The Chapel of Rameldange

PreviousNext

Ter­rain sec­tion of the “Char­ly” rail­way, today the cycling trail Lux­em­bourg-Echter­nach.

At this place the site had been deeply cut in order to pre­pare the ground for the rail­way. Not far from here in the “rue Helen­ter” a lit­tle chapel, erect­ed in mem­o­ry of the local priest Jean Bap­tiste Laplume (1797–1869), had been con­struct­ed on order of his fol­low­er, the priest Th. Schiltz. The priest Laplume had been killed at this very same place by a cupid young mili­tia.

At the age of 26, the young priest Laplume had been ordained. He first had been a curate in Schouweil­er, then lat­er priest in Dip­pach and up from 1843 priest in Hostert. Dur­ing his man­date the new church in Hostert had been con­struct­ed and he was also very active in com­ple­ment­ing the doc­u­men­ta­tion about the roman exca­va­tions in the com­mu­ni­ty.

Jos Fis­ch­er is the name of the artist who cre­at­ed the lit­tle memo­r­i­al. He also cre­at­ed the tomb­stone of the priest Laplume at old the Hostert ceme­tery.

The cru­ci­fix­ion scene

The grace­ful con­struc­tion had been erect­ed on the slight­ly ele­vat­ed slope. Its nar­row front side is fin­ish­ing on a point­ed gable. The wall below is open­ing in form of a tre­foil goth­ic arch and allows a glimpse into the semi dark vestry. Here, above the stone altar, you can see a cru­ci­fix­ion scene, show­ing Jesus, Mary and St.John. In the vault you can still find the traces of an old pic­ture, once show­ing prob­a­bly the fir­ma­ment.

The memo­r­i­al tablet of the mur­dered priest Jean Bap­tiste Laplume

Anton Erns­dorff join­ery

The memo­r­i­al tablet on the inte­ri­or right side of the build­ing had been com­posed by a friend of the priest.He com­pares the trag­ic des­tiny of the priest to the ago­nies of the cru­ci­fied Jesus. Ret­ro­spec­tive­ly Ramel­dan­ge can be con­sid­ered as a vil­lage with an old tra­di­tion in hand­i­craft. Besides join­ery or sculp­ture, the linen weavers craft had always marked the vil­lage. The street name “Rham”, mean­ing the frame of the loom goes back to this tra­di­tion.

PreviousNext

La chapelle à Rameldange

RetourSuite

Coupe de ter­rain pour le “Char­ly”. Aujourd’hui s’y situe la piste cyclable Lux­em­bourg-Echter­nach.

A cet endroit, le ter­rain fut pré­paré pour le tracé du “Char­ly”. A prox­im­ité, dans la rue Helen­ter, se trou­ve une petite chapelle, érigée à la mémoire du curé Jean Bap­tiste Laplume (1797–1869). Elle fut con­stru­ite sur l’ordre de son suc­cesseur Th. Schütz, à l’endroit même où le curé avait été assas­s­iné par un jeune mili­cien cupi­de.

A vingt-six ans, le curé Laplume fut ordon­né prêtre. D’abord il fut vicaire à Schouweil­er, puis curé à Dip­pach et à par­tir de l’année 1843, à Hostert. Pen­dant la durée de son man­dat, la nou­velle église fut con­stru­ite. En plus, il fai­sait beau­coup pour la doc­u­men­ta­tion des décou­vertes romaines dans notre com­mune.

Mon­sieur Jos. Fis­ch­er est le réal­isa­teur du lieu com­mé­moratif. Il était aus­si l’auteur du lieu de sépul­ture du curé Laplume sur l’ancien cimetière de Hostert.

Scène de cru­ci­fix­ion dans la chapelle

Plaque com­mé­mora­tive en sou­venir du curé assas­s­iné Jean Bap­tiste Laplume

Légère­ment élevée, la con­struc­tion gracile a été érigée dans la pente. Sa façade étroite est achevée par un pignon aigu. En-dessous s’ouvre le mur sous forme d’un arc goth­ique à ouver­ture trilobée. Il ouvre le regard sur l’intimité de la salle de prière demi-obscure. Ici, au-dessus de l’autel en pierre, se trou­ve la scène de cru­ci­fix­ion réu­nis­sant Jésus-Christ, la Vierge Marie et Saint Jean. La voûte fait appa­raître les traces d’une anci­en­nepein­ture, mon­trant vraisem­blable­ment le fir­ma­ment. Sur la cloi­son du côté droite se situe une plaque com­mé­mora­tive dont le chrono­gramme fut rédigé par un ami du défunt. Il met le des­tin du curé assas­s­iné en rela­tion avec la pas­sion de Jésus-Christ.

Ramel­dan­ge peut con­sid­ér­er rétro­spec­tive­ment une longue tra­di­tion arti­sanale. A côté des menuisiers (pho­to en haut: menuis­erie Anton Erns­dorff) ou sculp­teurs, c’étaient avant tout les tis­seurs de lin qui mar­quaient la local­ité. Le nom de la “rue du Rham” rap­pelle leur activ­ité. Ain­si le mot “Rham” indique le bâti du méti­er à tiss­er.

RetourSuite