-ci s’é­tend sur 493 km², dont seule­ment 300 km² offrent des con­di­tions prop­ices à l’in­fil­tra­tion de l’eau. Le reste de la super­fi­cie du grès de Lux­em­bourg est recou­vert de couch­es imper­méables de marne et de cal­caire.

Le grès de Lux­em­bourg four­nit à peu près 90% de l’eau potable issue de la nappe phréa­tique du Lux­em­bourg (2/3 de notre eau potable provi­en­nent de la nappe souter­raine, 1/3 provient de l’eau en sur­face).

RetourSuite