The Court Anwen

Hof Anwen” — Niederanven from the 12-th to the 18-th century.

Hof Anwen”, con­sist­ing of Ober-and Nieder­an­ven, Hostert, Sen­nin­gen, Ramel­dan­ge and Ern­ster, is named in numer­ous hand­writ­ten doc­u­ments of the 12-th cen­tu­ry. One sup­pos­es that Franc kings were the first own­ers of the Hof Anwen.

Hof Anwen” had its own juris­dic­tion. The old lime tree in Hostert, which was about a thou­sand years old and had to be brought down in 1974, prob­a­bly has wit­nessed many (annu­al) fairs and numer­ous audi­ences of jus­tice. “Hof Anwen” was appre­ci­at­ed a lot by its var­i­ous own­ers as a place of sum­mer res­i­dence and hunt­ing.

Even today in the vaults of Hostert’s chapel you can see the coats of arms of the ancient own­ers, name­ly the mar­quees of Bade. Since 1976, this most ancient build­ing of Nieder­an­ven has been clas­si­fied among the  “ancient memo­ri­als” of Lux­em­bourg.

For a long time the parish of Hostert pro­found­ly respect­ed the mem­o­ry of the her­mit “Schet­zel”, who lived up to its death in a cave of the Grünewald.

It is to the Bene­dic­tine Jean Ber­tels ( 1544–1607 ), who became lat­er an abbot of Alt­mün­ster and Echter­nach, that Lux­em­burg owes an unique icono­graph­ic doc­u­men­ta­tion on vil­lages and on life of the old Luxembourg’s inhab­i­tants. Two draw­ings of the abbot Ber­tels show Ober-and Nieder­an­ven, Sen­nin­gen and Schut­trange as well as Höhen­hof towards 1570.

First indi­ca­tions on the pop­u­la­tion of the “Hof Anwen” are giv­en in a state­ment of the homes of year 1473. There were then about 36 homes, what cor­re­spond­ed to about 250 inhab­i­tants. At the dawn of the 17-th cen­tu­ry, the plague and the “Thir­ty Years War” dec­i­mat­ed most of the pop­u­la­tion which, in 1658, did count no more than 2 1/2 homes.

The most ancient reli­gious build­ing of Nieder­an­ven was the chapel Ste Lucie. It was sit­u­at­ed near the feu­dal mill of Nieder­an­ven in the exit of the vil­lage towards Muns­bach. When in 1851 Niederanven’s new church was con­struct­ed the chapel Ste Lucie did no longer serve and decayed.

In 18-th cen­tu­ry Nieder­an­ven knew a devel­op­ment which found its high­light in the mid­dle of the 19-th cen­tu­ry. In 1722 the ser­vice of the mail dili­gences was estab­lished, relat­ing Brus­sels — Lux­em­burg which, in 1730 , was widened to Tri­er. From 1727 this net­work was paved. Nieder­an­ven became again what it had been at Roman time, name­ly a sta­tion of relay. One took tolls on bridges and roads. The head of the sta­tion, the sput­ters as well as the trav­ellers con­tributed to an increased activ­i­ty in the vil­lage.

The inn “A la Pomme d’Or” was the local of the beg­gars, oth­er inns were called “Au Cheval Blan ” and “An der Lom “. On the “Route de Trèves”, the phar­ma­cist Rademach­er even offered  baths of cure. Near 1750 he adver­tised for   “Nieder­an­ven-Les-Eaux ” and a wide tourist traf­fic began to devel­op.

The cur­rent munic­i­pal­i­ty of Nieder­an­ven with its var­i­ous vil­lages  was cre­at­ed in 1795, dur­ing the French Rev­o­lu­tion. On Octo­ber 9, 1804 numer­ous inhab­i­tants applaud­ed Napoléon Ier vis­it­ing Nieder­an­ven.

La Cour d’Anven

Le “Hof Anwen” — Niederanven du 12e au 18e siècle.

Le “Hof Anwen”, se com­posant de Ober- et Nieder­an­ven, Hostert, Sen­nin­gen, Ramel­dan­ge et Ern­ster, est cité dans de nom­breux doc­u­ments man­u­scrits du 12e siè­cle. On sup­pose que les rois francs furent les pre­miers pro­prié­taires du Hof Anwen qu’ils amé­nagèrent.

Le “Hof Anwen” avait sa pro­pre juri­dic­tion. Le vieux tilleul à Hostert, qui, à peu près, mil­lé­naire dut être abat­tu en 1974, a dû voir maintes foires (annuelles) et de nom­breuses audi­ences de jus­tice. Le “Hof Anwen “fut beau­coup appré­cié par ses dif­férents pro­prié­taires comme rési­dence d’été et de chas­se.

Dans les voûtes de la Chapelle de Hostert se trou­vent aujourd’hui encore les armoiries des anciens pro­prié­taires, à savoir les mar­quis de Bade. Depuis 1976, cet édi­fice, le plus ancien de Nieder­an­ven, est classé “mon­u­ment his­torique”.

Depuis tou­jours la paroisse de Hostert a pro­fondé­ment respec­té la mémoire de l’ermite Schet­zel qui vivait jusqu’à sa mort dans une cav­erne du Grünewald.

C’est au béné­dictin Jean Ber­tels (1544–1607), qui devint plus tard prieur d’Altmünster et d’Echternach, que le Lux­em­bourg doit une doc­u­men­ta­tion icono­graphique unique sur les local­ités et sur la vie des habi­tants du pays de Lux­em­bourg. Deux dessins du prieur Ber­tels mon­trent Ober- et Nieder­an­ven, Sen­nin­gen et Schut­trange ain­si que le Höhen­hof vers 1570.

De pre­mières indi­ca­tions sur la pop­u­la­tion au “Hof Anwen” sont don­nées dans un relevé des foy­ers de l’année 1473. Il y avait alors env­i­ron 36 foy­ers, ce qui cor­re­spondait à peu près à 250 habi­tants. A l’aube du 17e siè­cle, la peste et la Guerre de Trente Ans décimèrent la pop­u­la­tion qui, en 1658, ne comp­ta plus que 2 1/2 foy­ers.

Le plus ancien édi­fice religieux de Nieder­an­ven était la chapelle Lucie. Elle se trou­vait près du moulin féo­dal de Nieder­an­ven à la sor­tie du vil­lage vers Muns­bach. Lorsqu’en 1851 la nou­velle église parois­siale de Nieder­an­ven fut con­stru­ite la chapelle Ste Lucie ne ser­vait plus guère et se délabra.

Au 18e siè­cle Nieder­an­ven con­nut un essor qui trou­va son apogée au milieu du 19e siè­cle. En 1722 fut instau­ré le ser­vice des dili­gences postales desser­vant Brux­elles — Lux­em­bourg, ser­vice qui, en 1730, fut éten­du jusqu’à Trèves. A par­tir de 1727 ce réseau fut pavé. Nieder­an­ven redevint ce qu’elle avait été du temps des Romains, à savoir une sta­tion de relais. On prél­e­va des péages aux ponts et sur les routes. Le maître des postes, les pos­til­lons ain­si que les voyageurs con­tribuèrent à une activ­ité accrue au vil­lage.

A l’auberge “A la pomme d’or” se trou­vait le dépôt des men­di­ants, d’autres auberges s’appelaient “Au cheval blanc” et “An der Lomp”. Sur la route de Trèves, le phar­ma­cien Rademach­er offrait ses bains de cure. Aux alen­tours de 1750 il fai­sait de la pub­lic­ité pour “Nieder­an­ven — les — eaux” et un large traf­ic touris­tique se dévelop­pa à la suite.

En 1795, pen­dant la Révo­lu­tion Française, la com­mune de Nieder­an­ven avec ses dif­férents vil­lages — ceux d’aujourd’hui — fut créée. Le 9 octo­bre 1804 de nom­breux habi­tants acclamèrent Napoléon Ier vis­i­tant Nieder­an­ven.