The Niederanven mill

  PreviousNext

Niederanven: a mill township

02_NA_NM (2)

The water cas­cade in the Sen­nin­gen brook above the mill, from where the trench led to the mill (blocked today).

Nieder­an­ven is one of the com­mu­ni­ties with the most of mills in Lux­em­bourg. In the begin­ning of the 19th cen­tu­ry, 12 mills were run simul­ta­ne­ous­ly (5 near the Hostert brook and 7 at the brook of Sen­nin­gen). Besides oil seed (ground and squeezed) also paper, cloth and leather was lum­bered and wood­en trunks ser­rat­ed.

Ban mills

The old­est mills (from the begin­nings of the 9th cen­tu­ry) had been the ban mills. The land lords had the right to run the mills and their sub­jects the duty to serve the mill mas­ter and give the prod­ucts to the land­lord. Every con­tempt against this ban law was pun­ished. The mill mas­ter at these times a free and respect­ed per­son, gath­ered the har­vest­ed prod­ucts to hand them over to the land­lord. For this rea­son he had nev­er been very pop­u­lar. In spite of the citizen’s grow­ing resis­tance, this sys­tem had been applied up to the time of the French rev­o­lu­tion, around 1795. After the inva­sion of the French troops, the ban mills had been pri­va­tized.

02_NA_NM (3)

The ban mill from Niederanven

02_NA_NM (1)

The old mill stones from the French Cham­pagne are the only tech­ni­cal left­overs from the old mill.

The first record of the Nieder­an­ven ban mill can be found on doc­u­ments from the 17th cen­tu­ry, but is sup­posed that the mill had been there long before. It had been pow­ered by the brook of Sen­nin­gen (Aal­bach). A small water cas­cade can still be found near the mill. The landown­ers of the site changed often but the most famous was prob­a­bly the phar­ma­cist Rademach­er from Lux­em­bourg City, the same that ran the ther­a­peu­tic bath in Nieder­an­ven. It is rather sure that there had been sev­er­al mill stones (2 made of stone from the French Cham­pagne and one big mill wheel of about 4.50 m diam­e­ter).

Renovation

02_NA_NM (4)

View from 1939 on the mill, short­ly before it stopped its ser­vice.

Around 1940, the mill ser­vice stopped its busi­ness and in 1955 a local farmer bought the site for the pas­tures around the mill. The build­ings degen­er­at­ed and in 1974 the mill had been sold for pri­vate pur­pos­es, which spared him from com­plete destruc­tion and the new own­er, an expert in restor­ing, trans­formed the old ruins into a beau­ti­ful coun­try house.

The St.Lucia Chapel

02_NA_NM (6)On the old land reg­is­ter maps from 1824 you can notice the pres­ence of a chapel, close to the mill on the way out to Müns­bach. It was ded­i­cat­ed to St. Lucia and was sup­posed to be the old­est sanc­tu­ary in Nieder­an­ven.

02_NA_NM (5)

When the new parish church had been con­struct­ed in 1851, the chapel slow­ly degen­er­at­ed and the only wit­ness from these times is the old chan­ti­cleer from the chapel’s tow­er.

The tan mills in Niederanven

As a man­ag­er of the St. Lucia Chapel you can find the name of a cer­tain “Fell­mach­er” (mean­ing fur mak­er), wit­ness­ing that there had also been tan mills in Nieder­an­ven. The pow­er of the water had been used to grind the barks, wood or leaf of the oak trees, rich in tan­nin.

PreviousNext

Die Mühlen in Niederanven

ZurückWeiter

Niederanven: eine Mühlengemeinde

02_NA_NM (2)

Der “Wasser­fall” am Sen­ninger Bach ober­halb der Müh­le. Vom oberen Niveau zweigte der heute ver­schüt­tete Müh­len­graben in Rich­tung Müh­le ab.

Nieder­an­ven zählt zu den Gemein­den mit den meis­ten Mühlen im Land. Anfang des 19. Jahrhun­derts arbeit­eten für einen kurzen Zeitraum zwölf Mühlen gle­ichzeit­ig, davon fünf am Hostert­er und sieben am Sen­ninger Bach. Neben Getrei­de wur­den auch Ölsamen gemahlen (und gepresst), Stoffe und Led­er gewalkt, Papi­er gewalzt und Baum­stämme gesägt.

Bannmühlen

Die ältesten Mühlen, die bis in die Anfänge der Feu­dalzeit im 9. Jh. zurück­ge­hen, waren die Ban­n­mühlen. Die Feu­dal­her­ren hat­ten das Recht, Mühlen zu betreiben, die Unter­ta­nen die Pflicht, diese gegen Abgaben zu benutzen und Fron­di­en­ste für die Müh­le zu leis­ten. Ein Ver­stoß gegen das Ban­nrecht stand unter Strafe. Der ehe­mals freie und ange­se­hene Müller wurde zum Pächter und damit Ban­n­müller, der als Ein­treiber von Abgaben für das Mahlen unbe­liebt war. Das Sys­tem hielt sich in Lux­em­burg trotz aufk­om­mender Wider­stände der Bevölkerung bis zum Ein­marsch der franzö­sis­chen Rev­o­lu­tion­strup­pen im Jahre 1795. Danach wur­den die Ban­n­mühlen pri­vatisiert.

02_NA_NM (3)

Die Bannmühle in Niederanven

02_NA_NM (1)

Die alten Mühlräder aus der Cham­pagne sind das einzige, was von der tech­nis­chen Ausstat­tung noch erhal­ten ist.

Die erste urkundliche Erwäh­nung find­et man im frühen 17. Jh. Es ist aber davon auszuge­hen, dass die Nieder­an­ven­er Müh­le viel älter ist. Sie wurde vom Wass­er des Sen­ninger Bach­es (Aal­bach) angetrieben. Ganz in der Nähe der Müh­le gibt es sog­ar einen Wasser­fall. Mehrfach wech­selte der Besitzer bzw. Pächter. Der bekan­nteste war der Apothek­er Rademach­er aus Lux­em­burg. Über die genaue Ein­rich­tung gibt es keine ver­lässlichen Infor­ma­tio­nen. Wahrschein­lich gab es zwei Mahlgänge mit Steinen aus der Cham­pagne und ein ober­schlächtiges Mühlrad von etwa 4,50 m Durchmess­er.

Restaurierung

02_NA_NM (4)

Blick auf die Müh­le aus dem Jahr 1939. Kurze Zeit nach dieser Auf­nahme wurde der Betrieb eingestellt.

Um 1940 wurde der Betrieb eingestellt. 1955 erwarb ein benach­barter Bauer wegen der dazu gehöri­gen land­wirtschaftlichen Flächen das Müh­le­nan­we­sen. Die Gebäude ver­fie­len, nach­dem die Müh­lenein­rich­tung fast kom­plett verkauft wurde. 1974 wech­selte erneut der Besitzer. Mit viel Engage­ment und Sachver­stand restau­ri­erte dieser die Müh­le und baute sie zu einem Land­sitz aus.

Die Kapelle St. Lucia

02_NA_NM (6)Auf dem alten Kataster­plan von 1824 erken­nt man neben der Müh­le nahe der Ort­saus­fahrt nach Müns­bach eine Kapelle. Sie war der heili­gen Lucia gewid­met und galt als ältestes Heilig­tum Nieder­an­vens. Als 1851 die neue Pfar­rkirche in Nieder­an­ven gebaut wurde, war sie nur noch von 02_NA_NM (5)geringem Nutzen und zer­fiel.

Das einzige, was von der kleinen Kapelle geblieben ist, ist der Hahn, der früher die Turm­spitze zierte.

Lohmühlen und Gerberei in Niederanven

Als Ver­wal­ter der St. Lucia-Kapelle taucht ein gewiss­er Fell­mach­er auf. An diesem Namen kann man able­sen, dass es in Nieder­an­ven auch Ger­bereien gab. Die Wasserkraft der Müh­le wurde genutzt, um die gerb­stof­fre­iche Rinde, Blät­ter oder Holz der Eichen zu mahlen und die Ger­ber­lohe zu gewin­nen.

ZurückWeiter