The Oak- and European Hornbeam forest

PreviousNext

06_NA_EH (7)Oak- and Euro­pean Horn­beam woods can be found on very dif­fer­ent soils. How­ev­er they grow more eas­i­ly on the heavy and fer­tile soil of the Ösling val­leys or the heavy clay soils of the late Tri­as­sic land­scapes of the Gut­land.

With its mul­ti lay­er struc­ture and the rich under­brush the “Grousse­bësch”, a typ­i­cal oak- and Euro­pean Horn­beam wood, belongs to one of the rich­est in species for­est besides the ripar­i­an zone and swamp woods.

Upper layer

06_NA_EH (9) 06_NA_EH (15) 06_NA_EH (8)
Beech Pen­dun­cu­late Oak Ash tree

In the upper lay­er there are most­ly high trunk oaks, which are not spend­ing too much shad­ow and deliv­er­ing a high qual­i­ty tim­ber. There are also some beech­es and ash trees mixed with the oaks. In the “Grousse­bësch” how­ev­er the pro­por­tion of beech­es is obvi­ous­ly high­er.

Middle layer

06_NA_EH (10)

Euro­pean Horn­beam

In the mid­dle lay­er you can find the species spend­ing more shad­ow, with a high cop­pic­ing capac­i­ty, like the Euro­pean Horn­beam and the lime tree. Hazel­nut, hawthorn, buck­thorn and Euro­pean spin­dle are form­ing, togeth­er with oth­er shrubs the under­brush.

Shrub layer

06_NA_EH (11) 06_NA_EH (12) 06_NA_EH (13) 06_NA_EH (14)
Hawthorn Buck­thorn Hazel­nut Euro­pean spin­dle

Herb layer

06_NA_EH (16) 06_NA_EH (17) 06_NA_EH (18) 06_NA_EH (19)
Wood anemone Yel­low Archangel Less­er celandine Wald­veilchen

In the ear­ly spring, when the oaks have not yet opened their leaf, the wood anemone, vio­lets, less­er celandine and oth­er her­by weeds trans­form the wood ground into a beau­ti­ful car­pet of spring flow­er­ing plants.

Dur­ing cen­turies the farm­ers did fat­ten their cat­tle on the wood pas­tures of the oak- and Euro­pean Horn­beam forests. Today only remains of this form of for­est still exist, because peo­ple did clear ever more the woods in order to use the ground for agri­cul­ture.

The habitat : Oak- and European Hornbeam wood

06_NA_EH (6) 06_NA_EH (4) 06_NA_EH (5) 06_NA_EH (3)
Sala­man­der Stag bee­tle Long­horn bee­tle Pur­ple Hair­streak

This habi­tat has a spe­cial impor­tance for nature pro­tec­tion. Because it is offer­ing dif­fer­ent light con­di­tions and because of its mul­ti-lay­er struc­ture, many species from fau­na and flo­ra are able to devel­op and live in these small micro cli­mates this kind of wood­land is offer­ing.

06_NA_EH (2) 06_NA_EH (21) 06_NA_EH (1) 06_NA_EH (20)
Eurasian Nuthatch Short-toed Treecreep­er Less­er Spot­ted Wood­peck­er Eurasian Spar­rowhawk

PreviousNext

La chênaie-charmaie

RetourSuite

06_NA_EH (7)On retrou­ve les chê­naies-char­maies sur des sols très var­iés, sou­vent sur les sols lourds et fer­tiles des plaines allu­viales. Ce sont donc les val­lées de l’Oesling ain­si que les sols lourds et argileux du Keu­per et du Lias au Gut­land qui comptent par­mi les espaces vitaux naturels de la chê­naie-char­maie au Lux­em­bourg.

C’est grâce à sa struc­ture à plusieurs étages et son tail­lis très diver­si­fié que la chê­naie-char­maie au «Grousse­bësch» compte pour notre paysage, aux côtés des forêts riveraines et des forêts à eaux stag­nantes, par­mi les types de forêt les plus rich­es en espèces.

Étage supérieur

06_NA_EH (9) 06_NA_EH (15) 06_NA_EH (8)
Hêtre Chêne pédon­culé Frêne

A l’étage supérieur on retrou­ve avant tout des chênes four­nissant peu d’ombre mais du bois d’ouvrage à mul­ti­ple util­i­sa­tion. On y incor­pore par­fois des hêtres et des frênes isolés. Au «Grousse­bësch» la part en hêtres est toute­fois beau­coup plus impor­tante.

Étage inférieur

06_NA_EH (10)

Charme

En ce qui con­cerne l’étage moyen on y retrou­ve plutôt des espèces à un impor­tant rejet de souche, sup­por­t­ant l’ombre, comme p.ex. le charme et le tilleul. Noiseti­er, aubépine, bour­daine, fusain d’Europe for­ment en asso­ci­a­tion avec d’autres espèces d’arbustes le sous-étage.

Étage arbustif

06_NA_EH (11) 06_NA_EH (12) 06_NA_EH (13) 06_NA_EH (14)
Aubépine Bour­daine Noiseti­er Fusain d’Europe

Etage herbace

06_NA_EH (16) 06_NA_EH (17) 06_NA_EH (18) 06_NA_EH (19)
Ané­mone des bois Lami­er jaune Ficaire fausse renon­cule Vio­lette-des-bois

Tôt au print­emps, quand les chênes n’ont pas encore bour­geon­né, le sol foresti­er se trans­forme en tapis dense à flo­rai­son print­anière d’anémones des bois, de vio­lettes, de ficaires fausse renon­cule et d’autres plantes herbacées sauvages.

Au cours des siè­cles, les paysans con­duisirent le bétail dans la chê­naie-char­maie (pâturage boisé) pour l’engraissement. De nos jours, on ne retrou­ve que des ves­tiges de ce type de forêt, suite aux défriche­ments des forêts, de l’urbanisation et de l’utilisation de ces espaces à des fins d’activité agri­cole.

L’habitat de la chênaie-charmaie à chêne pédonculé

06_NA_EH (6) 06_NA_EH (4) 06_NA_EH (5) 06_NA_EH (3)
Sala­man­dre Lucane cerf volant Grand capri­corne
du chêne
Thé­cla du chêne

En tant qu’habitat, la chê­naie-char­maie a une impor­tance toute par­ti­c­ulière en ce qui con­cerne la pro­tec­tion de la nature. Con­traire­ment aux forêts cathé­drales des asso­ci­a­tions d’hêtraies pau­vres en espèces, la chê­naie-char­maie offre, par sa richesse en espèces, sa struc­ture à plusieurs étages, les con­di­tions d’ombre et de lumière changeantes mais aus­si avec le micro­cli­mat qu’elle crée, un habi­tat impor­tant pour une mul­ti­tude d’espèces de la faune et de la flo­re.

06_NA_EH (2) 06_NA_EH (21) 06_NA_EH (1) 06_NA_EH (20)
Sit­telle torchep­ot Grimpereau
des jardins
Pic épe­ichette Eper­vi­er

RetourSuite