The urban development of the Senningerberg

PreviousNext

The urban development of the Senningerberg

The “crest” Sen­ninger­berg had been inhab­it­ed since ever. When the site “Knupp” (rue des Sap­ins) had been ren­o­vat­ed, impor­tant archae­o­log­i­cal dis­cov­er­ies were made (brick stones, roof­ing tiles, bod­ies of old crock­ery, fire­places, rests of an old 3m large road). Even today you can find on a reg­u­lar basis old coins dat­ing of the time of the emper­or Augus­tus (27 a.Chr.-14 p.Chr.).

The name of the local­i­ty Sen­ninger­berg is men­tioned for the first time in 1842 in the orig­i­nal land reg­is­ter. Around the year 1900 there were in all 95 per­sons liv­ing in 22 hous­es on the plateau of the Sen­ninger­berg (400 m above the sea-lev­el). The “Paris­er­hof”, the “Mün­ster­hof”, the “Fran­zosen­grund”, the “Höhen­hof” and the cas­tle “Höhen­hof” did also belong to the inhab­it­ed area of Sen­ninger­berg.

Aer­i­al pic­ture of Sen­ninger­berg dat­ed 1974.

With the appear­ing of the nar­row rail­way line Lux­em­bourg-Echter­nach in 1904 Sen­ninger­berg start­ed to devel­op rapid­ly. Around the rail­way sta­tion appeared numer­ous pubs, becom­ing togeth­er with the Grünewald a favourite trip des­ti­na­tion for the priv­i­leged Lux­em­bourg soci­ety. At the begin­ning of the 1st World War Sen­ninger­berg count­ed 31 hous­es and in 1939 already 51. After the wars Sen­ninger­berg lost its inter­est as a trip des­ti­na­tion in order to become an envied real estate loca­tion.

“Cité Grom­scheed” once and now

The shut down of the rail­way line in 1954 did not change this fact, as the access to the Lux­em­bourg high­way in 1970 per­mit­ted, togeth­er with the con­struc­tion of the bridge Grand-Duchesse Char­lotte, to be even clos­er to Lux­em­bourg City as sort of suburb.The con­struc­tion of new roads and hous­ing estates had been a log­i­cal con­se­quence (for exam­ple rue des Pins, rue des Sap­ins, rue du Château d’Eau, Cité Grom­scheed). Last men­tioned had been con­struct­ed on the ground of the old stone quar­ry.

Some of the old­est hou­ses of the “rue des Romains”

In front of the sta­tion inn “Stom­parm”, first house in Sen­nin­ger­berg.

The “Scham­bourg” quar­ry in Senin­ger­berg

Pub and Inn “B. Ton­nar” at the Sen­nin­gen sta­tion

PreviousNext

Siedlungsgeschichte Senningerberg

ZurückWeiter

Die Entwicklung der Ortschaft Senningerberg

Der Höhen­rück­en Sen­ninger­berg war schon in grauer Vorzeit besiedelt. Bei der Bebau­ung der “Knupp” (rue des Sap­ins) trat­en deut­liche Spuren (Mauer­steine, Dachziegel, Scher­ben von Töpfer­waren, Feuer­stellen, Reste ein­er ca. 3 m bre­it­en Straße) zu Tage. Noch heute wer­den hier  römis­che Münzen, selb­st aus der Zeit des römis­chen Kaisers Augus­tus (27 v. Chr. — 14 n. Chr.), gefun­den.

Der Ort­sname Sen­ninger­berg wird zum ersten Mal 1842 in der 1. Revi­sion des Urkatasters erwäh­nt. Um das Jahr 1900 wohn­ten 95 Men­schen in 22 Häusern auf dem Hoch­plateau von Sen­ninger­berg (400 m über dem Meer­esspiegel). Der Parishof, der Mün­ster­hof, der Fran­zosen­grund, der Höhen­hof sowie das Höhen­hofer Schloss zählten eben­so zu dem Sied­lungs­ge­bi­et Sen­ninger­berg.

Luftauf­nahme von Sen­ninger­berg um 1974

Mit der Inbe­trieb­nahme der Schmal­spur­bahn Lux­em­burg-Echter­nach im Jahre 1904 erlebte der Sen­ninger­berg einen ersten Auf­schwung. Um den hier für die Ortschaft Sen­nin­gen errichteten Bahn­hof ent­standen fast zeit­gle­ich einige Aus­flugslokale, die zusam­men mit dem Grünewald zu einem beliebten Aus­flugsziel der städtis­chen Bevölkerung wur­den. Mit Beginn des Ersten Weltkrieges 1914 war die Zahl der Häuser auf 31 angestiegen. Nach seinem Ende 1918 set­zte eine zweite Bau­pe­ri­ode ein, so dass die Anzahl der Häuser bis 1939 auf 51 angewach­sen war. In der Nachkriegszeit ver­lor der Sen­ninger­berg als Aus­flugsziel an Bedeu­tung. Als Baugelände hinge­gen wurde er immer begehrter.

Wohnge­bi­et Grom­scheed bei der Erschließung und heute

Daran änderte auch die Stil­l­le­gung der Schmal­spur­bahn 1954 nichts. Durch den Anschluss an die Auto­bahn nach Lux­em­burg 1970 und den Bau der “Roten Brücke” (Pont Grande-Duchesse Char­lotte) “rück­te” der Sen­ninger­berg näher an die Lan­deshaupt­stadt und erhielt dadurch fast den Charak­ter eines Vorortes. Die Fol­gen waren neue Straßen und Wohnge­bi­ete: z.B. rue des Pins, rue des Sap­ins, rue du Château d’Eau oder die Cité Grom­scheed, die in einem ehe­ma­li­gen Stein­bruch angelegt wurde.

Einige der ältesten Häuser in Sen­ninger­berg an der “Rue des Romains”

Vor dem Café Stom­parm”, das erste Haus auf Sen­ninger­berg

Stein­bruch “Scham­bourg” auf Sen­ninger­berg

Hotel-Restau­rant B. Ton­nar, Sta­tion Sen­nin­gen

ZurückWeiter