Coarse wood debris

PreviousNext

Coarse wood debris – a diversified habitat

04_SB_NB (12)The coarse wood debris is con­sti­tut­ed by dying, dead or decay­ing trees. The diver­si­ty of coarse wood debris can be found in some dead branch­es of an old tree as well as in decay­ing still upright stems or fall­en trees.

The death of a tree can have dif­fer­ent rea­sons: over­age, dis­ease or hail, storm and fire dam­age.

In a “too clean” pro­duc­tion for­est, this bad qual­i­ty wood is gath­ered and no coarse wood debris can be found. For­est man­age­ment of nowa­days (as in the Grünewald) the old and decay­ing wood is being left on the site. In fact the coarse wood debris pres­ence of a near-nat­ur­al for­est offers per­fect habi­tat con­di­tions to many dif­fer­ent fau­na and flo­ra species, pre­sent­ing the best basis of a nat­u­ral­ly grown diver­si­fied for­est.

14_GW_TH (3)

Green wood­peck­er

14_GW_TH (9)

Black wood­peck­er

14_GW_TH (10)

Bat

14_GW_TH (4)

Long­horn bee­tle

If you have a clos­er look you can dis­cov­er a var­ied vital­i­ty around a dead tree: mush­rooms, plants (as moss for exam­ple), insects, birds and even mam­mals. There they can find food and the per­fect breed­ing con­di­tions.

14_GW_TH (7)

Fat dor­mouse

14_GW_TH (5)

Moss

Some species like the wood­peck­er for exam­ple are using the coarse wood debris to become real mas­ter builders, cre­at­ing habi­tats for the next gen­er­a­tions. In the frame of forestry man­age­ment the coarse wood debris has to be picked up from time to time, in case the fall­en trees and stem remains may present a dan­ger for the hik­ers. Espe­cial­ly along the hik­ing and fit­ness trails, the stand­ing dead wood has to be elim­i­na­teed, in order to guar­an­tee the secu­ri­ty of the vis­i­tors.

14_GW_TH (1)

Pine marten

14_GW_TH (8)

Kuehneromyces muta­bilis

14_GW_TH (2)

Stag bee­tle

14_GW_TH (6)

Poly­pores

PreviousNext

Totholz

ZurückWeiter

Totholz — ein vielseitiger Lebensraum

04_SB_NB (12)Beim Totholz han­delt es sich um abster­bende, abgestor­bene und in Zer­set­zung befind­liche Bäume. Das Spek­trum von Totholz reicht von einzel­nen toten Ästen an einem alten Baum bis zu ste­hen­den (ste­hen­des Totholz) oder umge­fal­l­enen Bäu­men oder Teilen davon (liegen­des Totholz).

Das Abster­ben von Bäu­men kann vielfältige Gründe haben: Über­al­terung, Krankheit oder Ereignisse wie z.B. Brand, Blitzschlag und Wind­wurf.

In einem aufgeräumten Wirtschaftswald wer­den diese min­der­w­er­ti­gen Bäume ent­fer­nt. Daher ist dort Totholz nur sehr sel­ten anzutr­e­f­fen. Im mod­er­nen Wald­bau, wie er auch hier im Grünewald prak­tiziert wird, wer­den die toten Bäume jedoch nicht ent­fer­nt. Dies ist im Sinne ein­er natur­na­hen Wald­be­wirtschaf­tung, denn auch ein tot­er Baum stellt einen wertvollen Leben­sraum für viele Pflanzenund Tier­arten dar und ist daher eine wichtige Grund­lage für die Arten­vielfalt des Waldes.

14_GW_TH (3)

Grün­specht

14_GW_TH (9)

Schwarzspecht

14_GW_TH (10)

Fle­d­er­maus

14_GW_TH (4)

Bock­käfer

Bei genauerem Hin­se­hen herrscht ger­ade um einen toten Baum herum ein vielfältiges Leben: Pilze, Pflanzen (z.B. Moose), Insek­ten, Vögel und Säugetiere brauchen diese Struk­turen zum Leben; sie find­en hier ihre Nahrung und/ oder eine Brut- oder Wohn­stätte.

14_GW_TH (7)

Sieben­schläfer

14_GW_TH (5)

Moos

Einige Arten, ins­beson­dere Vögel (z.B. Spechte), betäti­gen sich sog­ar als Baumeis­ter und schaf­fen dadurch Wohn­raum für sich und ihre Nach­be­wohn­er. Gele­gentlich muss der Wald­bauer das Totholz beseit­i­gen, beson­ders dann, wenn von den morschen Bäu­men und Baum­stäm­men eine unmit­tel­bare Gefahr für die Besuch­er des Waldes aus­ge­ht. Äste und Kro­nen­teile kön­nen beispiel­sweise her­ab­fall­en, ganze Bäume in sich zusam­men­brechen oder umfall­en. Zur Gewährleis­tung der Sicher­heit der Waldbe­such­er wird ins­beson­dere das ste­hende Totholz, z.B. ent­lang von Wan­der- und Spazier­we­gen oder Fit­ness-Par­cours, ent­nom­men.

14_GW_TH (1)

Baum­marder

14_GW_TH (8)

Stockschwämm­chen

14_GW_TH (2)

Hirschkäfer

14_GW_TH (6)

Baumpilz

ZurückWeiter