The orchards of Senningen

PreviousNext

The history of fruit culture

Dur­ing two gen­er­a­tions, the Sen­nin­gen orchards had been a real mon­ey-spin­ner for the local farm­ers”. This was the for-word of a leaflet in 1984 and per­fect­ly reflects the impor­tance of the local fruit grow­ing activ­i­ty of once.

Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven in the mid­dle of the orchards.

Fruit grow­ing had already been intro­duced in our regions by the Romans and devel­oped in the Mid­dle Age monas­ter­ies. But it reached its activ­i­ty peak in the 19th cen­tu­ry. In Sen­nin­gen, at the end of the 19th cen­tu­ry large orchards had been cre­at­ed most­ly by unem­ployed work­ers, who had lost their job in the local paper mill. First farm­ers still had to bring their har­vest to Lux­em­bourg City with wag­ons and hors­es, but then lat­er on at the begin­ning of the 20th cen­tu­ry, they could use the new small rail­way line “Char­ly”, a very easy and effec­tive mean of trans­port at these days.

The fruits from Sen­nin­gen were also appre­ci­at­ed abroad. Dur­ing World War I the Ger­man army bought on a reg­u­lar basis apples, plums and pears. They loaded them on the trains in Rood/Syre to bring them to Ger­many.

After World War II, the fruit grow­ing activ­i­ty lost of its impor­tance. In 1902, at its peak, you could count in Sen­nin­gen, Sen­ninger­berg, Ober­an­ven and Nieder­an­ven around 27.000 fruit trees. In 1992 only 7.121 trees have remained in the Nieder­an­ven munic­i­pal­i­ty and two thirds of this crop is too old.

The rea­sons for this regres­sion are numer­ous. The agri­cul­tur­al restruc­tures, the drop­ping prices for native fruit, the trans­for­ma­tion of orchards’ ground into con­struc­tion ground and cer­tain­ly also the change of the con­sumers’ atti­tude may be list­ed as the most impor­tant respon­si­ble facts.

Dur­ing these last years seri­ous efforts were being made to stop this regres­sion of orchards in the region. The Lux­em­bourg State strong­ly sub­si­dies the set­ting up of orchards and a spe­cial plan­ta­tion plan had been start­ed by the com­mu­ni­ties of Nieder­an­ven, Schut­trange, Con­tern, Sandweil­er and Weil­er-la-Tour (SIAS), where spe­cialised fruit tree-cut train­ing cours­es are offered to all per­sons inter­est­ed in orchard man­age­ment.

Different grown fruit species

In Sen­nin­gen only the native vari­ety of fruits were grown, as they bet­ter resist against dis­eases and only need a min­i­mum of care. Among the apples the species “Ram­bour” and “Let­ze­buerg­er Tri­umph”, “Trans­par­ente Blanche”, “Reinette des Verg­ers” or “Boskoop” are the most grown. As for the pears one used the “Curé” and “Let­ze­buerg­er Most­bir” most­ly. But also plum, cher­ry and prune trees were plant­ed.

Lëtzebuerger Renette
Reinette des Verg­ers Quetsche Lëtze­buerg­er Most­bir

The intro­duc­tion of hybrid and oth­er species from abroad did cause more prob­lems, as the trees were not so resis­tant against dis­eases. That is why main­ly the high stem trees were plant­ed, as they do not need spe­cial care, enrich the local land­scape and pro­duce vit­a­min-packed fruit.

The importance of the orchards

The plan­ta­tion of young fruit trees guar­anties the future of the orchards.

Orchards are an impor­tant com­po­nent of our envi­ron­men­tal land­scape. They sur­round our vil­lages and enrich the struc­ture of the nat­ur­al scenery in all sea­sons. They offer more and more fruit and a pre­cious habi­tat to the many local fau­na and flo­ra species.

The half-open habi­tats are of a cru­cial impor­tance for the for­est and for the open field species.

The diver­si­ty of birds is one of the most facts linked to the pres­ence of orchards. You have for exam­ple the pres­ence of the wry­neck, the lit­tle owl, the hoopoe or the green wood­peck­er.

As orchards near­ly nev­er need to get fer­til­ized, you can still find those fau­na and flo­ra species that have already dis­ap­peared on oth­er grounds. That is why the orchards rep­re­sent a very pre­cious habi­tat for ani­mals and plants in dan­ger of extinc­tion.

Wry­neck Green wood­peck­er Lit­tle owl

Char­ac­ter­is­tic bird species of the orchards

PreviousNext

Les vergers de Senningen

RetourSuite

L’histoire de la culture fruitière

Les verg­ers de Sen­nin­gen étaient pen­dant deux généra­tions une vraie mine d’or pour les petits fer­miers”. Ces paroles d’introduction d’une brochure de 1984 reflè­tent par­faite­ment l’importance économique de la cul­ture fruitière.

Sen­nin­gen et Nieder­an­ven au milieu des verg­ers

La cul­ture fruitière, intro­duite dans nos régions par les Romains et pra­tiquée au Moyen-Âge dans les cou­vents, atteignait son apogée absolu au 19 ième siè­cle. Au milieu et à la fin du 19 ième siè­cle de grands verg­ers furent égale­ment amé­nagés à Sen­nin­gen, en par­tie par des chômeurs, qui avaient per­du leur emploi suite à la fer­me­ture du moulin à papi­er de Sen­nin­gen. Au début les paysans de Sen­nin­gen devaient encore trans­porter leurs fruits avec des char­i­ots à chevaux jusqu’à la cap­i­tale de Lux­em­bourg. Avec la con­struc­tion de la ligne de chemin de fer “Char­ly” au début du 20ième siè­cle, une con­nex­ion de train con­fort­able était à leur dis­po­si­tion.

Les fruits de Sen­nin­gen étaient égale­ment appré­ciés à l’étranger. Pen­dant la pre­mière guerre mon­di­ale l’armée alle­mande achetait des pommes, des prunes et des poires, les fai­sait charg­er sur des trains à Roodt/Syre pour les faire trans­porter ensuite en Alle­magne.

Après la 2ième guerre mon­di­ale l’importance de la cul­ture fruitière dimin­u­ait. En 1902, à son apogée, on comp­tait dans les vil­lages de Sen­nin­gen, Sen­ninger­berg, Ober­an­ven et Nieder­an­ven en tout 27000 arbres fruitiers. En 1992 il ne restait dans toute la com­mune de Nieder­an­ven que 7121 arbres dont les deux tiers étaient déjà trop vieux.

Les caus­es de cette régres­sion sont mul­ti­ples. Les restruc­tura­tions de l’agriculture, la chute des prix pour les fruits indigènes, la trans­for­ma­tion des verg­ers en ter­rains de con­struc­tion et les change­ments de com­porte­ment des con­som­ma­teurs comptent cer­taine­ment par­mi les fac­teurs les plus impor­tants.

Au cours de ces dernières années il y a eu maints efforts pour arrêter la régres­sion des verg­ers. L’Etat paie des sub­sides pour l’aménagement des verg­ers. Un pro­gramme de plan­ta­tion a été établi pour les com­munes de Nieder­an­ven, Schut­trange, Con­tern, Sandweil­er et Weil­er-la-Tour (SIAS). On offre de plus en plus des cours aux pro­prié­taires pour entretenir les arbres.

Espèces fruitières et variétés cultivées

Dans la cul­ture fruitière de Sen­nin­gen on se ser­vait tou­jours de var­iétés indigènes. Elles résis­tent bien aux mal­adies et n’exigent que des soins min­i­maux. Par­mi les pommes fig­urent par exem­ple la “Ram­bour”, la “Lëtze­buerg­er Tri­umph”, la “Trans­par­ente blanche”, la “Reinette des Verg­ers” ou la “Boskoop”. Par­mi les poires on util­i­sait la “Curé” et la “Lëtze­buerg­er Most­bir”. On plan­tait aus­si des ceris­es, des prunes et des quetsches.

Lëtzebuerger Renette
Reinette des Verg­ers Quetsche Lëtze­buerg­er Most­bir

L’introduction de var­iétés étrangères et hybrides n’a pas fait ses preuves, ces arbres étant de san­té frag­ile. Ce sont les arbres à hautes tiges qui sont cul­tivés. Ils enrichissent la struc­ture du paysage, n’ont pas besoin d’être traités aux pes­ti­cides et four­nissent des fruits rich­es en vit­a­mines.

L’importance des vergers

La plan­ta­tion de jeunes arbres fruitiers garan­tit l’avenir des verg­ers.

Les verg­ers con­stituent un élé­ment impor­tant de notre envi­ron­nement. Ils entourent nos vil­lages et enrichissent la struc­ture du paysage à toutes les saisons. Ils four­nissent en plus des fruits de valeur et offrent un habi­tat pré­cieux à beau­coup d’espèces d’animaux et de plantes.

Les espaces vitaux semi-ouverts sont impor­tants tant pour les espèces de la forêt que pour les espèces du paysage ouvert.

La diver­sité d’oiseaux se mon­tre par­mi des espèces surtout liées aux verg­ers, comme par exem­ple le tor­col four­m­i­li­er, la chou­ette chevêche, la huppe fas­ciée ou le pic vert.

Puisqu’en principe, les verg­ers ne subis­sent pas de traite­ments aux pes­ti­cides ou aux engrais, on y retrou­ve beau­coup d’espèces d’animaux et de plantes qui ont presque com­plète­ment dis­paru du reste du paysage domes­tiqué. Les verg­ers con­stituent donc des zones de retraite extrême­ment impor­tantes pour le monde ani­mal et végé­tal en péril.

Tor­col four­m­i­li­er Pic vert Chou­ette chevêche

Espèces d’oiseaux car­ac­téris­tiques des verg­ers.

RetourSuite