Settlements in the Grünewald

PreviousNext

Stafelter”

Staf­fel­stein” was situa­ted on the impor­tant Roman road Nie­der­an­ven (Ande­thana) – Ech­ter­nach.

At a junc­tion, in the mid­dle of the Grünewald, there where the ter­ri­to­ries of the three adja­cent com­mu­ni­ties (Nieder­an­ven, Walfer­dan­ge and Stein­sel) come togeth­er, there you can find the “Staffel­stein”. Exact­ly at that place had always been stand­ing a huge stone, in form of a table, where once all juris­tic mat­ters had been dis­cussed.

This fact gave its name to this place (“Staffel­stein” mean­ing stack stone). That was the denom­i­na­tion of those sites where all kinds of goods had been trad­ed.

For a long time the “Café Sta­fel­ter” was a very popu­lar tou­ris­tic place.

This fact would jus­ti­fy per­fect­ly the posi­tion of this stone table at the bor­der of the impor­tant roman road (Dom­mel­dan­ge, Staffel­stein, Schet­zel­bour, Junglin­ster, Altri­er, Echter­nach). The old­est indi­ca­tion of a house or a farm on this site can be found in the old reports of the Admin­is­tra­tion of the Grand-Duke’s prop­er­ties, dat­ed 1889. The house had once been used as the forester’s dwelling, at the ser­vice of the Grand-Duke. Lat­er on it has been trans­formed into an inn.

The “Sta­fel­ter” before and after its resto­ra­tion in 2012

Waldhaff”

The name of “Berrjer”, old denom­i­na­tion of the Wald­hof, is near­ly for­got­ten today. “Berrjer” meant bar­ri­er. Here, until the 20th cen­tu­ry, a kind of cus­tom duty had to be paid (such cus­toms had to be paid every 5 km in those days).

The farm of the “Wald­haff” had been con­struct­ed in the year 1764. On the orig­i­nal Land reg­is­ter from 1824 it had been reg­is­trat­ed as the “Pesca­tores Farm” with its own­er Guil­laume Pesca­tores.

Nowa­days the “Wald­haff” shel­ters a part of the Water and For­est Admi­nis­tra­tion.

The “Café Wald­haff” past and pre­sent

Bëschhaus”

The old “Bëschhaus” (mean­ing for­est house), served for a long time as the dwelling for the for­est work­ers. After its ren­o­va­tion it became the scout’s home.

The “Bësch­haus” past and pre­sent

Brennerei”

The atten­tive wal­ker can dis­co­ver even today the ruins of a for­mer distil­lery at the place cal­led “Bren­ne­rei”.
(point A on the map)

 

 

PreviousNext

Siedlungen im Grünewald

ZurückWeiter

Stafelter”

Staf­fel­stein” lag an der wich­ti­gen römi­schen Straße Nie­der­an­ven (Ande­thana) – Ech­ter­nach

An ein­er Wegekreuzung inmit­ten des Grünewaldes, dort, wo die drei Gemein­den Nieder­an­ven, Walfer­din­gen und Stein­sel aneinan­dertr­e­f­fen, liegt der “Staffel­stein”. An dieser Stelle befand sich ein Stein in Tis­chform, an dem einst die Rechtsver­hält­nisse geregelt wor­den sein sollen. Dieser Stein, “Staffel­stein” genan­nt, gab der Kreuzung möglicher­weise ihren Namen.

Eine andere Deu­tungsmöglichkeit ergibt sich, wenn man “Staffel” auf den Begriff “Stapel” zurück­führt; dem­nach wäre der “Stafel­ter” ein “Stapel­stein oder -platz”. So beze­ich­nete man die Orte, an denen Waren gehan­delt wur­den.

Lange galt die Wirt­schaft “Zum Staf­fel­stein” als belieb­tes Aus­flugs­ziel.

Dies würde der Lage von Staffel­stein an ein­er wichti­gen vor­römis­chen Straße (Dom­meldin­gen, Staffel­stein, Schet­zel­bur, Junglin­ster, Altri­er, Echter­nach) gerecht wer­den. Der älteste Hin­weis auf ein Haus bzw. einen Hof am Staffel­stein stammt aus ein­er Ein­tra­gung der “Admin­is­tra­tion des biens de la cour grand-ducale Lux­em­bourg” aus dem Jahr 1889. Das Haus am Staffel­stein war früher Wohn­sitz eines in den Dien­sten des Großher­zogs ste­hen­den Försters und beherbergte später ein Wirtshaus.

Der “Sta­fel­ter” vor und nach sei­ner Restau­rie­rung 2012

Waldhaff”

Der Name “Berrjer”, die frühere Beze­ich­nung des Wald­hofs, ist heute weitest­ge­hend in Vergessen­heit ger­at­en. “Berrjer” soll eigentlich “Bar­rière” heißen. Hier wurde bis ins 20. Jahrhun­dert hinein der Wege­zoll erhoben, der alle 5 km fäl­lig war.

Der Bauern­hof am “Wald­haff” wurde 1764 errichtet. Im Urkataster von 1824 ist er als “Pesca­tores-Hof” einge­tra­gen, als Besitzer wird Guil­laume Pesca­tores genan­nt.

Heute ist der Wald­haff Sitz eines Teils der Forst­ver­wal­tung.

Das “Café Wald­haff”, frü­her und heute

Bëschhaus”

Das alte Bëschhaus diente lange Jahre als Wohn­sitz von Wal­dar­beit­ern. Nach ein­er Ren­ovierung wird es als Pfadfind­er­heim genutzt.

Das “Bësch­haus” frü­her und heute

Brennerei”

Wer gut hin­sieht, kann auch heute noch die Ruine ein­er alten Schnaps­bren­ne­rei am Ort “Bren­ne­rei” ent­de­cken.
(Punkt A auf der Karte)

ZurückWeiter