Animals on the Aarnescht

PreviousNext

The Aar­nescht does not only have a rich flo­ra but there are also many dif­fer­ent fau­na species to be found. Espe­cial­ly the semi arid grass­land offers a vital space for many pro­tect­ed and endan­gered ani­mal species.

Mammals

AA-79

Fox / Vulpes vulpes

AA-78

Eura­sion Bad­ger / Meles meles

 

The fox, the deer, the rab­bit and the hare becom­ing more and more rare, are present on the Aar­nescht.

 

The Eurasian Bad­ger is a very spe­cial inhab­i­tant of the pro­tect­ed zone. At day­time he is very shy, hid­ing in his den. He only comes out at night to look for food, eat­ing as well plants as small ani­mals. As he is hiber­nat­ing to stock thick fat lay­ers, you can see him very rarely in win­ter­time.

Birds

Among the 57 species that could be count­ed until now, there are 39 breed­ing species and 11 endan­gered species of the Red List as for exam­ple the Grey Par­tridge (Perdix perdix), the Red­backed Shrike (Lanius Col­lu­rio), the Great Grey Shrike (Lanius excu­bitor) and the Wood Lark (Lul­lu­la arborea), who is also very rare.

AA-65Red­backed Shrike
Lanius col­lu­rio
AA-81Wood Lark
Lul­lu­la arborea

Butterflies

The semi arid grass­lands are rich in flow­ers and offer per­fect con­di­tions to but­ter­flies. Until now 136 dif­fer­ent species had been reg­is­tered in the pro­tect­ed zone, among 35 of them are on the Red List of ende­nagered species. The most char­ac­ter­is­tic species on the Aar­nescht are: Cloud­ed Yel­low (Col­ias aus­tralis), Ere­bia medusa, Ado­nis Blue (Poly­omma­tus bel­largus), Nar­row­bor­dered Five-Spot Bur­net (Zygae­na lin­icer­ae), Swal­low­tail (Papilio machaon), Mead­ow Brown (Man­io­la jurtina).

AA-82Swal­low­tail / Papilio machaon AA-83Mead­ow Brown / Man­io­la jurtina

Crickets and locusts

AA-84

Phaneroptera fal­ca­ta

There are 22 dif­fer­ent species to be found on the Aar­nescht, among 9 are on the Red List. The most char­ac­ter­is­tic species of locusts of this semi arid grass­land is the Phaneroptera fal­ca­ta.

True bugs

AA-85

Par­ent Bug / Elas­mucha grisea

On the Aar­nescht there are 102 dif­fer­ent kinds of True bugs, among 18 are rare species. 2 species are the only ones find on nation­al ter­ri­to­ry: Brach­yarthrum lim­i­ta­tum and Dry­mus pumilio.

Spiders

AA-86

Wasp spi­der
Argiope bru­enichi

 

48 dif­fer­ent spi­der species could be count­ed and among them some very remark­able ones: the Wasp spi­der (Argiope bru­enichi) or the Purseweb spi­der.

 

PreviousNext

Tiere auf der Aarnescht

ZurückWeiter

Neben der arten­re­ichen Pflanzen­welt weist die Aar­nescht auch eine facetten­re­iche Tier­welt auf. Speziell die Halb­trock­en­rasen sind Leben­sraum für viele sel­tene und geschützte Tier­arten.

Säugetiere

AA-79

Fuchs / Vulpes vulpes


 
 

Rot­fuchs, Rehwild und Schwarzwild sowie das Kan­inchen und der immer sel­tener wer­dende Feld­hase haben auf der Aar­nescht ein Zuhause gefun­den.

AA-78

Dachs / Meles meles

 
 
 

Eine Beson­der­heit des Naturschutzge­bi­etes ist der Dachs. Das sehr scheue, nach­tak­tive Tier hält sich tagsüber in seinem Bau ver­steckt. Erst in der Däm­merung beg­ibt es sich auf Nahrungssuche. Pflan­zliche und tierische Kost ste­hen dabei auf seinem Speise­plan. Im Win­ter ist in der Natur kaum ein Dachs zu sehen. Während dieser Win­ter­ruhezeit lebt der Dachs von seinen großen Fet­tre­ser­ven.

Vögel

Unter den bis­lang 57 nachgewiese­nen Voge­larten befind­en sich 39 Brutvögel. Ins­ge­samt wur­den 11 Arten der Roten Liste fest­gestellt. Darunter das in Lux­em­burg sel­ten gewor­dene Reb­huhn (Perdix perdix) oder die Würg­er­arten Neun­töter (Lanius col­lu­rio) und Raub­würg­er (Lanius excu­bitor). Auch die stark gefährdete Hei­del­erche (Lul­lu­la arborea) ist auf der Aar­nescht heimisch.

AA-65Neun­töter
Lanius col­lu­rio
AA-81Hei­del­erche
Lul­lu­la arborea

Schmetterlinge

Die blüten­re­ichen Halb­trock­en­rasen bieten den Schmetter­lin­gen gün­stige Lebens­be­din­gun­gen. Bis­lang wur­den im Naturschutzge­bi­et rund 136 Schmetter­lingsarten fest­gestellt. Davon ste­hen 35 Arten auf der Roten Liste. Charak­ter­is­tis­che Arten der Aar­nescht sind: der Heufal­ter (Col­ias aus­tralis), der Mohren­fal­ter (Ere­bia medusa), der Him­mel­blaue Bläul­ing (Lysan­dra bel­largus), das Horn­klee-Wid­derchen (Zygae­na lin­icer­ae), der Schwal­ben­schwanz (Papilio machaon) oder das Ochse­nauge (Man­io­la jurtina).

AA-82Schwal­ben­schwanz / Papilio machaon AA-83Ochse­nauge / Man­io­la jurtina

Grillen und Heuschrecken

AA-84

Sichelschrecke / Phaneroptera fal­ca­ta

 

Sie sind mit 22 Arten auf der Aar­nescht vertreten. 9 dieser Arten ste­hen auf der Roten Liste. Unter den Heuschreck­en gilt die Sichelschrecke (Phaneroptera fal­ca­ta) als Charak­ter­art der Halb­trock­en­rasen.

Wanzen

AA-85

Brut­wanze / Elas­mucha grisea

Auf der Aar­nescht leben 102 ver­schiedene Arten, darunter sind 18 sel­tene Arten. Für 2 Arten ist dieses Gebi­et der bis­lang einzige Fun­dort in Lux­em­burg (Brach­yarthrum lim­i­ta­tum, Dry­mus pumilio).

Spinnen

AA-86

Zebraspinne
Argiope bruen­nichi

 

Bis­lang wur­den 48 Spin­nenarten ermit­telt, darunter so bemerkenswerte wie die Zebraspinne (Argiope bruen­nichi) oder die Tapezier­spinne (Aty­pus piceus).

 

ZurückWeiter