Farming

PreviousNext

Cattle Pastures

08_GW_WN (7)Until the intro­duc­tion of keep­ing the cat­tle in the sta­bles in the sec­ond half of the 18th cen­tu­ry, the feed­ing of the cat­tle, hors­es, sheep and goats hap­pened by lead­ing them for pas­tur­ing in the for­est, as the veg­e­ta­tion there con­sti­tut­ed the basis of all cat­tle nutri­tion. This had of course harm­ful con­se­quences for the for­est. In fact the ani­mals’ hooves packed down the ground all by dam­ag­ing the leaf and the young buds. That is why up from the begin­ning of the 13th cen­tu­ry, some for­est zones had refused access for graz­ing in order to pro­tect the wood­land. As for the Grünewald you can find edicts, reg­u­lat­ing the agri­cul­tur­al usage in the woods, dat­ed 14 Sep­tem­ber 1617, edit­ed by the Arch­duke Albert and the arch­duchess Isabelle, or 15 Sep­tem­ber 1724 by Charles VI. It is only in the sec­ond part of the 18th cen­tu­ry that the for­est was for­bid­den for all kind of graz­ing, as the mod­erni­sa­tion of agri­cul­tur­al means took forth with the cul­ti­va­tion of pota­toes and root crop used then for feed­ing.

Mulching usage

08_GW_WN (5)At the end of the mid­dle Ages mulch usage in the woods had become a very impor­tant form of agri­cul­tur­al exploita­tion. That is why the Anwen Farm did not only own the right to fat­ten the cat­tle with acorns and pas­tures and the use of fire­wood, but also the right to use the for­est mulch.

08_GW_WN (1)Leaf, pins and plants on the ground were col­lect­ed by spe­cial rakes and could be used in the sta­bles for lit­ter. As a con­se­quence the tree pop­u­la­tion dimin­ished con­sid­er­ably and impor­tant nutri­ents of the soil were sub­duct­ed. Lat­er on a refor­esta­tion could only be done by plant­i­ng conifers, as they need few nutri­ents and grow quick­ly.

Pig fattening

08_GW_WN (3)Until the intro­duc­tion of for­age plants for ani­mals in the 18th and 19th cen­tu­ry, the domes­tic pigs were fat­tened by lead­ing them into the old and light oak and beech groves. Since the Mid­dle Ages there were spe­cial reg­u­la­tions defin­ing the num­ber of ani­mals, the begin­ning and end of pas­tur­ing and the felling of fruit trees. In the Grünewald for exam­ple there was a spe­cial reg­u­la­tion, for­bid­ding pig graz­ing for the peri­od before the young trees had not yet reached the 8th leaf.

08_GW_WN (4)For a long time woods were esti­mat­ed accord­ing to the num­ber of pigs, allowed to cir­cu­late and not as today accord­ing to the poten­tial tim­ber mass. Up to the mod­ern times, the high­est cash income of a for­est came from pig fat­ten­ing rather than tim­ber pro­duc­tion. The Grünewald and the relat­ed pig fat­ten­ing was the only source of income for the sov­er­eign at these times before the con­struc­tion of the first met­al­lur­gi­cal site in Dom­mel­dan­ge in 1609.

Leaf as food for the cattle

08_GW_WN (2)From pre­his­toric times up to the 20th cen­tu­ry, the leaf was col­lect­ed dur­ing win­ter times to use it as addi­tion­al food for the ani­mals. For this pur­pose, the elm, ash, horn­beam and wil­low leaf was pre­ferred.

In the Grünewald pig fattening was regulated as follows:

The lords of Heis­dorff, Walfer­dan­ge, Ober- and Nieder­an­ven have the right to dri­ve their pigs to the pas­ture of St.Rémy in St.Gertrude. The inhab­i­tants of Bof­fer­dan­ge and Klinger­scheuer only may dri­ve their pigs up to the bor­der of the loca­tions called Staffel­stein and Schet­zel­bach. The inhab­i­tants of Sandweil­er have the right to lead their pigs to all the the Grünewald pas­tures, but only by pay­ing 8 Groschen and 7 Soll per year. The inhab­i­tants of Itzig have the right to dri­ve their pigs even at night and that from St. Dyo­nis up to St.Thomas all by pay­ing a fee of 7 Soll.. The right for pas­tur­ing is only giv­en to the inhab­i­tants of Anwen (Ober- and Nieder­an­ven).”

PreviousNext

Landwirtschaftliche Nutzung

ZurückWeiter

Großviehweide

08_GW_WN (7)Bis zur Ein­führung der Stall­hal­tung in der 2. Hälfte des 18. Jh. erfol­gte die Füt­terung von Rindern, Pfer­den, Schafen und Ziegen durch Ein­trieb in den Wald, dessen Veg­e­ta­tion die Nahrungs­grund­lage für das Vieh bildete. Die Nutzung als Viehwei­de hat­te für den Wald zum Teil fatale Fol­gen. Die Hufe der Tiere verdichteten den Boden, der Jungbe­stand wurde durch Ver­biss der Knospen und Blät­ter geschädigt. Zum Schutz der Wälder wur­den daher bere­its seit Anfang des 13. Jh. bes­timmte Waldge­bi­ete nicht zum Viehein­trieb freigegeben. Auch für den Grünewald wur­den in einem Edikt vom 14. Sep­tem­ber 1617 des Erzher­zogs Albert und der Erzher­zo­gin Isabel­la und ein­er Ordon­nanz Karls VI. vom 15. Sep­tem­ber 1724 Ver­bote für eine Wei­de­nutzung aus­ge­sprochen. Erst in der 2. Hälfte des 18. Jh. ver­lor der Wald durch die Mod­ernisierung der Land­wirtschaft und den Anbau von Kartof­feln und Hack­frücht­en als Viehfut­ter seine Bedeu­tung als Viehwei­de. Im 19. Jh. erfol­gte dann eine allmäh­liche Ablö­sung der land­wirtschaftlichen Nutzungsrechte im Wald.

Streunutzung

08_GW_WN (5)Die Nutzung der Wald­bo­den­streu wurde im aus­ge­hen­den Mit­te­lal­ter eine wichtige land­wirtschaftliche Wald­nutzungs­form. So besaßen die Bewohn­er des Hofes Anven seit dem 14. Jh. im Grünewald nicht nur das Recht der Eichel­mast, der Wald­wei­de und der Brennholznutzung, son­dern auch das Recht der Stre­unutzung.

08_GW_WN (1)
Bei der Stre­unutzung wur­den die am Boden liegen­den Blät­ter, Nadeln und Pflanzen mit einem Streurechen abge­zo­gen und als Ein­streu im Stall ver­wen­det. Durch die Stre­unutzung wur­den dem Wald große Nährstoff­men­gen ent­zo­gen und das Wach­s­tum der Bäume ging stark zurück. Auf den ver­armten Böden war später häu­fig nur noch eine Wieder­auf­forstung mit anspruch­sloseren Nadel­bäu­men möglich.

Schweinemast

08_GW_WN (3)Bis zur Ein­führung des Anbaus land­wirtschaftlich­er Fut­terpflanzen im 18./19. Jh. wur­den Hauss­chweine zur Mast in lichte, ältere Eiche­nund Buchen­wälder eingetrieben. Beginn und Dauer des Ein­triebs, die Zahl der einzutreiben­den Tiere sowie Fäl­lungsver­bote für ”frucht­tra­gende” Bäume wur­den bere­its im Mit­te­lal­ter durch spezielle Verord­nun­gen geregelt. Im Grünewald durften z.B. zum Schutz junger Bäume keine Schweine in Bestände eingetrieben wer­den, in denen die Bäume noch nicht ihr acht­es Blatt erre­icht hat­ten.

08_GW_WN (4)Lange Zeit wurde der Wald danach bew­ertet, wieviele Schweine in ihm gemästet wer­den kon­nten, und nicht — wie heute — nach seinem Holzvor­rat. Bis in die Neuzeit über­stiegen die Geldein­nah­men aus der Schweine­mast die Erträge aus der Holznutzung im all­ge­meinen deut­lich. Im Grünewald bildete der Erlös aus der Ver­steigerung der Mast bis zur Errich­tung der ersten Eisen­hütte in Dom­meldin­gen im Jahre 1609 die einzige Ein­nah­me­quelle für den Lan­desh­er­rn.

Futterlaubgewinnung

08_GW_WN (2)Seit frühgeschichtlich­er Zeit wurde zur zusät­zlichen Füt­terung des Viehs v. a. im Win­ter bis in das 20. Jh. das Laub im Wald gesam­melt. Für Zwecke der Fut­ter­laubgewin­nung wur­den unter den Bau­marten ins­beson­dere Ulme, Esche, Hain­buche, Wei­de u.a. genutzt.

 

Für den Grünewald war die Schweine­mast wie fol­gt geregelt:

”Die Her­ren von Heis­dorff, Walfer­din­gen, Ober- und Nieder­an­ven dür­fen Schweine ein­treiben von St. Remy bis St. Gertrude. Die Ein­wohn­er von Bof­fer­din­gen und Klin­gelscheuer dür­fen Schweine nur bis zum Ort genan­nt Schet­zel­bach und Staffel­stein ein­treiben. Die Ein­wohn­er von Sandweil­er dür­fen Schweine durch das ganze Gebi­et des Grünewald führen, aber nur gegen Zahlung ein­er jährlichen Abgabe von 8 Groschen, 7 Solls. Die Itziger dür­fen Schwei­neein­trieb auch während der Nacht vornehmen von St. Dyo­nis bis St. Thomas gegen Entrich­tung ein­er Abgabe von 7 Solls. Wei­de­berechtigt sind nur die Ein­wohn­er von Anwen (Ober- und Nieder­an­ven).”

ZurückWeiter