The „New quarter“ of Hostert

PreviousNext

When the old church at the ceme­tery in Hostert became too small for the grow­ing pop­u­la­tion, a « new quar­ter » had been brought to life between the years 1857 and 1859 in the vil­lage with the con­struc­tion of the new church St. Jean. The mon­u­men­tal build­ing sur­mount­ed the new quar­ter with its Place Grand-Duchesse Char­lotte and three oth­er build­ings, built in form of a hemi­cy­cle around the church: these were the old school, the fes­ti­val room for asso­ci­a­tions and the town hall.

Stairs are lead­ing to the impres­sive neogoth­ic church with its sin­gle tow­er, con­struct­ed on the height of the quar­ter. The non plas­tered main build­ing in its yel­low sand­stones is divid­ed into 5 axes, dec­o­rat­ed with the typ­i­cal point­ed ark goth­ic win­dows and a polyg­o­nal cho­rus on its West­side.

In 1871 the stat­ue of St. Cyr­i­ac had been put out­side over the entrance gate of the St. Jean church. Before that date the gold­en sculp­ture of the Saint was placed at the right side of the church’s inte­ri­or, where he is still enshrined. The region­al­ly famous parish fair day of Hostert (“Hostert Day”) goes back to the times when peo­ple from all over the region did the pil­grim­age to Hostert in hon­our of St. Cyr­i­ac.

Two inte­ri­or fres­cos, illus­tra­tions of the lives of St.Martin and the beat­i­fied Schet­ze­lo had unfor­tu­nate­ly been lost because of paint­ing works.

The beat­i­fied Schet­ze­lo has since ever been dei­fied in the munic­i­pal­i­ty of Nieder­an­ven. He lived at the 12th cen­tu­ry and spent 14 years of his life all alone in a grot­to in the Grünewald for­est, under the most poor and Spar­tan con­di­tions. The old paint­ing shows the cis­ter­cien­sian monk Archadus, offer­ing a coat against the cold to the pious her­mit, ordered by the abbot of Cler­vaux.

The grot­to where the her­mit lived still exists today and has become a place of ven­er­a­tion over the years. The feast of the beat­i­fied Schet­ze­lo is tak­ing place every year on the sec­ond Sun­day of the month of August.

The cul­tur­al cen­tre Jean-Pierre Glo­den, built in 1970, had the func­tion of the town-hall until the year 2006. Until 1983 the local school was also locat­ed in this build­ing. The new town hall was con­struct­ed in Ober­an­ven and opened in Jan­u­ary 2006. The build­ing was demol­ished in 2013 to give way to a project of new hous­es.

The old school build­ing, where once hold­ing at the same time the post office and the town hall, is today the main room for asso­ci­a­tions and the office of a bank branch. On the first floor you can find the office “Geschichts­frënn”. This build­ing was reniewed in 2013 and serves today as offices and con­fer­ence facil­i­ty for the local asso­ci­a­tions.

The old asso­ci­a­tions’ room, today the meet­ing room of the con­sis­to­ry.

 

 

 

PreviousNext

Das “Neue Zentrum” von Hostert

ZurückWeiter

Nach­dem das alte Gotte­shaus auf dem Hostert­er Fried­hof für die anwach­sende Bevölkerung zu klein gewor­den war, ent­stand zwis­chen 1857 und 1859 die Neue Johanneskirche im “Nou­veau Quarti­er” des Ortes. Der imposante Bau erhebt sich über dem “Nou­veau Quarti­er” am “Place Grande-Duchesse Char­lotte”, einge­bun­den in ein Ensem­ble aus drei weit­eren, im Hal­brund um die Kirche ange­ord­neten Gebäu­den: der alten Schule, dem Vere­in­shaus und dem Rathaus.

Eine Fre­itreppe führt zu dem erhöht ste­hen­den Gotte­shaus, ein­er neu­go­tis­chen Kirche mit Ein­turm­fas­sade, empor. Der unver­putzte, aus gelbem Sand­stein gemauerte Baukör­p­er gliedert sich in fünf Achsen, die durch gotisierende Spitzbo­gen­fen­ster gekennze­ich­net sind. Im West­en schließt sich ein polyg­o­naler Chor an.

1871 wurde über dem Por­tal der neuen Johanneskirche die Stat­ue des hl. Cyr­i­akus ange­bracht, nach­dem bere­its 1859 eine gold­verzierte Skulp­tur des Nothelfers in das Innere der Kirche gelangt war. Dort wird der Heilige am recht­en Seit­enal­tar verehrt. Die über die Orts­gren­zen hin­aus bekan­nte Hostert­er Kirmes (”Hostert­er Tag”) geht auf die Wall­fahrt zu Ehren des heili­gen Cyr­i­akus zurück.

Durch Über­malung ver­lorenge­gan­gen sind zwei Innen­raum-Fresken mit Darstel­lun­gen aus den Leben des heili­gen Mar­tin und des seli­gen Schet­zel.

Der selige Schet­zel genießt in der Gemeinde Nieder­an­ven ganz beson­dere Verehrung. Er lebte im 12. Jahrhun­dert und ver­brachte die let­zten vierzehn Jahre seines Lebens in größter Armut und Ein­samkeit im Grünewald. Auf dem ehe­ma­li­gen Gemälde war zu sehen, wie der Zis­terzienser­mönch Archadus dem from­men Ein­siedler auf Geheiß des Abtes Bern­hard von Cler­vaux einen wär­menden Man­tel über­re­icht.

Als Stätte der Verehrung existiert noch heute die Felsen­höh­le im Grünewald, die dem Eremiten als Obdach diente. Das Fest des seli­gen Schet­zel wird alljährlich am 2. Son­ntag im August im Rah­men ein­er Schet­zelfeier began­gen.

Das im Jahre 1970 erbaute “Cen­tre Cul­turel Jean-Pierre Glo­den” beherbergte bis 2006 das Rathaus. Bis 1983 war auch die Schule dort unterge­bracht. Ein neues Rathaus wurde Anfang 2006 in Ober­an­ven eröffnet. Das Gebäude wurde 2015 abgeris­sen um einem Woh­nungs­baupro­jekt zu weichen.

Die alte Schule, die später auch die Post und die Gemein­de­v­er­wal­tung beherbergte — noch später Vere­inssaal und Sitz ein­er Bank­fil­iale. Im Obergeschoss ist das Vere­inslokal der “Geschichts­frënn” unterge­bracht. Die Schule wurde 2013 umge­baut und dient heute als Vere­ins- und Ver­samm­lungs­bau.

Das frühere Vere­in­shaus dient heute Ver­samm­lungslokal des Kirchen­rates

 

 

 

ZurückWeiter