The St. Martin Monument

PreviousNext

SE_06_SM_2_sThe St.Martin’s mon­u­ment reminds us of a for­mer pre-Chris­t­ian event hap­pen­ing at the loca­tion “Hel­leges­teen” (mean­ing holy stone). he small round build­ing, sim­i­lar to a lit­tle tem­ple, is sit­u­at­ed at the bot­tom of the Sen­ninger­berg on the “rue des Romains”, an old Roman road, lead­ing from Treves to Lux­em­bourg. The open col­umn cir­cle allows a glimpse on the stone stat­ue depict­ing St. Mar­tin. On a cubic pedestal beside the fig­urine of the bish­op is rep­re­sent­ed a lit­tle angel. The sculptor’s (the priest Joseph Bertrang) inscrip­tion is in Latin and refers to St. Martin’s jour­ney to Nieder­an­ven in the year 384.

SE_06_SM_1_s

Inscrip­tion on the pedestal of the mon­u­ment St Mar­tin

The leg­end say­ing that an angel did encour­age the suf­fer­ing saint: “Sanc­tus Mar­t­i­nus afflic­tus angeli lae­ta Con­so­la­tione aerec­tus Con­solectvraf­flic­tos”, mean­ing: St. Mar­tin had been com­fort­ed in his pain by an angel to com­fort the distressed.On the site of the mon­u­ment, sanc­ti­fied in the year 1931, there had been a small chapel until the 17th cen­tu­ry. The altar block had been trans­ferred to the chapel of Sen­nin­gen and for the fol­low­ing decen­cies a sim­ple wood­en cru­ci­fix marked the holy site.

SE_06_SM_s

View from the “Hel­leges­teen”

From the “Hel­leges­teen” you have a beau­ti­ful view over the land­scape. His­tor­i­cal pic­tures show the old view on Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven and the steep affer­ent “rue du Kiem”.

SE_06_SM_5_s

The old steep con­nec­tion road between Sen­ninger­berg and Sen­nin­gen, part­ly still with its cob­ble­stones pave­ment.

This old con­nec­tion between Sen­ninger­berg and Nieder­an­ven was already inte­grat­ed into the Roman road net­work. The old “Kieme” (mean­ing paths) were part of a for­ti­fi­ca­tion sys­tem, allow­ing to the Roman sol­diers to trans­port effec­tive­ly their bag­gage and war mate­r­i­al.

SE_06_SM_6_s SE_06_SM_4_s

The “Kiem” com­ing from Arlon, crossed the actu­al City of Lux­em­bourg and Pfaf­fen­thal, con­tin­ued over the “Weimer­shof” and lead on its way up to the actu­al high­way on the Sen­ninger­berg. From there it steeply went down into the val­ley of Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven.

SE_06_SM_3_s

Old view from the “Hel­leges­teen” on the “rue du Kiem” and Nieder­an­ven

Lat­er on a new con­nec­tion road between Sen­nin­gen and Nieder­an­ven was then con­struct­ed as an alter­na­tive to the old steep way. The new “route de Trèves”, also run­ning along the slope to Sen­ninger­berg, allows with its ser­pen­tines a longer but eas­i­er trip than before. A splen­did row of chest­nut trees had been set up on both sides of the road, spend­ing an effec­tive pro­tec­tion from sun and rain to the old trans­porters and their hors­es.

SE_06_SM_9_s SE_06_SM_8_s SE_06_SM_7_s

Chest­nut Avenue — Dur­ing the World War II some trees had been felled by Ger­man sol­diers in order to slow down the Amer­i­can advance. After the war the trees had been replaced.

PreviousNext

Das “St. Martinsdenkmal”

ZurückWeiter

SE_06_SM_2_sAn ein Ereig­nis aus frühchristlich­er Zeit erin­nert das “Mar­tins­denkmal” auf dem “Hel­leges­teen”. Der kleine tem­pelar­tige Rund­bau ste­ht am Fuße des Sen­ninger­bergs an der “Rue des Romains”, ein­er alten Römer­straße, die von Lux­em­burg nach Tri­er führte. Sein offen­er Säu­lenum­gang lässt den Blick auf die stein­erne Stat­ue des Hl. Mar­tin frei. Die von ein­er kleinen Engels­gestalt begleit­ete Bischofs­fig­ur erhebt sich in Lebens­größe über einem wür­felför­mi­gen Sock­el. Dessen Inschrift, vom Schöpfer des Denkmals, Pfar­rer Joseph Bertrang, in lateinis­ch­er Sprache ver­fasst, nimmt Bezug auf den Aufen­thalt des Hl. Mar­tin in der Nähe von Ande­thanna (Nieder­an­ven) im Jahr 384.

SE_06_SM_1_s

Inschrift auf dem Sock­el des Mar­t­i­nus­denkmals

Der Leg­ende nach soll hier ein Engel dem von See­len­nöten geplagten Heili­gen Mut zuge­sprochen haben: “Sanc­tus Mar­t­i­nus afflic­tus angeli lae­ta Con­so­la­tione aerec­tus Con­so­letvraf­flic­tos” (“Sankt Mar­t­i­nus, in sein­er Betrüb­nis durch fro­hen Engel­strost gestärkt, tröste die Betrübten”). An der Stelle des 1931 gewei­ht­en Denkmals stand bis ins 17. Jahrhun­dert eine Kapelle. Ihr Altarstein wurde in der Kapelle von Sen­nin­gen auf­be­wahrt. In den Jahrzehn­ten danach markierte ein ein­fach­es Wegekreuz den heili­gen Ort.

SE_06_SM_s

Blick vom “Hel­leges­teen”

Vom “Hel­leges­teen” aus hat man einen weit­en Blick über die Land­schaft. His­torische Bilder zeigen noch die Sicht auf Sen­nin­gen und Nieder­an­ven und die steil ansteigende “Rue du Kiem”.

SE_06_SM_5_s

Diese alte Verbindungsstraße zwis­chen Sen­ninger­berg und Nieder­an­ven war schon zur Zeit der Römer in das all­ge­meine Straßen­netz inte­gri­ert. Damals gehörten die großen “Kieme” zu einem umfassenden Befes­ti­gungs-sys­tem, das den römis­chen Trup­pen einen zügi­gen Trans­port von Gepäck und Kriegsaus­rüs­tung ermöglichte.

SE_06_SM_6_s SE_06_SM_4_s

Von Arlon kom­mend führte der “Kiem” durch das Gebi­et der heuti­gen Stadt Lux­em­burg hin­durch und set­zte sich dann durch das Pfaf­fen­thal bis hoch zum Weimer­shof fort, um schließlich — ent­lang der heuti­gen Auto­bahn — bis zum Sen­ninger­berg aufzusteigen. Von dort führte er steil ins Tal nach Sen­nin­gen und Nieder­an­ven.

SE_06_SM_3_s

Blick vom “Hel­leges­teen” in früheren Zeit­en auf die “Rue du Kiem” und Nieder­an­ven

Als Alter­na­tive zu dem sehr steil ansteigen­den Weg, dem “alen Sen­ninger­bierg” ent­stand eine neue Verbindungsstraße zwis­chen Sen­ninger­berg und Nieder­an­ven. Mit ihr, der neuen “Tri­er­erstraße”, die eben­falls am Hang des Sen­ninger­bergs ent­langläuft, gewann man eine zwar län­gere und kur­ven­re­ichere, dafür jedoch weniger steile Strecke. Ent­lang der neuen Straße wurde eine prachtvolle Kas­tanien­allee angelegt, die den Fuhrleuten und ihren Pfer­den Schutz bei extremen Wit­terun­gen bot.

SE_06_SM_8_s SE_06_SM_7_s SE_06_SM_9_s

Die Kas­tanien­allee in der Tri­er­er Strasse. Im Krieg wur­den einige Bäume von deutschen Sol­dat­en gesprengt, um den Vor­marsch der Amerikan­er zu verzögern. Die Bäume wur­den nach dem Krieg wieder erset­zt.

ZurückWeiter