The countryside around the airport once and today

PreviousNext

Up from this peek you have a beau­ti­ful extend­ed view over the land­scape. When you turn your head to the left, you can see on the east side the hilly region of the Fos­sil Shells and Keu­per banks, reach­ing up to the Moselle Riv­er. In the south (when you look straight before you) your sight is lim­it­ed by the com­pen­sa­tion­al for­est around the air­port, which dom­i­nates the view.

Before the air­port enlarge­ment the “Fran­zosen­grund” main­ly served for agri­cul­ture.

The enlarge­ment of the air­port area in the eight­ies of the 20th cen­tu­ry did com­plete­ly change the ini­tial land­scape. The land­ing strip is sit­u­at­ed there where mead­ows, farm­land and pas­tures had once been. In a small val­ley, called “Fran­zosen­grund” there were the farms of the “Heit­er­hof” and the “Paris­er­hof”.

When the land­ing strip has been extend­ed the whole site had to get lev­elled and the whole “Fran­zosen­grund” val­ley had to dis­ap­pear togeth­er with its farms.

The “Höhenhof”

The “Fran­zosen­grund” and the “Heit­er­shof”

From the his­tor­i­cal point of view this farm had always been the most impor­tant build­ing of the Sen­ninger­berg. In the year 1381 the abbot Jean de Fels­berg of the Lux­em­bourg abbey bought a domain for the monks to devel­op, called the “Höhen­hof”. Imme­di­ate­ly after the pur­chase, 4 large fish ponds had been installed and in 1720 a fifth one had been added. The farm had been run by the fri­ars for at least 4 cen­turies and had been sold by auc­tion dur­ing the French Rev­o­lu­tion as nation­al prop­er­ty.

One of the last pisc­tures of the “Heit­er­shof” before falling for the air­port enlarge­ment.

Old pond at the Höhen­hof.

n the year 1860 the Ellis and Philip­part com­pa­ny did buy the site. The Bel­gians used it to run an impor­tant dis­tillery. It was at that peri­od when the cas­tle was con­struct­ed­serv­ing as the director’s build­ing. Sev­er­al times after­wards the site changed its own­ers before it had final­ly been pur­chased by the com­pa­ny Hôtel Aero­golf in 1970, demol­ish­ing the build­ing in order to build a mod­ern hotel on that same place.

The “Höhen­hof” cas­tle where the hotel Aero­golf Sher­a­ton has been erect­ed.

At the begin­ning of the eight­ies of the 20th cen­tu­ry the “Fran­zosen­grund” had been banked up as the land­ing run­way had to get extend­ed.

PreviousNext

Le paysage autour de l’aéroport — hier et aujourd’hui

RetourSuite

De ce point élevé on a une large vue sur le paysage. A l’est (en regar­dant vers la gauche) on recon­naît le paysage ondulé du Keu­per et du “Muschel­ka­lk” qui s’étend jusqu’à la Moselle. Au sud (tout droit devant vous) la vue est lim­itée par les forêts, qui entourent l’aéroport. A l’ouest (en regar­dant vers la droite) se situe la ville de Lux­em­bourg. L’aéroport domine le paysage.

L’extension de l’aéroport au début des années qua­tre-vingts du siè­cle dernier a com­plète­ment changé le paysage ini­tial. La piste d’atterrissage se trou­ve aujourd’hui là où jadis s’étendait une zone agri­cole avec des champs, des prés et des pâturages. Dans le val­lon du “Fran­zosen­grund” se trou­vaient le “Heit­er­shof” et le  “Parishof”.

Pour la pro­lon­ga­tion de la piste d’atterrissage la total­ité du site a dû être aplanie. Le “Fran­zosen-grund” a dû être rem­blayé aux dépens des fer­mes.

Le Höhenhof

Le “Fran­zosen­grund” avec le “Heit­er­shof”

Du point de vue his­torique le “Höhen­hof” était le bâti­ment le plus impor­tant du Sen­ninger­berg. En 1381 l’abbé Jean de Fels­berg de l’abbaye de Lux­em­bourg achetait un domaine que les moines amé­nageaient et qu’ils appelaient “Höhen­hof”. Immé­di­ate­ment après l’achat qua­tre étangs pis­ci­coles furent amé­nagés; en 1720 un cinquième étang fut ajouté. La ferme restait aux mains des moines pen­dant qua­tre siè­cles jusqu’à ce qu’elle fut ven­due aux enchères pen­dant la Révo­lu­tion française comme pro­priété nationale.

Une des dernières images du “Heit­er­shof” avant qu’il ne cède à l’extension de l’aéroport.

L’ancien étang du “Höhen­hof”

En 1860 l’entreprise Ellis et Philip­part s’est appro­prié le domaine. Les Belges y instal­lèrent une grande dis­til­lerie. C’est à cette époque que le château fut érigé. Il ser­vait de bâti­ment pour la direc­tion. Le domaine changea plusieurs fois de pro­prié­taire avant d’être acheté en 1970 par la société “Hôtel Aéro­golf” qui l’a démoli pour y con­stru­ire un hôtel mod­erne.

Le château “Höhen­hof” à la place duquel a été érigé l’hôtel Sher­a­ton.

Au début des années qua­tre-vingts du 20ème siè­cle le “Fran­zosen­grund” fut rem­blayé, la piste d’atterrissage fut pro­longée.

RetourSuite