Flood plains – once and today

PreviousNext

50 years ago the allu­vial land­scape between Ober­an­ven and Nieder­an­ven was marked by near­ly untouched brook sides. The very low incline of the site pro­voked that the local brooks (Staflick and Bouneschbach) began to mean­der and con­stant­ly over­flew at flood­ing time.

Prob­a­ble sight of the for­mer allu­vial land­scape

The flood waters slow­ly changed this site into an extend­ed wet­land. The soil, rich in clay, favourites the water stag­na­tion trans­form­ing the pas­tures into wet grass­lands which since ever had been very use­ful in agri­cul­ture. The typ­i­cal wet­land veg­e­ta­tion with the typ­i­cal canary grass­es like the reed plant, the reed-canary grass or the Typhaceae grass was sign­ing this flood­plain.

On the famous Fer­raris map, you can see that there was no direct link between Ober­an­ven and Nieder­an­ven. Because of the swampy char­ac­ter of the ground, only one road, cross­ing the vil­lage of Hostert and one path over the Bouneschbach brook was con­nect­ing the two vil­lages.

Remain­ders of the typ­i­cal allu­vial veg­e­ta­tion of once at the edge of the Staflick brook.

In order to gain more agri­cul­tur­al land, the brooks had been canal­ized and the wet­land dried up by set­ting drainage lines. Lat­er on, the dried zone had been trans­formed into a social site, where the school cen­tre “Am Sand”, the res­i­den­tial homes for elder­ly “Cipa” and the cen­tre for cul­ture and leisure “Loisi” had been built. By this same oppor­tu­ni­ty a new road, link­ing Nieder­an­ven with Ober­an­ven, bor­dered with dif­fer­ent oth­er con­struc­tions had been con­struct­ed.

If you have a look on the old maps and com­pare them with the sit­u­a­tion of today, you can observe that the brooks had not only been straight­ened, but that they com­plete­ly changed their course in the way that the con­flu­ence of the Staflick and the Bouneschbach had been trans­ferred to the route de Trèves.

Actu­al agri­cul­tur­al use of the zone between the two brooks in form of pas­tures.

The place called “Laach”, a word appear­ing in many local names in Lux­em­bourg, means “swamp” and is used here for the road, con­nect­ing Ober­an­ven with Nieder­an­ven, recall­ing by its name the for­mer char­ac­ter of the land­scape.

 

PreviousNext

Les ruisseaux marquent le paysage

RetourSuite

Il y a 50 ans, il exis­tait entre les local­ités d’Oberanven et de Nieder­an­ven un paysage allu­vial for­mé par des ruis­seaux et à peine influ­encé par l’homme. La faible incli­nai­son du ter­rain engendrait la créa­tion de méan­dres des cours d’eau appelés Staflick et Bouneschbaach. En rai­son de ce ser­pen­te­ment, les deux ruis­seaux étaient en crue et débor­daient de leurs rives.

Aspect éventuel du paysage allu­vial d’autrefois

Se répé­tant régulière­ment, les inon­da­tions ont créé une zone humide spa­cieuse: le long des ruis­seaux Staflick et Bouneschbaach, sur les sols argileux et favorisant la stag­na­tion d’eau, se répandaient des prairies marécageuses, exploitées de manière exten­sive par l´homme. Une végé­ta­tion typ­ique se com­posant de can­naies, comme par exem­ple le roseau, l’alpiste roseau et la mas­sette, don­nait son empreinte au paysage.

Sur la carte du comte de Fer­raris, on con­state qu’il n’y a pas eu de voie de rac­corde­ment direct entre Ober­an­ven et Nieder­an­ven. A cause du car­ac­tère marécageux du ter­rain, seul une route menant à tra­vers le vil­lage de Hostert et un chemin tra­ver­sant le ruis­seau Bouneschbaach reli­aient les deux vil­lages.

Reli­quat de la végé­ta­tion typ­ique du paysage allu­vial aux bor­ds du ruis­seau “Staflick”

Afin de gag­n­er de la sur­face cul­tivable, les ruis­seaux ont été canal­isés et la zone humide a été asséchée par le biais de drainages. Plus tard, la zone asséchée a été amé­nagée et y ont été con­stru­its entre autres l’école “Im Sand”, la mai­son de retraite et le cen­tre cul­turel ain­si qu’une route directe reliant Nieder­an­ven et Ober­an­ven, bor­dée de part et d’autres de con­struc­tions.

En com­para­nt d’anciennes cartes à la carte topographique actuelle, on con­state que les ruis­seaux n’ont pas seule­ment été ren­dus rec­tilignes, mais que leurs cours ont égale­ment été changés. Le con­flu­ent du Staflick et du Bouneschbaach a été trans­féré en direc­tion de la route de Trèves.

Exploita­tion actuelle sous forme de pâturage entre les ruis­seaux Staflick et Bouneschbaach

Le lieu-dit appelé “Laach”, mot ren­con­tré fréquem­ment au Lux­em­bourg et qui se retrou­ve encore aujourd’hui dans le nom de la “rue Laach” reliant Ober- et Nieder­an­ven, désigne un ter­rain marécageux. Il indique l’aspect du paysage allu­vial d’autrefois.

 

 

RetourSuite