Senningerberg

PreviousNext

Impor­tant build­ings in Sen­ninger­berg

Until approx­i­ma­tive­ly 1900, the vil­lage of Seninger­berg had very few inhab­i­tants (less than 100 with 22 dwellings and the 4 farms Höhen­hof, Parishof, Fran­zosen­grund and Mün­ster­hof. Short­ly after this date the con­stant growth of the pop­u­la­tion rate began and in 1982 the num­ber of inhab­i­tants had passed from 95 in 1900 to 1111 per­sons.

Station_s

SE_05_SB01_1

The old rail­way sta­tion of the sta­tion of Sen­nin­gen hard­ly before its demo­li­tion. Today the new water tow­er is here.

The con­struc­tion of the rail­way “Char­ly” had a very impor­tant role. The nar­row rail­way, active from 1904 until 1954 on the way between Lux­em­bourg City and Echter­nach facil­i­tat­ed con­sid­er­ably the con­nec­tion to Lux­em­bourg City for the inhab­i­tants. Sen­nin­gen had its own sta­tion, con­struct­ed at Sen­ninger­berg.

SE_05_SB09_2

The Scham­bourg-Quar­ry, a local quar­ry pro­vid­ing the stone bricks for the con­struc­tion of the “Char­ly” rail­way.







Sen­ninger­berg devel­op­ing quick­ly around this rail­way and spread­ing its dwellings up to the old quar­ry “Grom­scheed”. Until the mid­dle of the 20th cen­tu­ry many oth­er quar­ries had been run in this area, feed­ing most of the pop­u­la­tion.

SE_05_SB06_s

The old Scham­bourg prop­er­ty in the rue du Bois, reg­is­tered office of the Scham­bourg-Quar­ry.

SE_05_SB10_s

In front of the demol­ished sta­tion stood the hotel-restau­rant “Sta­tion Sen­nin­gen”. Dur­ing decades this build­ing served for gas­tro­nom­ic use (Café Wiltz­ius, hotel-restau­rant Tonar).


After the shut-down of the “Char­ly” rail­way, the Sen­ni­gen sta­tion was demol­ished, but the old “Café de la Gare” could be pre­served until nowa­days.

Anoth­er his­toric build­ing had been the inn “Stom­parm”, once in front of the old sta­tion and prob­a­bly the first house   of Sen­ninger­berg.

SE_05_06_SB07_s

The growth of the vil­lage asked for new infra­struc­tures: old and new water tow­er.









The con­stant growth of the pop­u­la­tion at the begin­ning of the 20th cen­tu­ry asked for many mod­erni­sa­tion mea­sures. In 1916–17 a new water sup­ply net had been installed and one year lat­er the old water tow­er was con­struct­ed. Lat­er, on the site of the demol­ished rail­way sta­tion and rails the SEBES installed the new water con­duits and built the new water tow­er called “mush­room” because of its shape.



The Loret­to Chapel

SE_05_SB03_s

The Loret­to Chapel, built in 1947 had been trans­formed into a mul­ti­func­tion­al pub­lic com­mu­ni­ty cen­tre in 2001.

The Loret­to Chapel, sym­bol of ener­gy and com­mit­ment of the inhab­i­tants, was con­struct­ed in 1947 under the man­age­ment of the local priest Mis­ter Jos Biw­er. This small house of God got a real lit­tle bell tow­er, a beau­ti­ful front side ornat­ed with the sand­stone bricks of the old wash­ing well. The lit­tle bell had been offered by Mis­ter Lucien Lam­ort had been the for­mer bell of the Sen­nin­gen paper fac­to­ry. On the 12 octo­ber 1947, the chapel “Notre Dame de Loret­to” had been con­se­crat­ed to the patron saint of the avi­a­tors and flight pas­sen­gers. In 2001 the chapel was trans­formed into a mul­ti­func­tion­al pub­lic pub­lic com­mu­ni­ty cen­tre.

There is anoth­er old chapel in the rue des Romains, con­se­crat­ed to the Madon­na. It had been con­struct­ed in 1911 in a neo-goth­ic style by Mis­ter Nico­las Adam.

SE_05_SB05_s

The old school house, inau­gu­rat­ed in 1958 today servers as a kinder­gar­den.

The old school of Sen­ninger­berg, built in 1958 at the right side of the Loret­to Chapel is worth a vis­it. It had been used until the new school cen­tre “Am Sand” had been fin­ished.
The old rail­way sta­tion in Sen­nin­gen short­ly before its demo­li­tion. Today the water tow­er occu­pies this site.




PreviousNext

Senningerberg

ZurückWeiter

Wichtige Gebäude auf Sen­ninger­berg

Bis etwa 1900 war der hochgele­gene Ort mit weniger als 100 Ein­wohn­ern, 22 Häusern und 4 Gut­shöfen — dem Parishof, dem Mün­ster­hof, dem Fran­zosen­grund und dem Höhen­hof — nur schwach besiedelt. Nicht lange danach set­zte der stetige Auf­stieg der Ortschaft ein. Zwis­chen 1900 und 1982 verze­ich­nete die Sta­tis­tik ein Anwach­sen der Ein­wohn­erzahl von 95 auf 1111 Per­so­n­en.Station_s

SE_05_SB01_1

Das alte Bahn­hof­s­ge­bäude der Sta­tion Sen­nin­gen kurz vor dem Abriss. Heute ste­ht hier der Sebes Wasser­turm.

Keinen gerin­gen Anteil an diesem Auf­schwung hat­te der Bau des “Char­ly”, die Schmal­spur­bahn, die zwis­chen 1904 und 1954 auf der Strecke Lux­em­burg-Echter­nach in Betrieb war und den Ein­wohn­ern die Verbindung zur Haupt­stadt wesentlich erle­ichterte. Sen­nin­gen erhielt einen eige­nen Bahn­hof, der auf dem Sen­ninger­berg errichtet wurde.

SE_05_SB09_2

Stein­bruch Scham­bourg — ein­er der vie­len Stein­brüche am Ort. Seine Steine wur­den zum Bau des “Char­ly” ver­wen­det.


Um diesen Knoten­punkt herum entwick­elte sich der Ort ras­ant und dehnte sich auch auf das Gebi­et des ehe­ma­li­gen Stein­bruchs “Grom­scheed” aus. Bis Mitte des 20. Jahrhun­derts waren auf dem Sen­ninger­berg mehrere große Stein­brüche in Betrieb und viele Ein­wohn­er der Gegend ver­di­en­ten dort ihren Leben­sun­ter­halt.

SE_05_SB06_s

Pro­pri­eté Scham­bourg in der “Rue du Bois” — Sitz der Stein­bruchbe­sitzer­fam­i­lie Scham­bourg

SE_05_SB10_s

Gegenüber dem abgeris­se­nen Bahn­hof­s­ge­bäude lag das Gasthaus “Sta­tion Sen­nin­gen”. Über Jahrzehnte hin­weg waren hier ver­schiedene Gas­tronomiebe­triebe unterge­bracht (z.B. Café Wiltz­ius, Hotel-Restau­rant Ton­nar).




Nach der Stil­l­le­gung des “Char­ly” wurde das Bahn­hof­s­ge­bäude der “Sta­tion Sen­nin­gen” abgeris­sen. Bis heute erhal­ten hat sich hinge­gen das “Café de la Gare”. Ein weit­eres his­torisches Gebäude war das Gasthaus “Stom­parm”, das sich einst gegenüber dem ehe­ma­li­gen Bahn­hof­s­ge­bäude befand. Es gilt als das erste Haus auf Sen­ninger­berg.

SE_05_06_SB07_s

Mit dem Ort wuchs die Infra­struk­tur — alter und neuer Wasser­turm








Durch das stetige Anwach­sen der Bevölkerung seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhun­derts waren mod­ernisierende Maß­nah­men erforder­lich gewor­den. 1916–17 wur­den die Wasser­leitun­gen ver­legt, ein Jahr später wurde der alte Wasser­turm errichtet. Über dem niedergelegten Bahn­hofs-gebäude und den ehe­ma­li­gen Gleisan­la­gen ent­standen zwis­chen 1973 und 1975 die Anla­gen der SEBES-Wasser­leitung sowie der mod­erne Wasser­turm, der wegen sein­er Form auch “der Pilz” genan­nt wird.

Die Loret­to-Kapelle

SE_05_SB03_s

Die 1947 errichtete Loret­to-Kapelle wurde 2001 zur “salle poly­va­lente” umge­baut.

Die Loret­to-Kapelle, Sinnbild der Tatkraft und Ein­satzfreude der Bewohn­er, wurde 1947 auf Ini­tia­tive des Pfar­rers Jos Biw­er errichtet. Das kleine Gotte­shaus, das von einem Glock­en­türm­chen bekrönt wird, erhielt eine Fas­sade aus gehaue­nen Sand­steinen, die aus dem Mauer­w­erk eines ehe­ma­li­gen Waschbrun­nens stam­men. Das von Lucien Lam­ort ges­tiftete Glöckchen für die neue Kapelle hing früher in der Sen­ninger Papier­fab­rik. Am 12. Okto­ber 1947 wurde die Kapelle “Unser­er Lieben Frau von Loret­to”, der Schutz-Patron­in der Flieger und aller Luftreisenden, gewei­ht.

Eine  ältere  Kapelle  existiert  noch  in  der  Rue  des  Romains. Sie ist der Schmerzhaften Gottes­mut­ter gewei­ht und wurde 1911 von  Niko­laus  Adam  im  neu­go­tis­chen  Stil  errichtet.

SE_05_SB05_s

Das ehe­ma­lige, 1958 eingewei­hte Schul­ge­bäude dient heute als Kinder­hort.

Sehenswert ist auch das neben der Loret­to-Kapelle liegende ehe­ma­lige Schul­ge­bäude von Sen­ninger­berg, das 1958 gebaut wurde und in dem bis zum Bau der Zen­tralschule “Am Sand”  unter­richtet  wurde.







ZurückWeiter