Rising point of the White Ernz

PreviousNext

”Schetzelbur”

05_GW_WE (1)

The “Schet­zel­bur”, spring of the White Ernz The fount was caught in 1948 and equipped with a basin by the scouts group of Limperts­berg.

In the mid­dle of the Grünewald the White Ernz has its source, called “Schet­zel­bur” because the beat­i­fied her­mit Schet­ze­lo lived near the source in a cav­ern in the 12th cen­tu­ry. It was name­ly this source that sup­plied him with the vital drink­ing water.

Just as the Black Ernz, the White Ernz also has its source on the ter­ri­to­ry of the Nieder­an­ven Munic­i­pal­i­ty in the Lux­em­bourg Sand­stone lay­er, the most impor­tant nation­al drink­ing water reser­voir. In the vil­lage of Eisen­born, the brook (called “Schet­zel­bach” here) leaves the com­mu­ni­ty ter­ri­to­ry already after a few meters and con­tin­ues its way in the north east­ern direc­tion.

05_GW_WE (3)

In Reis­dorf, a vil­lage sur­round­ed with woods and sit­u­at­ed in the val­ley of the riv­er Sauer, the White Ernz is flow­ing into last named.

Many small afflux­es make the brook swell and soon it flows as a par­al­lel riv­er to the Black Ernz. Just as its name­sake it runs through the Sand­stone lay­er all by dig­ging deep into the rocks and form­ing a beau­ti­ful and attrac­tive land­scape around, so charm­ing for locals and tourists.

Up to its estu­ary in the Sauer, the bor­der riv­er between Lux­em­bourg and Ger­many and the sec­ond largest nation­al riv­er, the White Ernz flows over 33 km. As its stream course is one of the strongest besides the Alzette and the Black Ernz, the White Ernz rep­re­sents one of the most impor­tant afflux­es of the Sauer.

The valley of mills

05_GW_WE (4)

Locat­ed in the White Enrz val­ley, the vil­lage of Laro­chette (Fiels) rep­re­sents with its impres­sive old cas­tle ruin a per­fect pop­u­lar tourist cen­tre.

The low­er part of the White Ernz, from Erms­dorf to Reis­dorf, is called “the val­ley of mills”. Con­struct­ed most­ly dur­ing the 19th cen­tu­ry, the the mills were sup­plied by the waters of the White Ernz in order to grind cere­als or extract oil. Some of these mills even pro­duced elec­tric­i­ty need­ed to enleight­en the sur­round­ing vil­lages.

The river name “Ernz”

05_GW_WE (2)

The beat­i­fied her­mit Schet­ze­lo, once liv­ing in the Grünewald, gave his name to the White Ernz, also called “Schet­zel­bur”.

The names of white and black Ernz, prove that our rivers’ names are of ancient ori­gins. The name “Ernz” as well as the French word “Arance”, comes from “Aran­tia”. It is the a pre-celtic name of a riv­er (“Ar” =riv­er).

PreviousNext

Quelle der Weißen Ernz

ZurückNext

”Schetzelbur”

05_GW_WE (1)

Der ”Schet­zel­bur” die Quelle der Weißen Ernz 1948 wurde die Quelle von ein­er Pfadfind­er­gruppe aus Limperts­berg gefasst und mit einem Wasser­beck­en verse­hen.

Inmit­ten des Grünewaldes entspringt die Quelle der Weißen Ernz, ”Schet­zel­bur” genan­nt. Namensge­ber der Quelle ist der Selige Schet­zel, ein Eremit, der im 12. Jahrhun­dert in ein­er Höh­le in der Nähe der Quelle lebte und seinen Durst mit dem reinen Quell­wass­er stillte.

Die Quelle der Weißen Ernz tritt, wie auch die Quelle der Schwarzen Ernz, auf dem Gebi­et der Gemeinde Nieder­an­ven aus dem Lux­em­burg­er Sand­stein aus, dem größten und wichtig­sten Trinkwasser­spe­ich­er Lux­em­burgs. Der Bach­lauf lässt jedoch schon nach eini­gen Metern die Gemeinde Nieder­an­ven hin­ter sich. Südlich der Ortschaft Eisen­born ver­lässt der Bach, nun ”Schet­zel­baach” genan­nt, dann den Grünewald in nordöstlich­er Rich­tung.

05_GW_WE (3)

In Reis­dorf, im von Wäldern umgebe­nen Sauer­tal, mün­det die Weiße Ernz in die Sauer.

Durch zahlre­iche Zuflüsse schwillt der Bach bald zu einem Fluss her­an, der nun nahezu par­al­lel zu seinem Zwill­ings­fluss, der Schwarzen Ernz, den Osten des Lan­des durch­quert. Wie ihr Namensvet­ter hat sich die Weisse Ernz im Laufe der Zeit in das Gestein des Lux­em­burg­er Sand­steins einge­graben und somit ein land­schaftlich reizvolles Flusstal geschaf­fen, das Ein­heimis­che wie auch Touris­ten anzieht und begeis­tert.

Bis zu ihrer Mün­dung bei Reis­dorf in die Sauer, dem zweit­größten Fluss des Lan­des und dem Gren­zfluss zu Deutsch­land, legt die Weiße Ernz etwa 33 km zurück. Der Flus­slauf zählt neben der Alzette und der Schwarzen Ernz zu den wichtig­sten Zuflüssen der Sauer.

Das Tal der Mühlen

05_GW_WE (4)

Fels (Laro­chette) Im Tal der Weißen Ernz gele­gen, ist das Städtchen Fels (Laro­chette) mit sein­er imposan­ten Bur­gru­ine ein beliebtes Touris­ten­zen­trum.

Das untere Tal der Weißen Ernz, von Erms­dorf bis nach Reis­dorf, wird auch als ”Tal der Mühlen” beze­ich­net. Mehrheitlich Mitte des 19. Jahrhun­derts erbaut, wurde in ihnen, durch das Fluss­wass­er angetrieben, Korn zu Mehl gemahlen oder Pflanzenöl gepresst. Durch das Wass­er der Weißen Ernz angetrieben, liefer­ten auch einige Mühlen Strom und elek­trisches Licht an die umliegen­den Dör­fer.

Der Gewässername “Ernz”

05_GW_WE (2)

Der Selige Schet­zel, der als Eremit im Grünewald lebte, ist der Namensge­ber des ”Schet­zel­bur”, der Quelle der Weißen Ernz.

Die Flus­släufe Weiße Ernz und Schwarze Ernz sind ein Beweis dafür, dass unsere Gewässer­na­men ältestes Wortgut bewahren. So sind sowohl der Flussname ”Ernz”, als auch der franzö­sis­che Flussname ”Arance”, als ”Aran­tia” über­liefert. Hier­bei han­delt es sich um einen vorkeltischen Flussna­men (”Ar” = Fluss).

ZurückNext