The centre of Niederanven

 PreviousNext

The cen­tre of Nieder­an­ven did change con­sid­er­ably over the years. Most of the old build­ings did loose their ini­tial affec­ta­tion and had been ren­o­vat­ed and recon­struct­ed to pri­vate means, so that their first des­ti­na­tion is no longer iden­ti­fi­able. Some of the hous­es had to get demol­ished in order to enlarge the roads. The streets did how­ev­er change less in their net­work.

13_NA_ZE

01_NA_ZE (3)

 

A20The “Kul­turhaus” in Nieder­an­ven, belong­ing to the Thorn fam­i­ly from 1957 to 1998, had been con­struct­ed by the clerk and munic­i­pal sec­re­tary Mr Matthias Schmit.

01_NA_ZE (6)

 

 

B20The old school house had been restored and became a pri­vate dwelling.

 

01_NA_ZE (5)

 

 

C20In this house there had been a tan­nery until the year 1914.

 

 

01_NA_ZE (4)

 

D20The dairy had been work­ing up to 1941. Today the house serves for pri­vate res­i­dence.

 

13_NA_ZE (11)

 

 

 

E20The old town­hall (1907–1977) had been demol­ished in 1978, in order to enlarge the “route de Trèves”.

 

 

 

 

01_NA_ZE (8)

F20In the 18th cen­tu­ry, Nieder­an­ven gained a spe­cial tourist promi­nence. The phar­ma­cist Rademach­er ran a sort of ther­a­peu­tic bath in a build­ing near the bridge to Ober­an­ven. The land own­er was a cer­tain Mr Sev­erin Bous from Lux­em­bourg City, keep­ing the house as a week-end house. In 1750 Rademach­er rent­ed the house in order to wel­come the spa guests, will­ing to use the med­i­c­i­nal bath. They were also allowed to pray in the annexed chapel.

01_NA_ZE (7)

G20The con­stant grow­ing of the traf­fic and the linked dif­fi­cul­ties, asked for the con­struc­tion of a gen­darmerie sta­tion on the “route de Trèves” (num­ber 213 today) dur­ing the Dutch occu­pa­tion. After the open­ing of the rail­way line Lux­em­bourg-Treves, the road “route de Trèves” lost of its impor­tance and the sta­tion had been relo­cat­ed to Rood-Syr in 1861.

01_NA_ZE (9)

 

 

The enlarged “route de Trèves” today.

 

 

 

PreviousNext

Le centre de Niederanven

 RetourSuite

Au cours de l’histoire, le cen­tre de Nieder­an­ven a changé. Plusieurs immeubles ont per­du leur fonc­tion inti­tiale, ont été trans­for­més extérieure­ment ou amé­nagés en maisons d’habitation si bien que leur util­i­sa­tion d’autrefois n’est plus recon­naiss­able. Quelques maisons ont dû être démolies pour élargir les routes. Par­tielle­ment cepen­dant les rues ont peu changé.

13_NA_ZE

01_NA_ZE (3)

 

A20La mai­son de la cul­ture de Nieder­an­ven qui apparte­nait à la famille Thorn entre 1957 et 1998 a été con­stru­ite en 1854 par le clerc de notaire et sécré­taire com­mu­nal Matthias Schmit.

01_NA_ZE (6)

 

 

B20L’ancienne école fut trans­for­mée et est de nos jours dev­enue une mai­son d’habitation.

 

01_NA_ZE (5)

 

 

C20Jusqu’en 1914 cette mai­son abri­tait une tan­ner­ie.

 

 

01_NA_ZE (4)

 

D20La lai­terie fut exploitée jusqu’en 1941. De nos jours cet immeu­ble sert de mai­son d’habitation.

 

13_NA_ZE (11)

 

 

 

E20L’ancienne mai­son com­mu­nale (1907–1977) a été démolie pour per­me­t­tre l’´élargissement de la route de Trèves.

 

 

01_NA_ZE (8)

 

F20Au 18ème siè­cle Nieder­an­ven con­nut une cer­taine impor­tance touris­tique. Le phar­ma­cien Rademach­er y exploitait un bain médic­i­nal qui se trou­vait prob­a­ble­ment dans un manoir près du pont sur le chemin menant vers Ober­an­ven. Le pro­prié­taire de ce manoir était Sev­erin Bouss, qui habitait la ville de Lux­em­bourg et qui ne venait à Nieder­an­ven que pour se déten­dre. En 1750 Rademach­er louait cette mai­son pour pou­voir y accueil­lir les curistes qui prof­i­taient du bain médic­i­nal. Ces curistes pou­vaient égale­ment dis­pos­er de la chapelle asso­ciée au manoir.

01_NA_ZE (7)

G20Suite à l’augmentation du traf­ic routi­er et aux prob­lèmes qui en résul­taient un poste de gen­darmerie fut amé­nagé au numéro 213 de la route de Trèves pen­dant la dom­i­na­tion hol­landaise. Après l’ouverture de la ligne fer­rovi­aire Lux­em­bourg-Trèves, la route de Trèves per­dait de son impor­tance et ain­si la brigade fut trans­férée à Roodt/Syre en 1861.

01_NA_ZE (9)

 

 

La route de Trèves, élargie — état actuel

 

 

RetourSuite