Forest regeneration

PreviousNext

1. Natural succession

The Grünewald for­est is able to regen­er­ate itself, in the way that the sur­faces defor­est­ed by bee­tles or wind throw are no nat­ur­al dis­as­ter but a basis to start a new nat­ur­al devel­op­ment. If the soil is not chem­i­cal­ly treat­ed and if you allow full bent to nature, per­fect­ly adapt­ed veg­e­ta­tion can grow and spread, faster and stronger than all com­pet­i­tive plants all by engen­der­ing a healthy habi­tat.

13_GW_NV (5)

Suc­ces­sion sur­face with birch­es and nat­ur­al regen­er­a­tion of beech­es

On the nude sur­faces first gram­i­nae, herbs and brack­en grows. Lat­er on pio­neer bush­es like for exam­ple gorse, black­ber­ry or buck­thorn begin to cov­er the ground, fol­lowed by pio­neer trees like birch, aspen, rowan berry and dif­fer­ent kinds of wil­low.

A pri­ma­ry for­est is always formed by these species and can be man­aged accord­ing to forestry cri­te­ria. Such a pri­ma­ry for­est has a pos­i­tive influ­ence on the improve­ment of the soil and the micro­cli­mate for a lat­er beech grove. It is only at the final sta­tus of this devel­op­ment that the final for­est type best adapt­ed to this sit­u­a­tion is installed, most often a com­bi­na­tion of beech­es with oaks and horn­beams.

2. Planting

Even if the nat­ur­al regen­er­a­tion plays a very impor­tant role in the regen­er­a­tion process of the Grünewald, it can be pos­si­ble that some new sur­faces are arti­fi­cial­ly plant­ed, name­ly after agri­cul­tur­al defor­esta­tion, ice and snow dam­age or fire dam­age. But it can also be nec­es­sary after a pre­vi­ous wrong­ly adapt­ed or insuf­fi­cient tree com­bi­na­tion.

13_GW_NV (1)

Refor­esta­tion with beech­es

13_GW_NV (2)

Refor­esta­tion with oaks

13_GW_NV (3)

Plant­i­ng of a moun­tain ash

The plants that are set man­u­al­ly or mechan­i­cal­ly come all from sim­i­lar geo­graph­i­cal sit­u­a­tions and cli­mates, cor­re­spond­ing to the new habi­tat.

The cri­te­ria of the deci­sions tak­en in this process are based upon the data giv­en by the Nation­al Admin­is­tra­tion of Waters and Forests and in respect of the even­tu­al future forestry man­age­ment.

3. The natural regeneration

The near-nat­ur­al forestry man­age­ment in the Grünewald is tak­ing a max­i­mum advan­tage of the nat­ur­al evo­lu­tion in the for­est. The wood is regen­er­at­ing itself nat­u­ral­ly all by engen­der­ing the new seedlings. Prof­it is being tak­en out of those nat­u­ral­ly born seedlings (for exam­ple beech-nuts), grow­ing under the pro­tec­tion of the high stemmed trees, in order to gen­er­ate a new-born for­est.

13_GW_NV (4)

Nat­ur­al regen­er­a­tion of a beech grove

This nat­ur­al kind of for­est regen­er­a­tion is the most used one in the Grünewald. It is devel­op­ing all by itself if all the nec­es­sary con­di­tions (light, soil) are pre­served and if the game occur­rence is kept rather low.

The nat­ur­al for­est regen­er­a­tion is not only the best way to sur­vive for a for­est but offers also good eco­nom­i­cal advan­tages:

  • undis­turbed grow­ing up from the begin­ning with no root reduc­ing (no plant­i­ng shock)
  • less game dam­age than in arti­fi­cial­ly plant­ed areas
  • less hail and dry­ness dam­age than on open spaces, because of the pro­tec­tion by the old trees
  • no extra costs for plants and plant­i­ngs
  • con­ti­nu­ity of the micro­cli­mate and its water resources
  • Con­ser­va­tion of the genet­ic resources, adapt­ed to the habi­tat

PreviousNext

Régénération forestière

RetourSuite

1. Succession naturelle

Le Grünewald est à même de se régénér­er de façon autonome. Des sur­faces déboisées par le châb­lis ou les coléop­tères ne sont donc pas cat­a­strophiques mais plutôt point de départ d’un développe­ment naturel. Si le sol n’est pas traité et qu’on laisse libre cours à la nature, une végé­ta­tion idéale se développe pour cet habi­tat, des plantes qui poussent plus vite sous les con­di­tions don­nées et qui s’imposent à leur con­cur­rence.

13_GW_NV (5)

Sur­face de suc­ces­sion avec bouleau et régénéra­tion naturelle de hêtres

Sur les sur­faces déboisées ger­ment d’abord gram­inées, herbes ou fougère d’aigle. Ensuite s’y étab­lis­sent des arbustes pio­nniers (p.ex. genêt, mûre sauvage, bour­daine), suiv­is d’espèces d’arbres pio­nniers comme le bouleau, trem­ble, sor­bier et divers­es essences de saules.

Une forêt pri­maire peut être for­mée par ces espèces et exploitée selon des critères forestiers. Cette forêt pri­maire a une influ­ence pos­i­tive sur le développe­ment d’une future hêtraie à cet emplace­ment, par exem­ple par l’amélioration du sol ou du micro­cli­mat. C’est au stade final de ce développe­ment que s’installent des asso­ci­a­tions forestières le mieux adap­tées à cet emplace­ment, prin­ci­pale­ment les asso­ci­a­tions de hêtres en com­bi­nai­son avec des chênes et des charmes.

2. Plantation

Même si la régénéra­tion naturelle joue un grand rôle dans le renou­velle­ment du Grünewald, il est pos­si­ble que dans des cas excep­tion­nels, la créa­tion d’espaces verts dans la nou­velle généra­tion forestière soit faite arti­fi­cielle­ment p.ex. en cas de reboise­ment de sur­faces agri­coles, dégâts sur les arbres dus au givre ou à la neige, à l’incendie, mais égale­ment dans le cas d’une asso­ci­a­tion forestière précé­dente non adap­tée à l’emplacement ain­si que lorsque la qual­ité du peu­ple­ment foresti­er précé­dent était insuff­isante.

13_GW_NV (1)

Reboise­ment avec hêtres

13_GW_NV (2)

Reboise­ment avec chênes

13_GW_NV (3)

Plan­ta­tion d’un sor­bier

Pour la plan­ta­tion (effec­tuée manuelle­ment ou mécanique­ment) les plantes util­isées sont celles qui nais­sent dans les mêmes degrés de lat­i­tude ou à la même alti­tude et qui cor­re­spon­dent à cet habi­tat.

La déci­sion de savoir de quelle manière la régénéra­tion doit être effec­tuée, est prise par rap­port aux don­nées dont dis­posent les Eaux et Forêts mais égale­ment en fonc­tion des pos­si­bil­ités de la con­sti­tu­tion de la forêt.

3. La régénération naturelle

L’exploitation forestière proche de la nature du Grünewald prof­ite autant que pos­si­ble des proces­sus naturels dans la forêt. La forêt qui se régénère de façon naturelle est en fait une forêt qui se «sème elle-même». C’est-àdire qu’on prof­ite des graines ger­mées de façon naturelle (p.ex. les faînes) sous la pro­tec­tion des cimes des arbres adultes, pour fonder une nou­velle généra­tion forestière.

13_GW_NV (4)

Régénéra­tion naturelle dans une hêtraie

La régénéra­tion naturelle est la manière la plus pra­tiquée pour la régénéra­tion au Grünewald. Elle se développe tout naturelle­ment en cas de con­di­tions écologiques favor­ables (p.ex. lumi­nosité, con­di­tions du sol) ain­si que d’un faible peu­ple­ment de grand gibier.

La régénéra­tion naturelle cor­re­spond non seule­ment aux proces­sus naturels de raje­u­nisse­ment dans une forêt naturelle, mais elle offre égale­ment de grands avan­tages économiques.

  • Une crois­sance sans inter­rup­tion dès le début et aucune diminu­tion du développe­ment des racines (pas de choc de plan­ta­tion)
  • Moins de dégâts causés par le gibier par rap­port aux cul­tures plan­tées
  • Moins de dan­ger que sur les espaces ouverts en ce qui con­cerne les dégâts dus à la sécher­esse ou à la gelée grâce à la pro­tec­tion de vieux bois
  • Pas de coûts pour plan­ta­tions et plantes
  • Per­ma­nence du micro­cli­mat et des ressources en eau
  • Main­tien d’une ressource géné­tique adap­tée à l’habitat

RetourSuite