Historical background of the Grünewald

PreviousNext

It was only at the age of the Franks when the sov­er­eigns did start to ban­ish the unowned forests and trails and declare them as roy­al prop­er­ty (regalia). Those forests, which had often been trans­ferred to vas­sals as a domain, had been changed into “crown forests” (belong­ing to the crowned). Lat­er these woods became “doma­nial forests” (forests belong­ing to the sov­er­eigns before the French Rev­o­lu­tion). The Grünewald is the largest old crown for­est in Lux­em­bourg.

The Grünewald as a ban forest

The trans­mis­sion of the util­i­sa­tion rights over the “Anven” for­est had already been men­tioned on a doc­u­ment dat­ed 1083. Lat­er the Grünewald had been cit­ed in the Char­ta of Free­dom, giv­en by the count­ess Ermesinde II (1186–1247) to the Town of Lux­em­bourg in 1244. It was men­tioned in rela­tion with the dis­po­si­tions con­cern­ing the right of tim­ber and pas­ture for the cit­i­zens and the shoot­ing right for the count­ess, who ban­ished some parts of the Grünewald.

Dur­ing the event­ful past of the Grand-Duchy, the Grünewald had been under the influ­ence of many dif­fer­ent rulers (Hab­s­burg House, Dutch Hab­s­burg, Span­ish Dutch, France, Aus­tri­an Dutch). At these times sev­er­al “for­est reg­u­la­tions” were issued which did not only con­cern the for­est super­vi­sion or for­est out­rage but also its farm­ing. With ref­er­ence to the near­ly dev­as­tat­ed sit­u­a­tion of the Grünewald, it was ordered in 1535 to set up a geo­graph­i­cal map and divide the for­est into dif­fer­ent sec­tions.

William I (1815–1840) of the Orange-Nas­sau House sold by auc­tion major parts of the Grünewald. His suc­ces­sor William II (1840–1849) bought back big parts of the Grünewald.

The iron fac­to­ry of Dom­mel­dan­ge around 1930: in the back­ground you can see the Grünewald. Dur­ing cen­turies an impor­tant quan­ti­ty of tim­ber had been used for indus­tri­al pur­pose and the for­est had been striped of wood.

Domanial Forest

Tim­ber sup­ply of a medieval town

With the annex­a­tion of the coun­try by the French Rev­o­lu­tion troops (1794/95), Lux­em­bourg had become a part of France for a peri­od of 20 years and was called: For­est Depart­ment. The major pur­pose of the Grünewald had been to sup­ply the Lux­em­bourg fortress with fire­wood.

At the Vien­na Con­gress in 1815, when the Euro­pean ter­ri­to­ry had been rearranged, the Grünewald was declared a “doma­nial For­est”.

In order to get funds to pay the war debts, they did not hes­i­tate to sell by auc­tion those domains belong­ing to the State. So the Grünewald had been grad­u­al­ly sold, under the reign of the first Grand-Duke William I, head of the new Lux­em­bourg State.

In total the Grünewald rep­re­sent­ed until then a sur­face of 2554 ha and the last unsold part (679.1) should also have been sold by auc­tion, as the ordi­nary nation­al income was insuf­fi­cient to devel­op a strong and up-to-date road and train net. How­ev­er the bid was not high enough and on the 12th of Feb­ru­ary 1848 William I decid­ed to buy him the remain­ing for­est. In the frame of the new for­est man­age­ment pol­i­cy the State began, at the begin­ning of the 20th cen­tu­ry to buy back grad­u­al­ly those parts of the Grünewald that belonged until then to the sov­er­eign. Of the today 4500 ha total sur­face, 3500 ha belong to the Lux­em­bourg State and only 1000 ha to the Grand-duke.

The Grünewald nowadays

The Grünewald, nowa­days: it can be seen as the green “lung” of Lux­em­bourg City, a site of leisure and an impor­tant biotope.

The Grünewald rep­re­sents today the largest coher­ent nation­al for­est and besides its for­est, eco­log­i­cal (biotope), agri­cul­tur­al and pic­turesque qual­i­ty it rep­re­sents a very pre­cious nation­al piece of cul­ture and his­to­ry. With ref­er­ence to this truth the major parts of the Grünewald were declared nation­al mon­u­ment by a min­is­te­r­i­al deci­sion on 29 of April 1966.

Historical maps of the Grünewald

Luxem­burg 1581 Lux­em­bourg 1616 at the time of the
first Span­ish dom­i­na­tion
Lux­em­bourg 1616 at the time of the
sec­ond Span­ish dom­i­na­tion
Luxem­burg in 1717 at the time of the
Aus­tri­an dom­i­na­tion
Detailed map of the Grünewald
in the year 1721
The Grünewald on the Fer­raris map
from half of the 18th cen­tu­ry

PreviousNext

Geschichte des Grünewaldes

ZurückWeiter

Erst in der Franken­zeit began­nen die Herrsch­er die davor her­ren­losen und unwegsamen Waldge­bi­ete mit ihrem Bann zu bele­gen und so als königlich­es Eigen­tum (Regalien) zu beanspruchen. Die Wälder, die oft als Reich­sle­hen an Vasallen über­tra­gen wur­den, wur­den auch als Kro­n­wälder beze­ich­net. Aus ihnen entwick­el­ten sich die späteren Doma­nial­wälder (Beze­ich­nung der Wälder, die vor der Franzö­sis­chen Rev­o­lu­tion in lan­desh­errschaftlichem Besitz waren). Der Grünewald ist der größte ehe­ma­lige Kro­n­wald des Lan­des.

Bannwald Grünewald

Eine Urkunde aus dem Jahr 1083 erwäh­nt bere­its die Über­tra­gung von Nutzungsrecht­en im Anven­er Wald. Später ist der Grünewald im Frei­heits­brief der Stadt Lux­em­burg, aus­gestellt im Jahre 1244 durch die Gräfin von Lux­em­burg Ermesinde II. (1186–1247), genan­nt, und dies in Zusam­men­hang mit den Bes­tim­mungen über das Wei­de­und Holzrecht der Bürg­er und auch dem Jag­drecht der Gräfin, die Teile des Grünewaldes zum Ban­nwald erk­lärte.

Im Laufe der wech­selvollen Geschichte des Großher­zog­tums Lux­em­burg unter­lag der Grünewald unter­schiedlichen Herrschaft­se­in­flüssen (Haus Bur­gund, Hab­s­bur­gis­che Nieder­lande, Spanis­che Nieder­lande, Frankre­ich, Öster­re­ichis­che Nieder­lande). In diese Zeit­en fall­en mehrere ”Forstord­nun­gen”, die nicht nur die Forstauf­sicht oder die Forstfrev­el, son­dern auch die Bewirtschaf­tung der Wälder regel­ten. Bere­its 1535 wurde auf­grund des dev­astierten Waldzu­s­tandes der Auf­trag erteilt, den Grünewald zu ver­messen, eine Karte des Waldes anzufer­ti­gen und diesen in Schläge einzuteilen.

Wil­helm I. (1815 — 1840) aus dem Haus Oranien-Nas­sau ver­steigerte große Teile des Grünewaldes. Sein Nach­fol­ger Wil­helm II. (1840–1849) kaufte große Teile zurück.

Die Dom­meldinger Eisen­hütte um 1930, im Hin­ter­grund der Grünewald. Die Indus­trie benötigte über Jahrhun­derte hin­weg sehr viel Holz und der Wald wurde aus­ge­beutet.

Domanialwald

Holzver­sorgung ein­er mit­te­lal­ter­lichen Stadt

Mit der Annex­ion des Lan­des durch die Trup­pen der Franzö­sis­chen Rev­o­lu­tion 1794/95 bildete Lux­em­burg als ”Départe­ment des Forêts” für die fol­gen­den 20 Jahre einen Teil Frankre­ichs. Der Grünewald hat­te haupt­säch­lich den Zweck, die Fes­tung Lux­em­burg mit Brennholz zu ver­sor­gen.

Im Zuge der Neuord­nung Europas auf dem Wiener Kongress 1815 wurde der Grünewald zur Staats­domäne.

Um sich Gelder zur Regelung der Kriegss­chulden zu beschaf­fen, scheute man sich nicht, auch die aus­gedehn­ten Staats­domä­nen öffentlich ver­steigern zu lassen. So kam es unter der Herrschaft Wil­helms I., dem ersten Großher­zog des neuen Staates Lux­em­burg, zu ein­er schrit­tweisen Veräußerung des Grünewaldes.

Die let­zten 679,1 ha des 2524 ha großen Grünewaldes soll­ten 1848 ver­steigert wer­den, weil die ordentlichen Staat­sein­nah­men nicht aus­re­icht­en, um eine zeit­gerechte Aus­führung der Bahn- und Straßen­bauar­beit­en zu sich­ern. Da bei der Ver­steigerung kein angemessen­er Preis geboten wurde, kaufte der Nach­fol­ger von Wil­helm I., Großher­zog Wil­helm II., am 12. Feb­ru­ar 1848 den Wald. Im Rah­men ein­er neuen Forstpoli­tik begann der Staat Anfang des 20. Jahrhun­derts nach und nach Teile des ehe­ma­li­gen lan­desh­errschaftlichen Grünewaldes zurück­zukaufen. Bis auf ca. 1.000 ha großher­zoglichen Pri­vatbe­sitz ist der ca. 4.500 ha große Grünewald heute wieder im Besitz des Staates.

Der Grünewald heute

Der Grünewald heute — grüne Lunge der Stadt Lux­em­burg, Erhol­ung­sort und wertvolles Wald­biotop.

Der Grünewald ist heute der größte zusam­men­hän­gende Wald­kom­plex Lux­em­burgs und weist neben seinem forstlichen, ökol­o­gis­chen (Habi­tat­zone) und land­schaftlichen Wert auch einen hohen kul­turhis­torischen Wert auf. Dieser Tat­sache wurde durch min­is­teriellen Beschluss vom 29. April 1966 Rech­nung getra­gen, in dem große Teile des Grünewaldes zum nationalen Kul­tur­denkmal erk­lärt wur­den.

Historische Karten des Grünewaldes

Luxem­burg 1581 Luxem­burg 1616 zur Zeit der 
ers­ten Herr­schaft der Spa­nier
Luxem­burg 1712 zur Zeit der 
zwei­ten Herr­schaft der Spa­nier
Luxem­burg im Jahre 1717 zur Zeit 
der Herr­schaft der Öster­rei­cher
Detail­karte des Grü­ne­wal­des
aus dem Jahre 1721
Der Grü­ne­wald auf der Fer­raris-​Karte
aus der Hälfte des 18. Jahr­hun­derts

ZurückWeiter