Fruit orchard habitat

PreviousNext

Origins and importance of orchards

AA-56

The orchards on the bot­tom of the Aar­nescht leave their stamp on the land­scape.

Fruit-grow­ing has a long tra­di­tion in Lux­em­bourg. The most fre­quent vari­ety of nowa­days had already been cul­ti­vat­ed dur­ing Roman time, who also intro­duced wine­grow­ing in our regions. The Romans most often plant­ed the fruit trees in their gar­den or not far from their hous­es. It is only in the 16th cen­tu­ry that orchards and wine yards begin to spread over open land and form a promi­nent ele­ment in the gen­er­al cul­tur­al land­scape. In the com­mu­ni­ty of Nieder­an­ven, fruit grow­ing has a long tra­di­tion. In the 19th cen­tu­ry, when the paper mills had to close, many of their work­ers could be reem­ployed in the fruit grow­ing sec­tor. On the Aar­nescht an impor­tant part of the buffer area (zone B) is con­sti­tut­ed by orchards.

Why the orchards should be preserved

AA-21

AA-52

The Lit­tle Owl lives in the old caves of the fruit trees.

The orchards are form­ing an impor­tant part of the region­al land­scape.

They inte­grate with har­mo­ny the sur­round­ing land­scape into the dwelling area, they improve the local cli­mate, pro­tect the slope grounds from ero­sion and the graz­ing cat­tle from wind and rain.

AA-53

The Eurasian Wry­neck is a typ­i­cal species of the orchard.

But they also form for many dif­fer­ent kinds of ani­mals a pro­tec­tive biotope.

AA-53a

The Edi­ble Dor­mouse lives in the grot­tos.

More than 2000 dif­fer­ent fau­na species (of those 90% insects) are liv­ing in the orchard, form­ing a very impor­tant biotope with its trees and ground.

The char­ac­ter­is­tic bird species of the orchard are the Lit­tle Owl and the Eurasian Wry­neck, belong­ing to the species of the wood­peck­ers. The Gar­den Dor­mouse, the Hazel Dor­mouse or but­ter­fly species like the Brown Hair­streak and the Leop­ard Moth.

AA-54 AA-55
In autumn the fruit is a major food source for most kinds of insects. The hedge­hog finds its food on the ground.

PreviousNext

Lebensraum Obstwiesen

ZurückWeiter

Die Entstehung und Bedeutung der Obstwiesen

AA-56

Die Obst­wiesen am Fuß der Aar­nescht prä­gen das Land­schafts­bild.

Der Obstan­bau hat in unseren Gegen­den eine lange Tra­di­tion. Wie auch der Wein­bau stammt er von den Römern, die Obst­bäume in den Gärten ihrer Villen anbaut­en. Erst im 16. Jahrhun­dert dehnte sich der Obst­bau mehr in die freie Land­schaft aus. Seit­dem bilden die Obst­wiesen markante Ele­mente der heimis­chen Kul­tur­land­schaft, so auch in der Gemeinde Nieder­an­ven. Ins­beson­dere zu Ende des 19. Jahrhun­derts wur­den viele Men­schen, die nach der Schließung der Papier­fab­riken im Ort arbeit­s­los gewor­den waren, über Arbeits­beschaf­fung­spro­gramme zur Anpflanzung von Obst­bäu­men einge­set­zt. Im Naturschutzge­bi­et Aar­nescht beste­ht ein großer Teil der Puffer­zone (B-Zone) aus Obst­wiesen.

Warum Obstwiesen erhaltenswert sind!

AA-21

AA-52

Der Steinkauz besiedelt die Höhlen in den alten Obst­bäu­men

Wie kaum ein anderes Ele­ment, gestal­ten Obst­bestände die Land­schaft. Sie binden Sied­lun­gen har­monisch in die Land­schaft ein, verbessern das Lokalk­li­ma, bieten dem Wei­de­vieh Schutz vor Wind und Wet­ter und schützen in Hanglagen den Boden vor Ero­sion. Nicht zulet­zt erhöhen sie den Erhol­ungswert der Kul­tur­land­schaft.

AA-53

Der Wen­de­hals,
eine typ­is­che Voge­lart

Zahlre­iche Tiere find­en in den Obst­wiesen einen Leben­sraum. In ein­er Obst­wiese leben bis zu 2000 ver­schiedene Tier­arten, davon ca. 90% Insek­ten. Lebensstät­ten für Tiere bietet der Obst­baum von der Wurzel bis zur Kro­ne.

AA-53a

In den Höhlen lebt
der Sieben­schläfer

Für viele Arten sind Obst­wiesen der wichtig­ste Leben­sraum über­haupt. Die Charak­ter­vo­ge­larten der Obst­wiesen sind der Steinkauz sowie der mit den Specht­en ver­wandte Wen­de­hals. Auch der Garten­schläfer, die Hasel­maus oder die Schmetter­lingsarten Nieren­fleck und Blausieb sind hier zu Hause.

AA-54 AA-55
Im Herb­st bieten die Früchte eine willkommene Nahrungsquelle für viele Arten. Am Boden find­et
der Igel Nahrung.

ZurückWeiter