Woodland management and authorizations

PreviousNext

Until the begin­ning of the indus­tri­al­i­sa­tion, tim­ber was the most impor­tant com­mod­i­ty, used in many dif­fer­ent domains.

Production of wood charcoal

09_SB_RV (5)The char­coal pro­duc­tion sup­plied the forges and met­al­lur­gi­cal plants. Already the met­al­lur­gi­cal site of Dom­mel­dan­ge need­ed for itself about 6000 steres of tim­ber per year. In a doc­u­ment, addressed to the Cham­bre des Comptes in the year 1740, a com­plaint was for­mu­lat­ed because there was appar­ent­ly no tim­ber wood any­more left in the Grünewald. All the wood had been used as fire­wood or trans­formed into char­coal. It is only in 1865, when the coke began to replace the char­coal, that the exces­sive exploita­tion of the Grünewald took an end.

Timber and firewood

07_GW_GN (2)Not only the con­struc­tion of the Lux­em­bourg fortress but also its exploita­tion need­ed huge quan­ti­ties of fire­wood and tim­ber and for a cer­tain time the Grünewald had only been used for the sup­ply in fire­wood pur­pose.

Potash factory

07_GW_GN (7)The potash man­u­fac­tur­ers pro­duced the potash as ingre­di­ent of soap and glass.

07_GW_GN (10)

Dur­ing cen­turies the Grünewald was the main sup­pli­er in fire­wood.

The mas­sive wastage of wood asked for an ear­ly and pre­cise sched­ul­ing of for­est man­age­ment. Already in the Mid­dle Ages they tried to slow down the wild exploita­tion of the forests. In 1617 an edict with 125 dif­fer­ent sub­jects about for­est use and autho­riza­tions man­age­ment in our region was issued by the Dutch/Spanish sov­er­eigns, the Arch­duke Albert and the Arch­duchess Isabel­la. The strat­e­gy of tim­ber sup­ply let to a def­i­nite­ly reg­u­lar forestry sys­tem with the prin­ci­ple of sus­tain­abil­i­ty, still valid nowa­days.

Permissions to collect the wood

07_GW_GN (6)Dur­ing cen­tu­ries the mon­archs own­ing the Grü­ne­wald had the right to exploit the wood, lat­er they gran­ted these same rights to their sub­jects by the so-​called per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood.

Alre­ady in the year 1270, count Hen­ri V gran­ted to the monas­tery of the “Saint Esprit de Luxem­bourg” the right to remove every day the wind­fall of his pro­perty Ande­vane, by means of a one horse-​drawn cart. On August 13th, 1320, Jean the Blind gran­ted to the order of the Cler­gy­men as well as to the order of the Fran­cis­cans, but this at an unk­nown date, per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood in the Grü­ne­wald.

Per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood were also deli­ve­red to the monas­tery of the “Saint Esprit de Luxem­bourg” (22.11.1384), to the abbey of Müns­ter (21.05.1398), to the Order of Fri­ars Minor (in 16.10.1473), to the inha­bi­tants of Luxem­bourg, Hol­le­rich and Bon­ne­voie (in 14.12.1480) and to the order of the Jesuits (in 06.09.1609).

07_GW_GN (1)

The last inscrip­tion about the usage rights of the Anwen Farm in the Grünewald can be found in the “Sen­tence Royale” dat­ed 7 Novem­ber 1735. But already in 1362 those rights were reg­u­lat­ed by the “Weis­tum” of the Anwen Farm.

In the “Roy­al Judg­ment” of Novem­ber 7th, 1735 per­mis­sion to exploit pas­tu­res and to col­lect fire­wood was gran­ted to the court Anwen. But the deva­s­ta­tion in the forests con­stantly gave rise to com­plaints. This is why Fer­di­nand d’Espagne, bro­ther of the king of Spain Phil­ippe IV, orde­red Janu­ary 18th, 1638, to end the rights of monas­te­ries as well as of all aut­ho­ri­zed peo­ple in the Grü­ne­wald because the for­est was being des­troyed.

Under the Aus­trian reign, the arch­du­ch­ess Marie-​Thérèse orde­red to the Minis­ter Mar­quis de Bot­ta to make an ana­ly­sis of the state of its forests. She tried to obtain in this way an impro­ve­ment in natio­nal forests “because these suf­fe­red a lot from an exces­sive exploi­ta­tion and from a fail­ure to respect the laws “.

Until the mid­dle of the 19th cen­tury, the per­mis­si­ons to col­lect wood were impor­tant in the Grü­ne­wald and were liqui­da­ted lit­tle by lit­tle by refunds in the shape of mon­ey or of grounds. So, in the year 1846, the muni­ci­pa­li­ties of Nie­der­an­ven, Stein­sel and Eich infor­med the govern­ment that they were incli­ned to trans­fer their rights in natio­nal forests for the price of 50-​franc ha. On Janu­ary 25th, 1847, this offer was accep­ted by the govern­ment and gran­ted by the king-​grand duke.

PreviousNext

Gewerbliche Nutzung und Holzberechtigungen

ZurückWeiter

Bis zur frühen Indus­tri­al­isierung war Holz der wichtig­ste Rohstoff, der vielfältig zum Ein­satz kam.

Köhlerei

09_SB_RV (5)Die Köh­lerei ver­sorgte die Schmieden, Eisen-, Ham­mer- und Hüt­ten­werke mit Holzkohle. Allein die Eisen­hütte in Dom­meldin­gen benötigte jährlich 6000 Raum­me­ter Holz. In einem im Jahre 1740 ver­fassten Bericht an die ”Cham­bre des Comptes” (Rechenkam­mer) wird beklagt, dass es im ganzen Grünewald nicht einen einzi­gen Baum mehr gab, der als Bauholz zu gebrauchen war. Alles Holz war als Brennholz und zu Holzkohle ver­wen­det wor­den. Erst als 1865 Koks die Holzkohle zu erset­zen begann, ver­langsamte sich die schi­er uner­sät­tliche Aus­beu­tung des Grünewaldes.

Bau- und Brennholz

07_GW_GN (2)Sowohl der Bau der Fes­tung Lux­em­burg als auch ihr Betrieb erforderten große Men­gen an Bau- und Brennholz. Zeitweilig war der Grünewald haupt­säch­lich dazu bes­timmt, die Fes­tung Lux­em­burg mit dem von ihr benötigten Brennholz zu ver­sor­gen.

Aschenbrennerei

07_GW_GN (7)Die Aschen­bren­ner erzeugten Pot­tasche als Aus­gang­spro­dukt für die Seifen- und Glash­er­stel­lung.

07_GW_GN (10)

Über Jahrhun­derte hin­weg war der Grünewald ein wichtiger Brennhol­zliefer­ant.

Der enorme Holzver­brauch erforderte schon frühzeit­ig eine Pla­nung der Holz­erzeu­gung und die Bewirtschaf­tung des Waldes. Schon im frühen Mit­te­lal­ter ver­suchte man, die unkon­trol­lierte Nutzung großer Waldge­bi­ete zu unterbinden. 1617 erschien das von dem Herrscher­paar der spanis­chen Nieder­lande Erzher­zog Albert und der Erzher­zo­gin Isabel­la erlassene Wälder- Edikt, das in 125 Artikeln u.a. die Bewirtschaf­tung und Ein­rich­tung der Wälder und die Ausübung der Nutzungsrechte hierzu­lande regelte. Die Pla­nung der Holzver­sorgung führte let­z­tendlich zur geregel­ten Forstwirtschaft mit dem noch heute gülti­gen ”Grund­satz der Nach­haltigkeit”.

Holzberechtigungen

07_GW_GN (6)Das Recht zur Nut­zung des Hol­zes im Grü­ne­wald hat­ten über Jahr­hun­derte die jewei­li­gen Herr­scher inne, die über soge­nannte Holz­be­rech­ti­gun­gen ihren Unter­ta­nen Nut­zungs­rechte gewähr­ten.

Bere­its 1270 erteilte Graf Hein­rich V. dem Hei­lig­geist­klos­ter von Luxem­burg das Recht, jeden Tag mit einem ein­spän­ni­gen Wagen gefal­le­nes Holz aus sei­nen Besit­zun­gen zu Ande­vane zu holen. Am 13. August 1320 erteilte Johann der Blinde dem Pre­di­ger­or­den und mit unbe­kann­tem Datum dem Fran­zis­ka­ner­or­den Holz­be­rech­ti­gun­gen im Grü­ne­wald.

Holz­be­rech­ti­gun­gen erhiel­ten z.B. auch das HI.-Geist-Kloster (22.11.1384), die Müns­ter­ab­tei (21.05.1398), der Mino­ri­ten­or­den (16.10.1473), die Ein­woh­ner von Luxem­burg, Hol­le­rich und Bon­ne­weg (14.12.1480) oder der Jesui­ten­or­den (06.09.1609). Das Weis­tum des Hofes Anven vom 15. Juni 1362 regelte Nut­zungs­rechte im Grü­ne­wald.

07_GW_GN (1)

Zulet­zt wur­den in der ”Sen­tence Royale” vom 07.11.1735 die Nutzungsrechte des Hofes Anwen im Grünewald fest­gelegt. Doch bere­its das Weis­tum des Hofes Anven vom 15. Juni 1362 regelte Nutzungsrechte im Grünewald.

In der “Sen­tence Royale” vom 7. Novem­ber 1735 wurde dem Hof Anwen das Recht der Brennholz- und Wei­de­nut­zung im Grü­ne­wald gewährt. Die Ver­wüs­tun­gen des Wal­des gaben indes immer wie­der Anlass zu Kla­gen. So gab Fer­di­nand von Spa­nien, Bru­der des spa­ni­schen Königs Phil­ipp IV., am 18. Jan­u­ar 1638 den Auf­trag, den Klös­tern und ande­ren Berech­tig­ten des Grü­ne­wal­des in ihrem Tun und Trei­ben Ein­halt zu gebie­ten, da der Wald zugrunde gerich­tet würde.

Unter öster­rei­chi­scher Herr­schaft hat­te die Erz­her­zo­gin Maria The­re­sia durch den Minis­ter Mar­quis de Sot­ta eine Unter­su­chung über den Stand ihrer Wäl­der machen las­sen, und suchte durch ein Schrei­ben vom 24. Okto­ber 1750 eine Bes­se­rung der Doma­ni­al­wäl­der zu erstre­ben, “da die­sel­ben sehr gelit­ten haben durch über­mä­ßige Exploi­ta­tion und Nicht­be­ach­tung der Geset­ze”.

Noch bis Mitte des 19.Jh. las­te­ten auf dem Grü­ne­wald Holz­be­rech­ti­gun­gen, die nach und nach z.T. mit Geld, z.T. mit Land­ab­fin­dun­gen abge­löst wur­den. So teil­ten im Jahr 1846 die Gemein­den Nie­der­an­ven, Stein­sel und Eich der Regie­rung mit, dass sie zum Preis von 50 Franken/​ha ihre Rechte in dem Doma­ni­al­wald Grü­ne­wald abtre­ten. Das Ange­bot wurde am 25. Jan­u­ar 1847 von der Regie­rung ange­nom­men und durch den König-​Großher­zog geneh­migt.

ZurückWeiter