Historical sites in the neighbourhood

ZurückWeiter

03_GW_NG (11a)At the « Stafel­ter » the ter­ri­to­ries of the three munic­i­pal­i­ties of Nieder­an­ven, Stein­sel and Walfer­dan­ge come togeth­er and there the Grünewald, declared nation­al mon­u­ment, shows many his­toric and cul­tur­al trea­sures, spread all over this region. The old­est dis­cov­er­ies are dat­ed Stone Age. It is real­ly worth­while to take a look at the neigh­bour munic­i­pal­i­ties of Walfer­dan­ge and Stein­sel.

ATools and arrowheads dated Stone Age03_GW_NG-9

Many tools and arrow­heads dat­ed Palae­olith­ic; Mesolith­ic and Neolith­ic were found on the hills of Walfer­dan­ge and Stein­sel, con­firm­ing ear­ly stone age set­tle­ment.

BThe oak of the 6 princesses”03_GW_NG-3

It was between 1894 and 1902 that in hon­our of the 6 princess­es of Lux­em­bourg, the lat­er Grand-Duchess Char­lotte, Anto­nia, Marie-Adélaïde, Elis­a­beth, Hil­da and Sophie 6 oaks were plant­ed here and called the “6 princess­es”.

C«Geeschterhäischen» 03_GW_NG-4

The « Geeschter­hais­chen » (mean­ing ghost house) locat­ed near the « Rén­gel­bur » served once for the hunt­ing lodge of the Grand-Duke Adolphe and William.

DRing rampart03_GW_NG-10

At “Pëtschend” you can find the remains of an old cir­cu­lar ram­part. It is show­ing a part of the ram­part, pro­tect­ing the the “Pëtschend” hill at its weak­est point. The ori­gin date of the ram­part how­ev­er remains unde­fined (maybe Celtic- or Hall­statt peri­od).

ERaschpëtzer Qanat”

03_GW_NG-1In Walfer­dan­ge, you can find the remains of an old water sup­ply sys­tem of Roman time, con­struct­ed in the “Qanat” man­age­ment way. This sys­tem of Celtic ori­gins is made up of a tun­nel with a slight slope of 300 m length, of a small water gut­ter, help­ing the water to flow off and of upright pits, con­nect­ing the tun­nel with the moun­tain top.

FStone Age dwelling03_GW_NG-7

When exca­va­tions had been done at “Pëtschend” they found a pile hole from a wood­en dwelling con­struc­tion, dat­ing prob­a­bly from Neolith­ic times. It is unknown if this con­struc­tion had been used as a dwelling in Neolith­ic times or lat­er on in Celtic times as a refuge.

GRoman “Villa”03_GW_NG-12

The remains of a Roman house were found in Helm­sange, where sev­er­al dwellings were con­struct­ed along the riv­er Alzette, all at the same alti­tude (250 m) and equi­spaced. It is sup­posed that these hous­es were all relat­ed among each oth­er and with the high­er sit­u­at­ed Roman road by devel­oped streets.

HSepultural site03_GW_NG-6

It is pos­si­ble that the small ele­va­tion in the Grünewald had once been a sepul­tur­al site in Bonze Age or even ear­li­er times (f.ex. Hall­statt peri­od).

IDoudeg Fra” (Dead Woman)03_GW_NG-5

Up to the mid­dle of the 20th cen­tury a cru­ci­fix, erec­ted on sev­er­al stone blocks, stood here on this place. In 1982 it had been repla­ced by a new road cru­ci­fix sho­w­ing, accord­ing to the old natio­nal tra­di­tion the cru­ci­fi­xion scene.

JRoman roads03_GW_NG-8

Sev­er­al Roman roads crossed the Grünewald. It is sup­posed that it had not been main streets but only cross streets, short­er con­nec­tions between the Arlon-Treves line. Along the Roman roads to Stafel­ter sev­er­al Roman tombs were dis­cov­ered (cre­ma­tion sites with urn frag­ments).

ZurückWeiter

Sites historiques dans les communes avoisinantes

ZurückWeiter

03_GW_NG (11a)Au lieu nom­mé «Stafel­ter» les trois com­munes Nieder­an­ven, Walfer­dan­ge et Stein­sel sont lim­itro­phes. Le Grünewald déclaré, en majeure par­tie, mon­u­ment cul­turel nation­al, héberge de nom­breux témoignages his­toriques et cul­turels sur le ter­ri­toire de ces trois com­munes. Les décou­vertes les plus anci­ennes datent de l’époque de l’âge de la pierre. Un saut jusqu’aux sites his­toriques du Grünewald dans les com­munes avoisi­nantes Walfer­dan­ge et Stein­sel vaut la peine.

AOutils et pointes de flèches de l’âge de la pierre 03_GW_NG-9

Les mul­ti­ples out­ils et pointes de flèch­es datant du paléolithique, mésoli­tique et néolithique des collines de Walfer­dan­ge et Stein­sel con­fir­ment le peu­ple­ment pro­to­his­torique de cette région.

B«Les chênes des six princesses»03_GW_NG-3

C’est entre 1894 et 1902 qu’en l’honneur des six princess­es, la future Grande-Duchesse Char­lotte et ses 5 soeurs, Marie-Adélaïde, Elis­a­beth, Hil­da, Sophie et Anto­nia ces six chênes nom­més «les six princess­es», furent plan­tés.

C«Geeschterhäischen»03_GW_NG-4

Le «Geeschter­hais­chen» qui se trou­ve dans les alen­tours du «Rén­gel­bur» ser­vait jadis comme mai­son de chas­se aux Grand-Ducs Adolphe et Guil­laume.

DRempart circulaire03_GW_NG-10

A «Pëtschend» se trou­vent les ves­tiges d’un rem­part cir­cu­laire. Il représente un rem­part par­tiel, qui pro­tège la colline de Pëtschend à son endroit le plus faible. L’époque d’origine reste indéter­minée (peut-être époque Hall­statt ou ère des Celtes).

E«Raschpëtzer Qanat»

03_GW_NG-1A Walfer­dan­ge se trou­vent les ves­tiges d’une méth­ode d’approvisionnement en eau con­stru­ite en qanat datant de l’ère romaine. Cette instal­la­tion d’origine celte est con­sti­tuée d’un tun­nel per­cé avec une légère pente d’une longueur de 300 mètres ain­si que d’une petite rigole qui facilite l’écoulement de l’eau et des puis­ards nom­més «Rasch­pëtzer» reliant le tun­nel à la sur­face du plateau.

FHabitation de l’âge de la pierre03_GW_NG-7

Lors de fouilles au «Pëtschend» on a prob­a­ble­ment trou­vé le trou d’un poteau provenant d’une habi­ta­tion en bois datant du néolithique. On ne sait pas au juste si cette habi­ta­tion fut amé­nagée en château-refuge au temps du néolithique ou seule­ment au temps des Celtes.

GVilla romaine03_GW_NG-12

Les ves­tiges d’une vil­la romaine ont été trou­vés à Helm­sange. Plusieurs vil­las ont été con­stru­ites le long de la rive est de l’Alzette, toutes à la même alti­tude (250m) et à inter­valles réguliers. On sup­pose que ces vil­las ont été reliées entre elles, ain­si qu’aux routes romaines situées plus haut, par des chemins amé­nagés.

HLieu d’inhumation03_GW_NG-6

Il se peut que la petite élé­va­tion qui se situe au Grünewald ait jadis été un lieu d’inhumation de l’âge du bronze ou d’une époque plus jeune (p.ex. péri­ode Hall­statt).

I«Doudeg Fra» (Femme morte)03_GW_NG-5

Un cru­ci­fix érigé sur plu­sieurs cubes en pierre se trou­vait ici jusqu’au milieu du 20ème siè­cle. En 1982 il fut rem­placé par une nou­velle croix de che­min, typi­que pour le Luxem­bourg, repré­sen­tant la scène de cru­ci­fi­xion de Jésus.

JRoutes romaines03_GW_NG-8

Plusieurs routes romaines passent à tra­vers le Grünewald. On sup­pose qu’il ne s’agit pas de routes à grande cir­cu­la­tion mais de jonc­tions trans­ver­sales, moins longues en dis­tance, de la route Arlon — Trèves. Le long des routes romaines vers Staffel­stein on a décou­vert plusieurs tombes romaines (lieux d’incinération avec débris d’urnes).

ZurückWeiter