Woodland management and authorizations

PreviousNext

Until the begin­ning of the indus­tri­al­i­sa­tion, tim­ber was the most impor­tant com­mod­i­ty, used in many dif­fer­ent domains.

Production of wood charcoal

09_SB_RV (5)The char­coal pro­duc­tion sup­plied the forges and met­al­lur­gi­cal plants. Already the met­al­lur­gi­cal site of Dom­mel­dan­ge need­ed for itself about 6000 steres of tim­ber per year. In a doc­u­ment, addressed to the Cham­bre des Comptes in the year 1740, a com­plaint was for­mu­lat­ed because there was appar­ent­ly no tim­ber wood any­more left in the Grünewald. All the wood had been used as fire­wood or trans­formed into char­coal. It is only in 1865, when the coke began to replace the char­coal, that the exces­sive exploita­tion of the Grünewald took an end.

Timber and firewood

07_GW_GN (2)Not only the con­struc­tion of the Lux­em­bourg fortress but also its exploita­tion need­ed huge quan­ti­ties of fire­wood and tim­ber and for a cer­tain time the Grünewald had only been used for the sup­ply in fire­wood pur­pose.

Potash factory

07_GW_GN (7)The potash man­u­fac­tur­ers pro­duced the potash as ingre­di­ent of soap and glass.

07_GW_GN (10)

Dur­ing cen­turies the Grünewald was the main sup­pli­er in fire­wood.

The mas­sive wastage of wood asked for an ear­ly and pre­cise sched­ul­ing of for­est man­age­ment. Already in the Mid­dle Ages they tried to slow down the wild exploita­tion of the forests. In 1617 an edict with 125 dif­fer­ent sub­jects about for­est use and autho­riza­tions man­age­ment in our region was issued by the Dutch/Spanish sov­er­eigns, the Arch­duke Albert and the Arch­duchess Isabel­la. The strat­e­gy of tim­ber sup­ply let to a def­i­nite­ly reg­u­lar forestry sys­tem with the prin­ci­ple of sus­tain­abil­i­ty, still valid nowa­days.

Permissions to collect the wood

07_GW_GN (6)Dur­ing cen­tu­ries the mon­archs own­ing the Grü­ne­wald had the right to exploit the wood, lat­er they gran­ted these same rights to their sub­jects by the so-​called per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood.

Alre­ady in the year 1270, count Hen­ri V gran­ted to the monas­tery of the “Saint Esprit de Luxem­bourg” the right to remove every day the wind­fall of his pro­perty Ande­vane, by means of a one horse-​drawn cart. On August 13th, 1320, Jean the Blind gran­ted to the order of the Cler­gy­men as well as to the order of the Fran­cis­cans, but this at an unk­nown date, per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood in the Grü­ne­wald.

Per­mis­si­ons to col­lect the wood were also deli­ve­red to the monas­tery of the “Saint Esprit de Luxem­bourg” (22.11.1384), to the abbey of Müns­ter (21.05.1398), to the Order of Fri­ars Minor (in 16.10.1473), to the inha­bi­tants of Luxem­bourg, Hol­le­rich and Bon­ne­voie (in 14.12.1480) and to the order of the Jesuits (in 06.09.1609).

07_GW_GN (1)

The last inscrip­tion about the usage rights of the Anwen Farm in the Grünewald can be found in the “Sen­tence Royale” dat­ed 7 Novem­ber 1735. But already in 1362 those rights were reg­u­lat­ed by the “Weis­tum” of the Anwen Farm.

In the “Roy­al Judg­ment” of Novem­ber 7th, 1735 per­mis­sion to exploit pas­tu­res and to col­lect fire­wood was gran­ted to the court Anwen. But the deva­s­ta­tion in the forests con­stantly gave rise to com­plaints. This is why Fer­di­nand d’Espagne, bro­ther of the king of Spain Phil­ippe IV, orde­red Janu­ary 18th, 1638, to end the rights of monas­te­ries as well as of all aut­ho­ri­zed peo­ple in the Grü­ne­wald because the for­est was being des­troyed.

Under the Aus­trian reign, the arch­du­ch­ess Marie-​Thérèse orde­red to the Minis­ter Mar­quis de Bot­ta to make an ana­ly­sis of the state of its forests. She tried to obtain in this way an impro­ve­ment in natio­nal forests “because these suf­fe­red a lot from an exces­sive exploi­ta­tion and from a fail­ure to respect the laws “.

Until the mid­dle of the 19th cen­tury, the per­mis­si­ons to col­lect wood were impor­tant in the Grü­ne­wald and were liqui­da­ted lit­tle by lit­tle by refunds in the shape of mon­ey or of grounds. So, in the year 1846, the muni­ci­pa­li­ties of Nie­der­an­ven, Stein­sel and Eich infor­med the govern­ment that they were incli­ned to trans­fer their rights in natio­nal forests for the price of 50-​franc ha. On Janu­ary 25th, 1847, this offer was accep­ted by the govern­ment and gran­ted by the king-​grand duke.

PreviousNext

Exploitation commerciale et permissions de ramasser le bois

RetourSuite

Jusqu’au début de l’industrialisation, le bois était la matière pre­mière la plus impor­tante util­isée de façon très diverse.

Charbonnerie

09_SB_RV (5)La char­bon­ner­ie appro­vi­sion­nait les forges, les usines de lam­i­nage de fer, les martel­leries et les usines métal­lurgiques en char­bon de bois. À elle seule l’usine de lam­i­nage de fer de Dom­mel­dan­ge néces­si­tait 6000 stères de bois par année. Dans un rap­port adressé à la Cham­bre des Comptes de l’an 1740, on se plaig­nait du fait que dans tout le Grünewald on ne trou­vait plus un seul arbre util­is­able en tant que bois de con­struc­tion. Tout le bois avait été util­isé comme bois de chauffage ou trans­for­mé en char­bon de bois. C’est seule­ment en 1865, quand le coke com­mençait à rem­plac­er le char­bon de bois, que l’exploitation exces­sive du
Grünewald fut réduite.

Bois de chauffage et bois de construction

07_GW_GN (2)Non seule­ment la con­struc­tion de la forter­esse de Lux­em­bourg, mais aus­si son fonc­tion­nement néces­si­taient d’importantes quan­tités de bois de chauffage et de bois de con­struc­tion. Tem­po­raire­ment le Grünewald n’était des­tiné qu’à l’approvisionnement en bois de chauffage pour la forter­esse de Lux­em­bourg.

Fabrique de potasse

07_GW_GN (7)Les fab­ri­cants de potasse pro­dui­saient la potasse comme pro­duit de base de la fab­ri­ca­tion de savon et de verre.

07_GW_GN (10)

Pen­dant des siè­cles, le Grünewald était un four­nisseur de bois de chauffage très impor­tant.

La con­som­ma­tion énorme en bois exigeait très tôt une plan­i­fi­ca­tion de la pro­duc­tion de bois ain­si que de l’exploitation de la forêt. Déjà au début du Moyen Âge on essayait de frein­er l’exploitation non con­trôlée des grandes régions forestières. En 1617 appa­rais­sait l’édit con­cer­nant les bois, rédigé par le cou­ple de sou­verains des Pays Bas espag­nols, l’archiduc Albert et l’archiduchesse Isabel­la, con­tenant 125 arti­cles qui régis­saient entre autres l’exploitation et l’aménagement des forêts ain­si que les droits d’exploitation dans notre pays. La plan­i­fi­ca­tion de l’approvisionnement en bois con­dui­sait défini­tive­ment à une sylvi­cul­ture régulière avec «le principe du développe­ment durable» tou­jours val­able de nos jours.

Permissions de ramasser le bois

07_GW_GN (6)Pen­dant des siè­cles les maî­tres du Grü­ne­wald pos­sé­dai­ent le droit de l’exploitation du bois, pour ensuite accor­der à leurs sujets ces mêmes droits grâce à de soi-​dis­ant per­mis­si­ons de ramas­ser le bois.

Déjà en l’an 1270, le comte Hen­ri V accor­dait au monas­tère du Saint Esprit de Luxem­bourg le droit d’enlever chaque jour du cha­blis de sa pro­priété Ande­vane, à l’aide d’un char tiré par un che­val seu­le­ment. Le 13 août 1320, Jean l’Aveugle accor­dait à l’ordre des Pré­di­ca­teurs ain­si qu’à l’ordre des Fran­cis­cains, mais ceci à une date incon­nue, des per­mis­si­ons de ramas­ser le bois au Grü­ne­wald.

Des per­mis­si­ons de ramas­ser le bois ont éga­le­ment été déli­vrées au monas­tère du Saint Esprit (22.11.1384), à l’abbaye de Müns­ter (21.05.1398), à l’ordre des Frè­res Mineurs (16.10.1473, aux habi­tants de Luxem­bourg, Hol­le­rich et Bon­ne­voie (14.12.1480) et à l’ordre des Jésui­tes (06.09.1609).

07_GW_GN (1)

La dernière inscrip­tion des droits d’exploitation de la cour Anwen au Grünewald se trou­vait dans la «Sen­tence Royale» du 07 novem­bre 1735. Mais le 15 juin 1362 les droits d’exploitation au Grünewald furent déjà réglés par le «Weis­tum» de la cour Anwen.

Dans la « Sen­tence Royale » du 7 novem­bre 1735/​a per­mis­sion d’exploiter les pâturages et de ramas­ser du bois de chauf­fage fut accordé à la cour Anwen. Mais les rava­ges dans les forêts don­naient con­stam­ment lieu à des plain­tes. C’est pour cette rai­son que Fer­di­nand d’Espagne, frère du roi d’Espagne Phil­ippe IV, ordon­nait le 18 jan­vier 1638, de met­tre fin aux faits et ges­tes des monas­tè­res ain­si qu’à tou­tes les auto­ri­sés du Grü­ne­wald puis­que la forêt était en train d’être détru­ite.

Sous le règne autri­chien, l’archiduchesse Marie Thé­rèse ordon­nait au min­istre Mar­quis de Bot­ta de faire une ana­lyse de l’état de ses forêts. Elle essa­yait d’obtenir de cette façon une amé­lio­ra­tion dans les forêts doma­nia­les «puis­que celles-​ci ont beau­coup souf­fert d’une exploi­ta­tion exces­sive et du non-​re­spect des lois».

Jusqu’au milieu du 19ème siè­cle, les per­mis­si­ons de ramas­ser du bois étai­ent import­an­tes dans le Grü­ne­wald et furent peu à peu liqui­dées par des rem­bour­se­ments en forme d’argent ou de ter­rains. Ain­si, en l’an 1846, les com­mu­nes de Nie­der­an­ven, Stein­sel et Eich infor­mai­ent le gou­ver­ne­ment qu’elles étai­ent dis­po­sées à céder leurs droits dans les forêts doma­nia­les au prix de 50 francs/​ha. Le 25 jan­vier 1847, cette offre fut accep­tée par le gou­ver­ne­ment et accor­dée par le roi-​grand-​duc.

RetourSuite