The St. Martin Monument

PreviousNext

SE_06_SM_2_sThe St.Martin’s mon­u­ment reminds us of a for­mer pre-Chris­t­ian event hap­pen­ing at the loca­tion “Hel­leges­teen” (mean­ing holy stone). he small round build­ing, sim­i­lar to a lit­tle tem­ple, is sit­u­at­ed at the bot­tom of the Sen­ninger­berg on the “rue des Romains”, an old Roman road, lead­ing from Treves to Lux­em­bourg. The open col­umn cir­cle allows a glimpse on the stone stat­ue depict­ing St. Mar­tin. On a cubic pedestal beside the fig­urine of the bish­op is rep­re­sent­ed a lit­tle angel. The sculptor’s (the priest Joseph Bertrang) inscrip­tion is in Latin and refers to St. Martin’s jour­ney to Nieder­an­ven in the year 384.

SE_06_SM_1_s

Inscrip­tion on the pedestal of the mon­u­ment St Mar­tin

The leg­end say­ing that an angel did encour­age the suf­fer­ing saint: “Sanc­tus Mar­t­i­nus afflic­tus angeli lae­ta Con­so­la­tione aerec­tus Con­solectvraf­flic­tos”, mean­ing: St. Mar­tin had been com­fort­ed in his pain by an angel to com­fort the distressed.On the site of the mon­u­ment, sanc­ti­fied in the year 1931, there had been a small chapel until the 17th cen­tu­ry. The altar block had been trans­ferred to the chapel of Sen­nin­gen and for the fol­low­ing decen­cies a sim­ple wood­en cru­ci­fix marked the holy site.

SE_06_SM_s

View from the “Hel­leges­teen”

From the “Hel­leges­teen” you have a beau­ti­ful view over the land­scape. His­tor­i­cal pic­tures show the old view on Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven and the steep affer­ent “rue du Kiem”.

SE_06_SM_5_s

The old steep con­nec­tion road between Sen­ninger­berg and Sen­nin­gen, part­ly still with its cob­ble­stones pave­ment.

This old con­nec­tion between Sen­ninger­berg and Nieder­an­ven was already inte­grat­ed into the Roman road net­work. The old “Kieme” (mean­ing paths) were part of a for­ti­fi­ca­tion sys­tem, allow­ing to the Roman sol­diers to trans­port effec­tive­ly their bag­gage and war mate­r­i­al.

SE_06_SM_6_s SE_06_SM_4_s

The “Kiem” com­ing from Arlon, crossed the actu­al City of Lux­em­bourg and Pfaf­fen­thal, con­tin­ued over the “Weimer­shof” and lead on its way up to the actu­al high­way on the Sen­ninger­berg. From there it steeply went down into the val­ley of Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven.

SE_06_SM_3_s

Old view from the “Hel­leges­teen” on the “rue du Kiem” and Nieder­an­ven

Lat­er on a new con­nec­tion road between Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven was then con­struct­ed as an alter­na­tive to the old steep way. The new “route de Trèves”, also run­ning along the slope to Sen­ninger­berg, allows with its ser­pen­tines a longer but eas­i­er trip than before. A splen­did row of chest­nut trees had been set up on both sides of the road, spend­ing an effec­tive pro­tec­tion from sun and rain to the old trans­porters and their hors­es.

SE_06_SM_9_s SE_06_SM_8_s SE_06_SM_7_s

Chest­nut Avenue — Dur­ing the World War II some trees had been felled by Ger­man sol­diers in order to slow down the Amer­i­can advance. After the war the trees had been replaced.

PreviousNext

Le monument de St. Martin

RetourSuite

SE_06_SM_2_sLe mon­u­ment St. Mar­tin nous rap­pelle un événe­ment de l’ère pré-chré­ti­enne sur le “Hel­leges­teen”. Le petit édi­fice rond, sem­blable à un petit tem­ple, se trou­ve au pied du Sen­ninger­berg dans la “Rue des Romains”, une vieille route romaine, qui reli­ait Lux­em­bourg à Trèves. Le pour­tour de colonnes ouvert per­met une vue sur la stat­ue en pierre de St. Mar­tin. La fig­ure d’évêque, accom­pa­g­née d’un petit ange, est posée en grandeur nature sur un piédestal en forme de cube. L’inscription  faite par le créa­teur du mon­u­ment, le curé Joseph Bertrang, est en latin et se réfère au séjour de St. Mar­tin dans le voisi­nage d’Andethanna (Nieder­an­ven), dont existe un témoignage de l’année 384.

SE_06_SM_1_s

Inscrip­tion sur le piédestal du mon­u­ment St. Mar­tin

D’après la légende, un ange aurait encour­agé le saint souf­frant: “Sanc­tus Mar­t­i­nus afflic­tus angeli lae­ta Con­so­la­tione aerec­tus Con­so­letvraf­flic­tos” (“St. Mar­tin récon­forté dans son afflic­tion par un ange, con­sole les affligés”). Sur le site du mon­u­ment con­sacré en 1931, se trou­vait une chapelle jusqu’au 17 ième siè­cle. La pierre d’autel fut trans­fer­ée dans la chapelle de Sen­nin­gen. Dans les décen­nies qui suiv­aient une sim­ple croix de bois mar­quait le lieu saint.

SE_06_SM_s

Vue du “Hel­leges­teen”

Une vaste vue s’étend du “Hel­leges­teen” sur le paysage. Des pho­tos his­toriques témoignent encore de la vue de jadis sur Sen­nin­gen et Nieder­an­ven et sur la mon­tée abrupte de la “Rue du Kiem”.

SE_06_SM_5_s

La vieille et abrupte route de con­nex­ion (Ale We) entre Sen­ninger­berg et Senningen/Niederanven avec encore en par­tie, l’ancien revête­ment en pavés

Cette anci­enne route de liai­son entre Sen­ninger­berg et Nieder­an­ven était déjà inté­grée dans le réseau routi­er au temps des Romains. Les grands “Kieme” apparte­naient à un sys­tème de for­ti­fi­ca­tion, qui per­me­t­tait un trans­port rapi­de des bagages et du matériel de guerre aux troupes romaines.

SE_06_SM_6_s SE_06_SM_4_s

Le “Kiem” venant d’Arlon, tra­ver­sait le ter­ri­toire actuel de la ville de Lux­em­bourg, le “Pfaf­fen­thal” et puis mon­tait vers le “Weimer­shof” pour finir, tou­jours en mon­tant, le long de l’autoroute actuelle, au Sen­ninger­berg. C’est de là qu’il descendait abrupte­ment dans la val­lée vers Sen­nin­gen et Nieder­an­ven.

SE_06_SM_3_s

Anci­enne vue du “Hel­leges­teen” sur la “Rue du Kiem” et sur Nieder­an­ven

Une nou­velle route de liai­son a été con­stru­ite entre Sen­ninger­berg et Nieder­an­ven. C’est l’alternative au chemin très abrupt util­isé jadis. Avec la nou­velle “route de Trèves”, qui longe égale­ment la pente du Sen­ninger­berg, on prof­ite d’une route plus longue et plus ser­pen­tée, certes, mais moins abrupte. On a plan­té une allée de châ­taig­niers splen­dide le long de cette nou­velle route, qui offrait aux char­retiers et à leurs chevaux une pro­tec­tion effi­cace lors des intem­péries extrêmes.

SE_06_SM_9_s SE_06_SM_8_s SE_06_SM_7_s

L’allée des Châ­taig­niers” dans la “Rue de Trèves”. Pen­dant la deux­ième guerre mon­di­ale quelques arbres ont été abat­tus par les sol­dats alle­mands pour frein­er l’avancée des Améri­cains. Les arbres furent rem­placés après la guerre.

RetourSuite